Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darker than Series 1 but still eccentric and electric. The music for Series 2 is everything you want in a follow-up soundtrack.
After the huge critical and public acclaim for the soundtrack to the first series of Sherlock, fans have not had long to wait for the release of the soundtrack of Series 2, composed once again by the fantastic talent of David Arnold and Matthew Price. I absolutely loved the soundtrack to Sherlock - Original Television Soundtrack Music From Series One. It was...
Published on 27 Feb 2012 by L. Hubbard

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sherlockedat times
Having loved the music to series one I was a tad disappointed to the music of series two, but then it has a darker mood, periods of melancholy it seems and is not as joyous as the first. But still quality and of course it reflects the stories of the series.
Published 13 months ago by heather


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Darker than Series 1 but still eccentric and electric. The music for Series 2 is everything you want in a follow-up soundtrack., 27 Feb 2012
By 
L. Hubbard (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 2 (Audio CD)
After the huge critical and public acclaim for the soundtrack to the first series of Sherlock, fans have not had long to wait for the release of the soundtrack of Series 2, composed once again by the fantastic talent of David Arnold and Matthew Price. I absolutely loved the soundtrack to Sherlock - Original Television Soundtrack Music From Series One. It was exceptionally individual, and captured the quirkyness of Sherlock perfectly. Series 2 was a darker affair, and the music certainly reflects this on album. The question is whether it is worth buying this album if you have the first. The answer is 100% yes. Whilst previous themes are referenced, this album has a darker feel and there is a lot of new material on the album. It certainly isn't the first album rehashed with "Series 2" on the album cover.

Regarding the tracks themselves, I won't bore you with a second by second analysis of every track. However, tracks that really stood out for me were the stunning "Sherlocked" (Track 7), "Prepared to do Anything" (Track 17) and and the brilliant conclusion to the album "One More Miracle". These tracks a are must have in my opinion (more relevant to those downloading individual MP3 tracks), but the whole album, like the first, has a consistently high quality throughout. I would recommend purchasing the CD or the whole album for the greatest enjoyment. Individual tracks a matter of personal taste though, and like Series 1, I thought the track selection was excellent, with all the best music from the series appearing on the album.

Running in at just under 50 minutes, this album is about 8 minutes shorter in length compared to Series 1. Whilst it would be easy to complain and say that the album length could be longer, I was perfectly happy with it. The tracks run in chronological order of the episodes. The first seven tracks are from episode 1 "A Scandal in Belgravia", tracks 8-14 are from episode 2 "The Hounds of Baskerville", and tracks 15-19 conclude the album with music from the "The Reichenbach Fall". From a production perspective the recording sounds exceptionally crisp and very well mixed.

Overall, the soundtrack to the second series of Sherlock is even better than the first. The thing I love about this release is that it isn't just a rehash of material from the first series - sure, some of the themes are repeated but the feeling of this album is quite different. Quirky - yes. Electrifying - yes. But this album is darker than it's predecessor, and that gives it a distinct character of its own. If you own the soundtrack to Series 1 and are unsure whether to get the music for Series 2, don't think twice. Arnold and Price have delivered the goods for Series 2 in terms of quality, and the album is distinct enough from the first to definitely warrant the purchase. It's going to be a bit of a wait until Series 3, but until then, enjoy what has to be one of, if not the best scored show on TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic musical tapestry, 3 Mar 2012
By 
Barbara Schöpf "Comedy addict" (Schwaz,Österreich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 2 (Audio CD)
David Arnold and Michael Price have already done a superb job with the soundtrack for Series 1 of "Sherlock" - now they are raising the stakes even more with this wonderful album! Amazing melodies in beautiful and perfect orchestration will carry the listener through all three episodes of Series 2, brilliantly reflecting the course of action in every single story - goose bumps included ;o)
Altogether an addictive, marvellous piece of music and another splendid chapter in the success story of "Sherlock".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars must-buy, 6 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 2 (Audio CD)
must-buy for anyone who's a fan of Sherlock or anyone who's a fan of beautiful scores
you can listen to it for several hours and still be entranced by the amazing strings and the catchy rhythms
this is music that stays with you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 2 (Audio CD)
I love the show and the music. It sounds excellent! and you don't need to be a fan of the serie to enjoy the music. It captures the spirit of the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for dinner parties, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 2 (Audio CD)
Fun mix of tracks when all you need is background music that people can chat over the top of easily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haunting, 24 Jun 2013
By 
M. Puntigam (Graz, Österreich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 2 (Audio CD)
Even without the stories to it, the soundtrack is simply great. It is the only soundtrack I keep listening to again and again, having even transferred it to my iPod. The music gives me the shivers every time I listen to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 3 Jun 2013
By 
Amber Hussyin (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you have seen the tv series and love the music within I definitely recommend. Pure beautiful music. I actually listen to it on my way to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 2 (Audio CD)
I think it is a great soundtrack for Sherlock.
Nice music to listen to. I recommend it for every Sherlock fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sherlock OTS is great, 13 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 2 (Audio CD)
Even if the OTS from Series One is still my favorite, only the violin theme composed by Sherlock for Irene and the sad strength of Blood on the Pavement and One More Miracle are worth it to hear the full album. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sherlock music , series 2., 15 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sherlock: Music From Series 2 (Audio CD)
really nice to listen to. picture the episodes in your head when listening to it. relaxing, to listen to aswell. really good music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sherlock: Music From Series 2
Sherlock: Music From Series 2 by David Arnold (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews