Customer Reviews


425 Reviews
5 star:
 (308)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D + Nintendo = Excellence
OK, lets face it, Nintendo have been the gods of handheld game.
But it takes more than Mario and Zelda to make a console, and Nintendo have finally realised this.
Firstly, the console itself: The Nintendo 3DS is sleek, and isn't that big, only slightly larger than the DS Lite or DSi.
The screens have also been enlarged. The top screen is larger than the...
Published on 25 July 2012 by Rashad Johnson

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3DS and Mario 3D Land
I sold my DSi XL so I could buy this and overall I'm pretty happy. The game is a lot of fun and the console has a decent 3D effect (I think it's really just a gimmick though). My only problem with the console is the lack of games available, around 90% of 3DS games are for under 12s. Replaying my old DS games is a bit annoying since you can't play full screen, the whole...
Published on 20 Mar 2012 by RH


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3D + Nintendo = Excellence, 25 July 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
OK, lets face it, Nintendo have been the gods of handheld game.
But it takes more than Mario and Zelda to make a console, and Nintendo have finally realised this.
Firstly, the console itself: The Nintendo 3DS is sleek, and isn't that big, only slightly larger than the DS Lite or DSi.
The screens have also been enlarged. The top screen is larger than the bottom making cinematics more engaging and most games on the 3DS have better graphics than the Gamecube, some could even be comparable to Wii-tier graphics. The graphics may not stack up to the PS Vita but Nintendo have never been graphic focused. It has a proper "HOME" button and a circle pad for better control.Lastly it has a 3D slider which works very well so if you have sensitive eyes don't worry about the 3D screwing your eyes up (which so far hasn't happened to anyone I know who owns a 3DS) the 3D effect works very well for most games such as Legend of Zelda: Ocarina of Time and Kingdom Hearts: Dream Drop Distance but sometimes may feel unnecessary, also you need to be situated at an angle to view them properly. It has a large Library featuring lots of 1st and 3rd party games like Super Mario 3D Land and Sonic Generations, and a proper online store (titled the Nintendo eshop) and an Internet Browser you can access while you have a game being played (Which is VERY handy, especially when you are stuck in a game and need a walkthrough) The stylus is very comfortable to use and it already has some apps pre installed. It is backwards compatible with Nintendo DS games so don't worry about saying bye-bye to Proffessor Layton, Pokemon Black/White or any other DS titles you love. I highly recommend this to anyone, although the 3D effect shouldn't be used by under 7's, to stop them from using it turn on parental controls and block the 3D option. Teenagers and Adults will also love titles such as Metal Gear Solid or Art Academy which are also on the 3DS, I hope my review helped.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Nintendo console since the N64, 4 Mar 2014
Travelling across America, I decided to buy a 3DS as a companion on those lonely bus journeys. Through this experience I wuld say, in short, this machine has re-energized my love of gaming (something that had laid dormant since the PS2/Gamecube days of my misspent university days) and is the perfect gaming machine for any age (I'm 28 and friends in their late 30s and up have had an equal experience).

Graphics

The graphics are superb, I couldn't of imagined this level in a handheld back in the N64 days, but the technology works great and every game ran smoothly with a high framerate so far. Absolutely zero freezing during play. I really like the 3D feature (not for everyone but easily turned off) and shows 3d can work in this medium as it has for cinema.

Comfort

Fits in my pocket fine and never feels heavy. Some people have complained the normal (not XL) is a bit small for gaming but at 6 foot 3 and with quite large hands I've never had or felt a problem or strain from playing it.

Durability

This thing has travelled the world with me forever in my pocket and still looks and works as good as new. I'm the perfect test of this as I'm very clumsy and have dropped it many times but barely a dent has hit it.

Battery life

Lasts a good few hours, I tend to turn the 3D off when using it long term without a charger and can't say the battery life was short. Certainly a lot longer than gaming on an iphone or ipad.

Fun

The absolute avalanche of games over the last two years has meant there is forever new games to play and the quality of them is very high (the two Zeldas, Marios, Fire Emblem, Donkey Kong, and much more could grace any system with acclaim). It is also compatible too with DS games so I've been able to mine that device for various games (especially its impressive RPG collection) meaning that at this moment the 3DS has the most diverse and wide-ranging amount of games to enjoy of any platform in this generation of consoles. There really is something for everyone.

Virtual Console

At the moment this is good but not as good as it could be. Downloading NES games is a great nostalgia trip that I love and many of the games work beautifully for this console (especially with the added save points feature making picking it up and playing a lot easily.) But this could be a lot more, there are not as many NES and GB games as there could be and Nintendo's reluctance to allow GBA games to be downloadable is a missed opportunity (seriously take my money Nintendo!).

Download

I bought my 3DS in the US, but live in the UK now. Not long ago this would mean importing games and high shipping costs as the cartridges only work in their own regions. Not anymore! I simply need a Wi-Fi connection and can download the games straight away to my console's memory card. And the games take only 15-20 minutes, and seconds for a NES games, so is perfectly convenient in every way.

Online

I've only really played the Mario Kart online so far but it was fantastic, allowing you to play against players around the world easily and with basic Wi-Fi. They may need to hone it more for other games but the potential is there for something special.

Overall

I can't express how much I love this device. From quick plays on the tube to long plays on weekends, the 3DS can suit every type of gamer and I can't recommend it highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


206 of 236 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The future of 3D handheld gaming is here., 25 Mar 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Nothing prepared me for when I first switched on my 3DS, and was greeted by the 3D interface of the system menu. The 3D effect is slightly different to the effect I had seen on 3D t.v's in electrical shops. The 3D tends to be 'into' the screen, with some effects coming out at you (but not like I saw on the t.v's). Basically, you have to experience it for yourself to get the effect of the 3D as it's intended to be.

The bundled software includes, MiiMaker, Mii Plaza, Augmented Reality (AR) games and Face Raiders. MiiMaker lets you design your own avatar (to be used in games), exactly like the Wii version, the difference with the 3DS version is that it allows you to automatically generate a Mii from a photograph taken from the 3DS's inward facing camera. You can then tweak your Mii to get it just the way you want it. You can also transfer Mii's from a Wii through a wireless connection. There is an option to turn your Mii into a sort of barcode, where you can put the barcode image on the internet, and other 3DS owners can scan it in using the outward facing cameras. Mii Plaza allows you to view Mii's that you have encountered on your travels through StreetPass (local wireless communication between 3DS owners passing by). You can use these Mii's to play an RPG mini game, and the more Mii's you encounter the better. Augmented reality involves placing a card with an image that the 3DS scans with the cameras and projects a computer generated image (character) onto a real world scene (like a table top), you can then play games that project objects onto your living room table. Face raiders allows you to take a picture of a face and then project the face onto the room your in, you then have to fire tennis balls at the faces before they cause you damage. If you destroy all the enemy faces without your health gauge going to zero, you can then fight the boss. You need to collect as many faces as you can to unlock later levels, and you can also let friends have a go with the share mode which wont affect your score on your own game file. This is probably my favourite bundled software on the 3DS.

The system has much improved online abilities, with the already mentioned StreetPass, and also SpotPass. With SpotPass you can leave your 3DS in low-power mode (sleep-mode), and it will silently download software, game demos and game data for you. I found setting up the online very easy, and just required my Wi-Fi routers security key to get it connected to the broadband, very impressed with the setup.

The usual X,Y,B,A and L and R shoulder buttons and D-Pad from the DS are back, but there is now a 'circle pad', which gives you 360 degree analogue input, which is perfect for a lot of games that require it. I use it instead of the d-pad for pulling of combo and ultra combo moves in Super Street Fighter 4, it's so much comfier and less clumsy than the d-pad. Another great innovation from Nintendo. There is also the telescopic stylus from the DS, and works exactly like the DS touchscreen does.

There is full surround sound support, stereo and mono sound options. The sound on Super Street Fighter 4 was superb, and the punches and kick sounds gave the moves some weight and feel to them.

The system comes with a cradle, which plugs into the Ac charger and allows your 3DS to charge in sleep mode. You can use just the Ac charger on its own if you wish. I have a silicone skin for my 3DS, and found that it wouldn't then fit into the cradle with it on, so I don't bother using the cradle for this reason. The battery life isn't great, about 3 hours on moderate brightness, sound volume and 3D settings. I found that a full recharge took a couple of hours, so it wasn't too bad. The battery life is acceptable if you only get to play the 3DS for a few hours on a journey, where you can then recharge it at your destination.

There will be a system update in May that will allow you to take 3D videos, browse the web and allow you to buy downloadable software and games through a WiiWare style service and virtual console, where you can buy Gameboy and Gameboy Colour games (initially).

Would I recommend spending nearly 200 on this system, I would say if you want affordable mass market 3D entertainment then YES, get it I have found it to be worth the asking price and has given me an outlet to get into 3D entertainment at a reasonable price (think of the price of 3D t.v's when they came out last year).

There is a strong line-up of software for the 3DS in the next 3 - 6 months, so you shouldn't be stuck for something to play on the 3DS, and Nintendo have promised to keep the releases coming at a constant rate so there will be a good selection of games.

In conclusion then, I would sum up the 3DS as the future of videogames, and would say that this marks a milestone in how we consume mass market entertainment for a portable device for the forseeable future. If you've already got it, then I congratulate you. If you're thinking about it, then think no more you should get it without delay!

GRAPHICS: 94% The 3DS screen has a higher resoulation than the DS. The 3D effect will put a smile on your face.

SOUND: 90% Catchy system menu and operating system music and sounds. The Street Fighter 4 sound was really good and helps the game.

CONTROLS: 92% The added circle pad gives greater control and flexibility in certain games. The d-pad is responsive as well as the face buttons (X,Y,B,A).

OVERALL: 95% A brilliant handheld, that improves on the DS in leaps and bounds. This is where portable 3D entertainment is at right now. I am VERY happy with the 3DS overall, and look forward to the next 7 years of using it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Gift Ever!, 8 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this for my 9 year old daughter who has wanted one for a while. She loves it and when I can get a go so do I. It's more than just a game console she loves the camera and video with all the extras. We were worried about the 3D making her feel ill but it is adjustable to suit whoever is playing, you can even turn it off if you want to. Haven't used it to its full potential yet as were to busy playing games! There is also parental controls which are very easy to use and set up. Would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 72 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very pleased!, 8 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Delivery:
It arrived promptly, well packaged and undamaged.
*****

In the box:
Nintendo 3DS Ice White, Super Mario 3D Land, 3DS Cradle (for charging) and Power Cable.
(Also comes with a slip of white foam for protecting the screens - some users have complained of lines appearing in the glass, this prevents it, and I've had no problems with it.)
*****

The Product:
is beautifully made and features corrections in the build quality (I believe) that have sorted out the wobbly hinge. This is no longer an issue. The faces have a tendency to collect fingerprints, but it's nothing a soft cloth can't solve. If you're worried about the screen being too small and the graphics bad, don't fret: the upper screen (game screen) is easily large enough - even for games such as Mario Kart 7 which have long fields of vision and lots happening (the classic Mario Kart chaos!) The graphics are crisp and the pixels only noticeable at end-of-your-nose distance.
*****

3D:
Taking the advice of reviews and discussions online, I am still working on the 3D. It is advisable to begin without it and then progressively turn it up over the course of a week or so. I have had the console for a couple of days and still only use the 3D at the lower end of the scale. On the first night, I had a mild headache, but no migraine like some users have claimed. I think, if you take your time with the 3D, your eyes adjust and you can cope with it easily. Using the full 3D makes me feel a little odd, so I tend not to. It is, however, very helpful for 3D Land, because it can otherwise be hard to judge your position (i.e. what are you going to land on etc.) The 'sweet-spot' problem is not a problem, as it isn't necessary to move the 3DS much during gameplay and you quickly learn to hold the sweet-spot in sight.
**** (loses a star, only because it takes time to acclimatise to.)

Super Mario 3D Land:
Superb. Fantastic. Enjoyable. Addictive. A truly well thought out game and varied.
*****

I have Mario Kart 7 which I strongly reccomend to any, especially those who are fans of Mario Kart Wii - MK7 is better. There are gliders and underwater sections and dinosaurs! Well worth 30 quid.
*****

Rayman 3D I bought, because I loved the original (Rayman 2) and this game ticks all the same boxes. It doesn't compare to the Mario games, but then again, what can?
****

Finally, Battery Life:
This has received much criticism. I'm not sure why. Do people expect a thing that fits snugly (and comfortably) in the palm of your hand to be on Wi-Fi, 3D and full volume and still maintain days of battery life? With Wi-Fi and 3D off and the sound down low, this thing will go for hours. With Wi-Fi, 3D and full volume, it will be dead after three or four hours. After three to four hours of playing on a games console, my head will start to hurt (3D or no) and this seems like plenty of time to me. Enough for a train journey, a flight to the continent, lunch at you grandma's :)
**** (loses a star for not being infinite!)

OVERALL:
*****
100%
10/10
Expect crisp graphics, stunning 3D, ergonomic comfort, amazing games and beauty.
Don't expect disappointment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


93 of 109 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Kit, lousy games, 5 Jun 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Its a little unfortunate that Nintendo decided to call this 3DS. Whereas this also has two screens this is about where the comparisons pretty much end. This is not just an updated piece of kit, this is a whole new handheld experience.

Overall the machine looks like the orignal Dsi, its about the same size but is much thicker. People have complained that the casing is cheap plastic, but hey this is Nintendo, even the higher end products are made out of plastic, in nintendo land dont expect brushed metal and bulletproofing. Its all very shiny and your average CSI agents wet dream in fingerprints. But anyone who even owned a Nintendo product knows allready about build qualities so i wont go waffling on about that. Open the thing up and once again it looks like a DSI, the buttons have moved about, theres a joypad nub thingy and the top screen is much larger. So far an updated DSI, right ?

Wrong.

Because when you turn the 3DS on it suddenly strikes you that your beloved DSI will never get used again. The first thing that happens after you have set up date/time/etc is the first experience you will hav with glasses free 3D. You are greeted with a flat looking Nintendo logo with some crosses dotted around. Then there is a countdown from 3 to 1. And then it happens. In a split second the Nintendo logo is now bobbing about through what appears to be a window, the crosses now taper backwards into the distance, everything has depth. Its stunning and almost a little scary that something is happening that seems impossible. Its at this point that the 3DS becomes a gamechanger. The 3D effect is better than you could have ever dreamed of, it works. Yes there is a rather small window to view the 3d, but this is not anything as bad as you may have heard. Moving your head or the machine around too much will spoil the 3d, but it becomes second nature how to hold your 3DS to have great 3D without worrying too much about the sweetspot.

Once you have picked up your jaw from the 3D you can delve deeper into the other joys this machine offers. The touch screen interface works very much like the Wii. All the icons you will need appear on the screen at once, this makes it very easy to find the app you want. Its much neater and sreamlined now, its the best version of an operating system Nintendo has offered to date. Even someone unfamilar with the DS system will be able to work out how everything works. The preinstalled software is all very high quality, there is no real bum app on offer here, they all do the job well, fast and are fun to use. The only app that really fills up space is Miimaker, which is pretty much what you get with Wii, you make a Mii you can use in games. You will use this app once, to create your Mii, and thats it, from now on it will just fill space. Wereas the cameras on the 3DS are not stellar by any standards the Photo App more than makes up for this when you can tinker around with photos so much, and yes said photos are in glorious ( if a little grainy ) 3D. There is a strange AR game where you shoot your own floating head called Faceraiders, Mii Plaza where you can meet all the people you've interacted with via streetpass, Ar games where you use little cards and the 3ds camera to play some games, finally there is a barebones Audio App. All good stuff and a great bonus considering what came preinstalled on your DSI ( pretty much nothing ).

There is very little wrong with the machine itself, apart from pretty terrible battery life everything is hunky dory. Well there is one minor problem too....

At this moment in time pretty much every 3DS game available sucks. There are 3 good titles, Ridge Racer, Tom Clancys Ghost Recon Shadow Wars and Street Fighter. The rest are dismal. Beyond dismal. This is the real thorn in the 3DS side. While writing this the first wave of high quality titles are just starting to hit. But even these titles are not original games, they are remakes. Yes they are good remakes but simply tagging on 3D is gonna get pretty old pretty quick. Its still early in this consoles lifespan so for software to be a little thin on the ground is expected ( the DS too was a slow starter ). But for people who bought this product at launch and played through the only 3 decent titles, they have simply had the console sat around collecting dust. A great breathtaking piece of tech became a very expensive paperweight. If you are the patient type who can wait for high quality AAA titles to appear then none of what i just said will be a problem.

Overall the 3DS is a fantastic product. The 3D is amazing no matter how many times you see it. The only thing that lets everything down is the available software. When you buy a 3DS you are getting a very special piece of kit, just make sure you dont tarnish it with some terrible games that make you want to take your eyes out with spoons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good things in small package., 8 July 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
I bought this game for my brother a birthday-present. A big chock came to me when the package arrived. We live in Sweden and the charger for the "device" was for UK. But we ordered a adapter and when we got it running, we had a lot of fun. Buying it here on Amazon also saved us money. So everyone ended up happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very addictive (for some!), 27 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a birthday present for my wife. She absolutely loves it. So much so that I'm now feeling like a neglected husband! She loves the functionality, especially the wi-fi connection, but overall she thinks it's a superb bit of kit. We both love the colour (wish I had a laptop that shade!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 16 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
The 3DS was everything we'd hoped it would be! It was a Christmas present for my son, he loves it. It looks stylish in a lovely shiny black, I love the fact you can turn the 3D off and there's a range of intensity of the 3D effect. Excellent product at an excellent price :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great device, Quick deliever, 13 Jan 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
The 3ds is amazing, and this white bundle is just spectacular.

The white 3ds is just as good as any other colour of 3ds, but since this is the onlybundle you can get it in, its a bit more exculsive

It comes with the action packed Super mario 3d land,which is an excallent game, but i would suggest buying mario kart 7 aswell

Delivery was very fast, withthe product comeing within2 days before the expected deliver date.

overall, i would suggest freinds totake this offer, as it has tonnes of value for the 150 price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nintendo Handheld Console 3DS - Ice White
134.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews