Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vocal Strength
The White Buffalo, aka Jake Smith, has a voice that is his premier instrument and quality on this debut release. It has the warble of Eddie Vedder and at times the depth of Richie Havens on the slower acoustic numbers, and a gravelly combination of both when growled on rockier, country-tinged numbers.

Opener 'Ballad of a Deadman' is a lamenting, anti-war song...
Published on 3 Mar 2012 by Glenn

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Short
Considering how much can fit on a CD, I'd have hoped for something lasting a little longer - not least since it is less than I'd get on an LP [if anyone remembers them!]/

The songs were beautifully-crafted though.
Published 13 months ago by Nik Watt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vocal Strength, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Glenn "Omaha" (Devon England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Once Upon A Time In The West (Audio CD)
The White Buffalo, aka Jake Smith, has a voice that is his premier instrument and quality on this debut release. It has the warble of Eddie Vedder and at times the depth of Richie Havens on the slower acoustic numbers, and a gravelly combination of both when growled on rockier, country-tinged numbers.

Opener 'Ballad of a Deadman' is a lamenting, anti-war song that recounts the loss of everyman in every war with pedal steel empathising in its plaintive strains before the voice rises briefly in anger. Second 'How The West Was Won' is a rousing, Irish folk with country banjo onslaught, the lyrics telling its harsh story 'I'm a fxxkup girl. It's how I live my life. I wish I knew how to treat you right' before the narrator contemplates 'Shall I end it all?' This leads into the stomping 'The Pilot' with the distinctive amalgam of vocal highlighted above highlighted. Fourth 'The Lone Night' slows the pace again and is the most Vedderesque in sound - these alludings meant as reference point and compliment.

Indeed, it is this vocal that carries all the songs - all good enough and absorbing in their moment of being heard. But I haven't come across that stand-out track yet and it isn't therefore the songwriting that pushes to the front in the aural queue. That said, best track for me is 'Wish It Was True' which is a more varied acoustic number with a string accompaniment that adds an appropriate emotional nuance to the other clear strength of this album, the lyrics tackling complex ideas and issues. Live performances of this can easily be found online, and quality makes itself known quite clearly here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A growling grower, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Time In The West (Audio CD)
This album was one of those rare gems - an impulse purchase based on catching one song on the radio , scribbling the artist's name on the back of an old water bill and then later thinking - why not ! Normally this results in another CD in my collection that I take one or tracks from for a compilation whilst banishing the album to the back of the top shelf. But not this one - Once Upon A Time In The West is firmly on the favourites shelf, with my attachment to it growing with each listen. His voice reminds me of a rockier Steve Earle or a more country Pete Yorn or even an angrier Townes VZ. It's not a pretty voice - it growls its anger and disappointment at you but I find it hard to disagree with what it says and the vignettes his lyrics conjure up stay with you long after the song ends. A country mile away from the manufactured pap being sold to us in spangly dresses - thank heavens. Write it down - The White Buffalo - and don't lose that scrap of paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great album, 23 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Time In The West (Audio CD)
From the first to last track 5 stars for all the different styles work well together
One of my favourite albums this year
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Gritty, varied and full of musical flavour. Really love 'I am the light', very clever. A must have album x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars White Buffalo - Once upon a Time in the West, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Also a great purchase for the money. Quick, easy download - though the kudos is for the quality of the music created by the artist NOT Amazon itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars buy it and listen, 1 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Time In The West (Audio CD)
Brilliant album!! a voice that is addictive like gravelly smoke and warm honey ...I literally cannot keep still whilst listening to the songs ...the Pilot being a good example...Eddie Vedder with a country, southern twist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Time In The West (Audio CD)
Jake Smith has a fantastic voice and the album is one of my favourites. A few weaker tracks but still good enough to listen to.
And then some of the tracks are magical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit Short, 3 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Once Upon A Time In The West (Audio CD)
Considering how much can fit on a CD, I'd have hoped for something lasting a little longer - not least since it is less than I'd get on an LP [if anyone remembers them!]/

The songs were beautifully-crafted though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Once Upon A Time In The West
Once Upon A Time In The West by The White Buffalo (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews