Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (26)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Bargain
The drive was a breeze to installed and the packaging surrounding the item was top notch.
I got this 500GB HDD because it dropped in price compared to the 1TB HDD which increased.
I will be getting another drive probably the 2TB green drive for all my steam downloads.
Highly recommended.
Published 12 months ago by Simon Highland

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ... hard drive was not compatible with my motherboard not happy at all
in the discription nothing mentioned about a grade b hard drive when replaced my hard drive was not compatible with my motherboard not happy at all , i always got grade a dont no the difference between them both but could someone tell me
Published 3 months ago by william


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute Bargain, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM - Green (Personal Computers)
The drive was a breeze to installed and the packaging surrounding the item was top notch.
I got this 500GB HDD because it dropped in price compared to the 1TB HDD which increased.
I will be getting another drive probably the 2TB green drive for all my steam downloads.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So far so good!, 1 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM - Green (Personal Computers)
Western Digital have been making quality hard drives for years now, and this drive is a good buy for 500GB of space. Only time will tell how long it will last without losing DATA,files e.t.c Hdd drives are slowly becoming obsolete and will eventually be replaced with SSD drives which are far more reliable and much quicker for everything than a HDD drive. Look out for some bargains with HDD drives because they want to get rid of all their stock before the market place prices of SSD drives comes down in price comparable to HDD drives. Thanks from Andrew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like all WD HDD i've got in the past its very good, 4 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM - Green (Personal Computers)
This is the mid range series of WD HDD, and for the price it does the Job.

Got this unit for a brand new Windows 8.1 machine i built and works perfectly.

Read/Write Speeds are lower than the Black series but for workstation use its not really noticeable.

Did some basic test on arrival (error check on the disk surface; R/W speeds; etc etc) and it pass flawlessly.

Once again pretty satisfied with WD HDD.
Recommend to anyone how needs an affordable HDD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good choice for low price HDD, 18 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM - Green (Personal Computers)
Very silent and very fast for an HDD drive. I would recommend it to anyone who cannot buy an SSD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need a disk?, 23 July 2013
By 
spatial (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM - Green (Personal Computers)
If you need a 500GB disk then look no further. I've got 3 of these and had no problems at all...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's a hard drive..., 28 Dec 2012
By 
JJ (devon, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM - Green (Personal Computers)
Like all hard drive reviews what more can you say? I'd give it 5 stars if it came with any documentation or anything; as it is you just get the drive in packaging, but then that's all you want really? If you don't know how to attach the power and SATA cables... It'd be unlikely you'd be shopping for this.

It works, a thorough Internet search shows no known reliability issues, and the stats are excellent for the price! Sure you can get a TB for this price, but if you want a performance platter drive this is a good bet; very large cache and SATA 3 to get those items to cache; of course sustained write speed falls right down to platter speeds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for an "old iron"! :), 5 Oct 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well, considering linux almost useless on a SSD for the matter of fact that his file system is the best in place, I opted for this western digital HD. For the price that offer, a minimum bundle of cables and screws could have been a nice courtesy but, anyway, I prevented this by the time I figured out the already scarce bundle of my latest 600+ pound machine. I must say is not bad for a sort of "old iron" tech, it does the job and, of course, a better OS structure helps a lot too. Tested on the latest Ubuntu 14.04 x64 distro, installation was about 18 min. circa (including installation options and network setup), nothing particularly relevant to say cause the OS chargement is faster than Windows and doesn't surprise me anymore.

Good quality, not too noisy, easy to set up, cheap solution against SSD speculators! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Desktop SATA Hard Drive 500Gb, 10 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM - Green (Personal Computers)
These hard drives arrived very quickly and well packaged. I had no problem installing the operating system on the PCs.I was upgrading for friends. Only time will tell how reliable they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value for money, 8 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM - Green (Personal Computers)
Silent running and fast operating. Excellent value for money. Five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars WD 500GB Hard Drive, 25 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM - Green (Personal Computers)
Bought this to extend storage in one of my PC's.
Western Digital is a well known and trusted manufacturer hence I bought this one.
Installed and working very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

WD 500GB Desktop SATA Hard Drive - OEM - Green
£36.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews