Customer Reviews


27 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's diffeerent
First of all, if you're not a Dynasty Warriors fan then the chances are you will find this game repetitive. After spending many hours on this I find this game really fun.

This game is more tactical than the console versions. I would say this is more similar to PSP version of Dynasty Warriors where you have to protect main camp and claim all the others...
Published on 28 Feb. 2012 by missmocha

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars First few campaigns you think to yourself are cool and exciting but by the time I had got ...
This is possibly the most repetative game ive ever played. First few campaigns you think to yourself are cool and exciting but by the time I had got to the 10th I was bored to tears, NOTHING changes, level design etc, combat, everything is the same over and over and over again. I wanted to like this but noooooooo way will i ever play this again. It's very very easy to...
Published 2 months ago by Joseph


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's diffeerent, 28 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) (Video Game)
First of all, if you're not a Dynasty Warriors fan then the chances are you will find this game repetitive. After spending many hours on this I find this game really fun.

This game is more tactical than the console versions. I would say this is more similar to PSP version of Dynasty Warriors where you have to protect main camp and claim all the others.

The Campaign Mode is interesting, Each time you complete a campaign mode you will get a movie which will be saved in your "Gallery". Now what makes Dynasty Warriors differ from the previous versions is the "Conquest Mode" and the ability to create and edit your own character. You collect officer cards and then your character is able to use weapons which you have collected. You also "meet" other players online and randomly have duel challenge requests whilst playing. The only con to this is you can't seem to reject a duel.

There is plenty more to do in this version. You can link up with your friends and do a mission together, plenty of weapons and officer cards to acquire. Not only can you use any weapon in the game you can also recruit any officer (providing you have acquired their officer card), Not sure if you can acquire Lu Bu or play as him but I am pretty sure you can. Lots of other hidden features I have yet to work out.

I think this is the best Dynasty Warriors I have played so far. If you're a dynasty warriors fan you should definitely get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best dynasty warriors game so far, 20 July 2012
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) (Video Game)
I'm a massive fan of DW having started with DW2 on PS2. The feeling I got from slaying over a thousand enemies on a massive battlefield for the first time can barely be described. In short, I was in awe.
Sadly, the sequels were disappointing since the only new additions were generally improved graphics and character redesigns. DW4 added the "Duel" element which I enjoyed a lot but was never really developed later on. The other great thing that happened to this series is the spinoff "Empires" games which allowed you to design your own character and start a campaign of taking over china using stratagems and choosing which territories to invade.
The storytelling element was best in DW7, which stayed close to the "Romance of the Three Kingdoms" novel, but at the same time, if you are very familiar with the story already, as most fans will be, it's too long winded and tedious to plow through. In fact, I never finished DW7 because of this reason.

Basically, DW: Next is best game in the series because: the gameplay is fast and furious, shorter than the full-scale battles of the console titles but more satisfying than the area-based system of the PSP DW games. The story segments are brief, but manage to give you all the information you need about the characters and setting. No more tacky weapon switching, no health bar to worry about (although you can still die), you can chain attacks stylishly with the R button. The button-mashing is broken up by relieving intervals of touchscreen mini-games (eg. when an enemy ambushes you). Musous and special moves are now much more interactive and cool to watch! And finally, my two favourite features return- "Duels" and the "Empires" mode. Both improved in their own ways.
The only negative I have so far is that because the gameplay is so fast you don't spend that much time on the battlefield. The satisfaction of those 30-45 min long epic battles are restricted to console versions only.

Overall, I am very much amazed by this game as cheesy as that may sound. Somehow, Koei have finally managed to make a new DW game seem refreshing and different, yet fans aren't even paying attention.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why aren't VITA owners picking this up?!, 3 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) (Video Game)
This is undoubtedly the most underated title on the PS VITA. I have played many games since launch, but none of them truly lived upto home console quality, that include Unit 13, FIFA and Uncharted.

Many VITA developers have been producing low budget titles which can just be substituted witha better game on PS3, for example the highly respected Call of Duty franchise has brought a terrible title on VITA that was rushed and nothing compared to its other Black Ops II console counterpart.

However, one game on the VITA has lived upto the quality of the titles on the PS3, that game is Dynasty Warriors NEXT. Although one thing to bear in mind, this game is different in a sense that it lacks free mode which pulls the game down, however not to 4 stars since the game compensates with many new features. We have mini-games which are very fun from time to time, especially Musou snapshots. We have a longer campaign, many dialogue boxes are used though rather than cutscenes but inbetween battles, but there are still voices being used to retain the drama. It makes sense for the cutscenes to be spread out since they tried to make the campaign far longer than its console predecessor.
However, do not be put off, the cutscenes are more of a treat. The animation isn't in real time like other titles but properly pre-rendered with detailed visuals. So the quality of animation is great.

Then there is the gameplay, I think its brilliant. There certainly is more strategy than the previous titles (which have been criticised for the lack of strategy). The base takeovers have evolved, there are multiple ways to take over, you can even do it instantly if you use up the break guage (which is a new addition to the musou guage). Otherwise, you can takeover by reducing their numbers low, the strategy in this case would be that you can either grind through the guards or if you haven't got time and need to save another of your own bases, then you can use the break guage to save time. The fact you can analyse whether it is worth using up the break guage now adds more dimensions of strategy.

I wished multiplayer was available in this title, you can duel people but that isn't enough compared to a full scale war. This leads back to how the lack of free play pulled down the game. I would really give this game a 4.6 but Amazon force me to round it to the closest number. I own a lot of VITA games, out of all the games, Dynasty Warriors NEXT is a real game that VITA owners have been wanting. The PS VITA has been criticised for its lack of good games but there are several great games with Dynasty Warriors NEXT standing on top.
Many argue that this is the best Dynasty Warriors title, it could be because of the many new features that keep this title from being ranked below console titles. The game is able to compensate for its lack of free mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lot of fun, 12 Aug. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) (Video Game)
I have had a lot of fun playing this game. Decent graphics but the most entertaining thing is the use of the touch screen and touch pad in which for me is a lot of fun and it is different. The duels however for me are a bit annoying and i would rather own the enemy with traditional use of the attacks and musou but apart from that very good. This was definitely worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Game for Vita, 11 Aug. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) (Video Game)
This is a fantastic game, many options to keep you occupied with the ability to purchase DLC of more Officers and Officers in different costumes etc.

An excellent choice for the PS Vita.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars First few campaigns you think to yourself are cool and exciting but by the time I had got ..., 24 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) (Video Game)
This is possibly the most repetative game ive ever played. First few campaigns you think to yourself are cool and exciting but by the time I had got to the 10th I was bored to tears, NOTHING changes, level design etc, combat, everything is the same over and over and over again. I wanted to like this but noooooooo way will i ever play this again. It's very very easy to finish too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars its ok, 9 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) (Video Game)
not the best but not the worst a good cheap game if you just picked up the vita only problem when i bought it a month later it came out on the playstaion plus which ive beeen subscribed to for ages so wish i held off but now ill give my copy to a friend and keep my digital version
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 6 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) (Video Game)
I totally love this game its like the mini version of the consels if you like the consel vesion you would love this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars dynasty warriors, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) (Video Game)
very good game for the Ps vita very good graphics and gameplay ......recomended if your a big Dynasty warriors fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dynasty Warriors in full force, 1 Jan. 2014
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) (Video Game)
This game is so pretty, its an amazing game, I played 4-6-7 and this and this is no let down, if you are a fan you will enjoy this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita)
Dynasty Warriors Next (PS Vita) by Koei (PlayStation Vita)
£14.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews