Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alone - a compelling read
Really like it. Very well written down to earth supernatural, gritty vampire story with adult themes e.g. domestic abuse. I recommend it for the Kindle. You get a real sense of the heartache of Serenity Hathaway, the suffering she goes through - and will she or won't she make the right decision? The story compells you on. A page turner *****Five Stars.
Published on 21 Oct 2011 by N S Cooke

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A little dark
I found the storyline a bit heavy in places but did like the characters. I did find it strange that she didn't really have any money worries after losing her job and not having much in the way of savings but otherwise it was OK.

I enjoyed this because it was different but it didn't attract my attention enough to want to download the next in the series.
Published on 12 Aug 2012 by K. Morris


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alone - a compelling read, 21 Oct 2011
Really like it. Very well written down to earth supernatural, gritty vampire story with adult themes e.g. domestic abuse. I recommend it for the Kindle. You get a real sense of the heartache of Serenity Hathaway, the suffering she goes through - and will she or won't she make the right decision? The story compells you on. A page turner *****Five Stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A real page turner, 6 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Just finished reading "Alone", and I couldn't put it down, Just as you think things are about to turn a positive corner for Serenity there's another twist in the tail to make you turn to the next page and keep reading. A well constructed plot that will appeal to many different audiences. Marissa captures brilliantly the feelings and hopelessness of the loss of a lover, that will tug at every sinew of your heart. As an added bonus the prologue provides you with a hook into the next book, which I will definately be buying next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alone, 16 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have finally read Alone and it is a captivating and well written read, great back story and well paced novel - waiting for the next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loved this!, 14 Mar 2012
This review is from: Alone (The 'Serenity' Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Really good story of a woman escaping the trauma of an abusive marriage, with the help a handsome vampire. Their relationship is then hampered by a jealous, powerful rival - will there be a happy ending? Read it to find out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Serenity Rocks!, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone (The 'Serenity' Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I loved the characters, I so wanted Serenity to fight back, her husband is a pig,although thats not fair on pigs, really.I love vampire stories, and have read so many now, its brilliant to find a writer in this genre I haven't read, and new characters, its exciting, and I look forward to reading more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Passionate and Terrifying, 10 Dec 2011
By 
Lily Childs (East Sussex, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Serenity Hathaway has no reason to celebrate life, coasting between cruel indifference at the office and violence at home. The opening pages of ALONE plunge us straight into the hell of this young woman's existence, revealing her self-doubt and plummeting despair.

Despite the very real personal demons that have brought her to this lonely time and place Serenity still controls her own will. And when Sebastian Bandores happens upon the young woman on her knees in a dark alleyway, the encounter leaves her with an inner strength she never thought possible.

Serenity can't stop thinking about the beautiful stranger that pulled her out of an emotional gutter, rescuing her from her lowest ebb. Life suddenly has promise; but life can get worse - far worse - and so can death.

MARISSA FARRAR carries us through this haunting vampire tale as a feather on the wind, dipping and fluctuating between passion and horror. She masters Serenity's strengths and weaknesses, her resilience and distrust as the reluctant heroine struggles to comprehend the otherworldly extremes of vampiric hunger.

The author's principal characters are passionate, loyal and loving - perfect bait for the vicious antagonists of this chilling horror novel where no-one and nowhere is safe.

Well-written with an addictive pace, I loved this book. I can't wait to read the follow-up BURIED Buried (The 'Serenity' Series). The author has cleverly gifted us with the prologue of the second book as a wicked tease at the end of book one - and it promises darkness. A generous bonus.

4* out of 5, and highly recommended.

Read more of Marissa Farrar's fiction at:
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alone - a must have for your e-reader, 30 Oct 2011
A great first novel I loved it! Read the first few chapters included in 'The Vengeful Vampire' and I was hooked. I bought this and 'Buried' the second book in the series immediately. The storyline pulled me in and kept the pages turning. I had to finish it in one sitting. Thank you to my Kiwi friend for introducing me to this Author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good read, 19 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone (The 'Serenity' Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
I have never read a vampire book before but thought I would have a look. The book is brilliant, it is well written with a great story line. The story line is passionate and had me hooked straight away. Don,t want to give the story away so all I can say is buy it along with all the books in this series as they are fantastic. You will not be disappointed if you like a good love story with good and bad endings. Well done to the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alone by Marissa farrar, 30 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone (The 'Serenity' Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Fab! Fab! Fab !started this book and was gripped from page one loved the characters and was amazed by the strength of the main character at the end
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The first of an excellent adventure, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alone (The 'Serenity' Series Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Marissa has you hooked from page one here and takes you on a journey that you will find hard to pause once you have started. First class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alone (The 'Serenity' Series Book 1)
0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews