Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Shadows in flight
I have loved the entire shadow saga and now I am so sad it is over. Just read it. Enjoy
Published 3 months ago by D R Witcher

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far too abridged :-(
Whilst this version does give you the story, it is massively abbreviated.
So, I think the term "enhanced version" is a huge misnomer, if anything it is a significantly lessened version and this should be made much clearer in the product description. I have greatly enjoyed every other book in the Ender and Shadow series so this one has been a disappointment...
Published 21 months ago by Ian K


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Far too abridged :-(, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst this version does give you the story, it is massively abbreviated.
So, I think the term "enhanced version" is a huge misnomer, if anything it is a significantly lessened version and this should be made much clearer in the product description. I have greatly enjoyed every other book in the Ender and Shadow series so this one has been a disappointment indeed.
Please update the product description to make this version's curtailed nature clearer, I would not have purchased it had I known this.

Apart from that your service in the past has been exemplary.
Regards,

Ian K
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Shadows in Flight, 17 Sep 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being a big Orson Scott Card fan I would have jumped into any new book of his and anything Ender Saga related especially. He seems to be coming out with quite a few new books around the Ender Saga and, although that may not be a bad thing it might just feel like a bit of a cash in, especially with a new movie out next year based on Ender's Game. Much of the reviews for this book were not positive which worried me just slightly and much of the comments where if this is something of a cash, is there more story to be taken out of Bean's life? It started out fine as a spin off but it still felt like a story that should have been told but now this far in, is it?
Well, there is a story to be told but I just don't know if it should have been sold as a novel. The book is very short at just over two hundred pages and that's in large type. Still, is that so bad? Maybe not. But it really is a short story sold in a hard cover.
Bean will be familiar to any readers of the Ender Saga as well as any readers of the spin-off shadows series and this seems to set up the end of his story. He is dying and in a space ship going at near light speed. As time passes normal for everyone inside, outside hundreds of years have passed in the hope that scientists will be able to come up with a cure for his and his three kids disease. But they haven't and what does that mean for Bean and his children?
I liked this story and it had a bittersweet ending. Although short in length there is a good story here and it even managed to come up with some answers about the alien race from Ender's Game which was unexpected but good that it was included.
Its worth a read but not really worth the money for a full priced novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A weak end to a strong story, 10 Sep 2012
By 
Mark (Southampton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The enhanced edition was probably a poor choice. The illustrations do not reproduce well on a Kindle and the abridgement shortens an already short book. That said, the book was if anything over-long when the slenderness of the plot is considered. The characters were unlovable and reminded me of Peter Wiggin as a child, Valentine and a weaker version of Ender rather too much. Not OSC's best work. It could have been much better and should have been. It is also overpriced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars "Satisfactory", 14 Mar 2012
By 
B. Patterson "Enders Shadow" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Not a great new work sadly; it seems clear that he had a basic plot line and the characters of the children - which are well done - but didn't really know how to work it through. The sudden change of pace in the last chapter is dire, and the plot device that Bean's heart is overloaded and so going to cause his death seems scientifically inadequate: an artificial heart to resolve that issue seems entirely possible. So overall disappointing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Poor :(, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a huge fan of the Ender and Shadow series of books by Orson Scott Card, i have followed the story since Enders game and have enjoyed the story lines and the style of writing.

Unfortunately this book is a bit of a disappointment, the plot is shallow and rushed, the whole book took me 2 nights reading, i would say 4 hours in total so either Mr Card rushed the book to fill a gap in the whole Ender / Shadow saga or he is losing interest in the series.

The enhanced edition on a classic kindle is poor, the pictures are so dark that you cannot see them very well, the extra chapters in the enhanced edition were at the end of the story, I only found them when i finished reading the book, reading them after the whole story was like picking a book up and randomly opening pages to read.

If i could i would ask for my money back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Shadows in Flight, 31 Mar 2012
By 
Philip W. Newstead "Philip W. Newstead" (Letchworth, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book, eagerly awaited, was disappointingly short. The story line was basically about three bickering children with more than a hint of Arthur C, Clarke's Rendezvous with Rama! The other Shadow books have been some of the best Card has written but this last one is a poor addition to the evolving story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A sad and shoddy end to an otherwise fantastic series of books., 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Oh dear what a shame the previous books were full of depth and characterisation and then this comes along.

It’s incredibly short I read it on the commute home in one evening, but to be honest with the lack of actual story it felt somewhat overly long. Selling this as a complete novel at full price is nothing but a rip off and a cashing in on the success of previous books.
As much as I wanted to find out what happened to Bean I now feel cheated and wish that things had just been left as they were with the reader wondering what could have happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nice ending, but read the previous books in the series first!, 12 Jun 2014
By 
Einar Bjorgo - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nice to find out what happens at the end of the Shadow saga. That said this was short, and more a finishing touch to the previous book, tying up loose ends, rather than a stand-alone story in its own right.
Read the previous books in the series first!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Shadows in flight, 20 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved the entire shadow saga and now I am so sad it is over. Just read it. Enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A poor conclusion to series, 2 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Nothing more than a short story. Not a fit conclusion to a classic series. Very disappointed. Can't help but feel illustrations used simply to stretch the thing out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews