Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (49)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mostly the sixties, mostly familiar classics, excellent - again
Only a few weeks after Sony released Be My Baby, a triple-CD all-female collection of predominately sixties music, Universal have released a double CD all-female collection of predominately sixties music, having licensed some tracks for the Sony collection. This collection has 53 tracks compared to 70 on the other collection, with not much duplication. There seems to be a...
Published on 15 Mar 2012 by Peter Durward Harris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wife is happy
It was a gift to the wife she loves these old songs have to drive car with this playing oh happy days
Published 1 month ago by Peter Dowling


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mostly the sixties, mostly familiar classics, excellent - again, 15 Mar 2012
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection (Audio CD)
Only a few weeks after Sony released Be My Baby, a triple-CD all-female collection of predominately sixties music, Universal have released a double CD all-female collection of predominately sixties music, having licensed some tracks for the Sony collection. This collection has 53 tracks compared to 70 on the other collection, with not much duplication. There seems to be a higher proportion of mainstream pop compared to the other collection, soul / R +B is still well represented. The solitary country music track here is Crazy by Patsy Cline.

When I reviewed the other collection, I mentioned four singers who it would have been nice to have but weren`t there, although I could have mentioned several others. This collection includes two of those four, with Helen Shapiro represented by two tracks (Walking back to happiness, You don't know) and Timi Yuro represented by Hurt. No sign of Mary Hopkin or Jackie Trent, but in any case, Mary's music was recorded for Apple and is rarely represented on multi-artist collections.

Among the artists featured here but not the other collection, you'll find two tracks each by Brenda Lee , Connie Francis, Kathy Kirby, Sandie Shaw and Little Eva. Other classics include Susan Maugham (Bobby's girl), Shangri-Las (Leader of the pack), Twinkle (Terry) and Etta James (At last). Although featured on the other collection, Lulu (Shout), Dusty Springfield (two tracks) and Petula Clark (two tracks, one of them French) are among those represented here too.

Less obvious but welcome selections include Jane Morgan (The day the rains come, Sue Thompson (Paper tiger), Patience and Prudence (Gonna get along without ya now), Nancy Wilson (You don't know how glad I am), Linda Scott (I've told every little star) and Maureen Evans (Like I do).

This compilation neatly complements the Sony collection despite some duplication. From a British perspective, the vast majority of female singers who you would expect to be featured can be found on at least one of these two compilations, together with some great singers who I wouldn't regard as automatic choices.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All The Voices I Love, 29 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection (Audio CD)
What can I say really? My parents used to play these songs all the time when I was growing up.

I bought this collection for my dad (67) and he loves it, as does my mum (55). I'm 25 and I can't resist the urge to start dancing when we put this collection on. It features some of the best female vocalists of the 50's and 60's from, Connie Francis to Doris Day to Nina Simone. No matter what your taste, there will be something on here that you love.

A really brilliant compilation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music., 3 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection (Audio CD)
MY wife has most of these Dreamboat CDs & she thinks they are wonderful. If my wife is happy then I am happy. Great music, great price & excellent service & delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Female artists galore, 30 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection (Audio CD)
A collection of top female artists at their best. A great companion to the male version 'Three Steps To Heaven' as well as being another great album in the Dreamboats and Petticoats series. Keep 'em coming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection (Audio CD)
just lovely
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wife is happy, 7 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection (Audio CD)
It was a gift to the wife she loves these old songs have to drive car with this playing oh happy days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CD, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection (Audio CD)
This is really my husbands era and interest in music but I did enjoy listening to the tracks and found it a good collection of the best songs of the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars blast from the past, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection (Audio CD)
blast from the past, enjoyable, lively, inviting you to dance, sing, positively changing your mood, positive reaction and vibration, enjoy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 18 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection (Audio CD)
This was bought for my mum as a present. She has got lots of these and loves them all, so this cd is no different and she enjoys listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 11 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection (Audio CD)
really loved playing the cd in the car and home, really great music and songs, got all the others. great delivery and despatch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection
Dreamboats & Petticoats Presents: Petticoat Collection by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews