Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good, if not better than the first one
I find it hard to believe I am the first to review this great book!

Without giving too much of the plot away, the second book in this series is based around the main characters exploit against the Roman army and a Parthian rebel army back in the surrounding area of his home city Hatra.

For me this book is interesting due to the tactics he deploys...
Published on 23 Feb 2012 by Dave_In_Asia

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Parthian Dawn
Excellent 2nd book in the series of 4 . Would be appreciated by most who like to read about Roman legions, ete
Published 16 months ago by Ernest Watkinson


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good, if not better than the first one, 23 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parthian Dawn (Kindle Edition)
I find it hard to believe I am the first to review this great book!

Without giving too much of the plot away, the second book in this series is based around the main characters exploit against the Roman army and a Parthian rebel army back in the surrounding area of his home city Hatra.

For me this book is interesting due to the tactics he deploys against both Parthian and foreign aggressors (read the Romans). Building up a core 'legion' based around the Roman organization of the army that he picked up during his time in Rome under Spartacus, the main character blends this with local cataphracts and horse archers - drilling them until the two work together in perfect unison and creating a devestatingly lethal army.

If you feel that you have read a lot about Roman tactics and warfare in the growing multitude of books on this subject available, this story helps understand a different side of the coin.

Definitely worth a read, but if you haven't yet, I would recommend reading the first book in this series first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you like the books by Simon Scarrow, you will love Parthian Dawn, 23 Mar 2012
This review is from: Parthian Dawn (Kindle Edition)
Parthian Dawn is a great read for anyone who enjoys historical fiction. It is the second book in the series, the first being The Parthian which is also excellent - get both and read "The Parthian" first.

Parthian Dawn is an action packed story which takes place in the ancient empires of Rome and Parthia but offers a fresh perspective in that it is seen from the Parthian perspective.

If you enjoy the books of Bernard Cornwell, Simon Scarrow, Ben Cane, Douglas Jackson and Harry Sidebottom then you will definately love this series from Peter Darman.

i am looking forward to the next book in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love,death,honour,intrigue,glory,excitement in bundles. Its all here, 2 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parthian Dawn (Kindle Edition)
Having read the author's first novel, The Parthian which I thoroughly enjoyed I was looking forward to the follow up book. Parthian Dawn arrived, and I hoped that it, at least would be as good as his first. I have to say that this book has exceeded all my expectations and the story moves on at a rollicking pace, full of intrigue, deceptions, great battles, heroics, friendships once again won and lost. I can only urge those of you that have an interest in historical facts interlaced with a great story told by the author who obviously has a great knowledge and passion for his subject to purchase this book. It is a small price to pay for such a pleasurable read, but, if you have not done so you should read The Parthian first. I have no hesitation in recommending this book and will be one of the first in line to purchase the third installment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Parthian Dawn, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parthian Dawn (Kindle Edition)
Excellent 2nd book in the series of 4 . Would be appreciated by most who like to read about Roman legions, ete
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars parthian Dawn, 26 Jun 2012
This review is from: Parthian Dawn (Kindle Edition)
Having read the previous books, this one is well up to standard, and follows the story line,I found the book quiet funny in places but a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Parthian Dawn, 28 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parthian Dawn (Kindle Edition)
I found this book very absorbng.Unable to put it down and very historical correct.I would like to see more books from this author.A great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very enjoyable read., 23 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parthian Dawn (Kindle Edition)
After having read the first book, The Parthian, I was really looking forward to book number two, and I was not disappointed !
Very interesting reading about these ancient cities and the rivalry between their kings. Add the Romans to the mixture and it's all set for some great action.
I can't wait for book number three.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars King of all, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parthian Dawn (Kindle Edition)
It was a thoroughly enjoyable book, just shows the women are as good at fighting battles as any of the men and they can work together side by side
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good reading., 11 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parthian Dawn (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading the Parthian books by Peter Darman, I found that once I picked the book up it was very hard to put it back down. Gripping series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Partisan Dawn, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Parthian Dawn (Kindle Edition)
This is the 2nd book in the series, I really have enjoyed it the Prince is now a King, after the 1st book I didn't the next book would be as good believe me when I say I think it surpassed the first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Parthian Dawn
Parthian Dawn by Peter Darman
1.79
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews