Customer Reviews


78 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


97 of 103 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Chilling ghost story
I've long been a fan of this classic ghost movie. I watch an inordinate amount of horror, and this is one of the few that contains genuine scares. And it was made more than 60 years ago.

Rick (Ray Milland on fantastic form, combining a light touch with heavyweight acting chops) and his sister buy a cliffside house from a curmudgeonly old man. They soon find...
Published on 10 July 2012 by Mitz

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "They call them the haunted shores... Mists gather here, and sea fog, and eerie stories..."
The Uninvited is one of those films that probably owes much of its classic status to how little it has been seen over the years since its release: never available on a legitimate DVD until Exposure's new UK DVD release and rarely seen on TV in most countries, it's developed a formidable reputation as one of the great screen ghost stories that it can't really live up to...
Published on 9 Dec 2012 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favorite ghost story!, 9 April 2013
By 
S. Madrid "Curious" (Virginia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
This is my favorite ghost story. Not a lot of high tech, just good acting and a good storyline. This is unavailable in the
U.S. in DVD form, so I was thrilled to find it on UK Amazon. Arrived quickly, well packaged, no complaints! Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Uninvited, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
This is another of the classic films I remember from my younger days, well worth the wait.
It may seem dated in these current times, but all the same the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Be careful when choosing a mother-in-law, 11 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
Roderick Fitzgerald (Ray Milland) and his sister Pamela (Ruth Hussey) are touring the Cornish sea side when their dog chases a squirrel into an empty house. They follow and in the process of recovering the dog see and house and fall in love with it. Even though they were strongly implied to that it may just be haunted they buy it anyway. Naturally animals can see what people do not and their dog runs off. The Cooks cat will not go upstairs. Stella Meredith (Gail Russell) thinks it is her mother's ghost and wants s to visit. Her grandfather Commander Beech (Donald Chrisp) knows something but is not saying.

The movie gets progressively creepier. What is bad is they the brother and sister accept that fact that the house is haunted from the beginning and instead of running away, with the help of the local doctor, attempt to fix the situation.

Keep up with the story as everyone has a different version and you may not be so surprised in the end. Meantime the acting and the pacing is great.

I bought the VHS and converted it to DVD; but I would not mind having an official DVD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Long remembered film., 26 Mar 2013
By 
Patricia K. Cymbal (Sheffield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film when it was first shown and strangely enough I have never forgotten it. If I tell you why I remembered it it will give the game away. This is not one of the blood and guts shockers beloved by the young. It is a quiet, intelligent film which nevertheless is strangely creepy. It's also in black and white which adds to the atmosphere of something not 'being right'. Although I had seen it before, I thoroughly enjoyed seeing it again. It's such a pity that Gail Russell, the heroine, died so young. She was a beautiful girl with an almost 'other worldly' look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A super natural story, the Un-invited, 22 Feb 2013
By 
Mrs. S. F. Fitzgerald "FILMBUFF" (HERTFORDSHIRE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
This film was made years ago and for its time is very good although it now seems
out-dated by to-days standards, but is still worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What of "The Unseen"?, 27 April 2012
By 
David Orme "Fantasy Forever." (Sydney Australia.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
The Unseen is a movie made after Uninvited, same director, and starring Gail Russell and follows a similar storyline to the previous title. I saw it back in the 60's on TV, and it has almost faded from my memory but would LOVE to see that one again.The male lead was, I think, Joel McCrea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Uninvited, 16 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
Finally this eerie film has emerged on dvd.It was originally mercilessly truncated by the 1944 British Censors and the ghosts
completely excised.Now it is shown in it's full version,as I first saw it as a boy in Jamaica.The atmosphere is generally unsettling,remember if you purchase a copy to watch it with all the lights out!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I invite you to watch this splendid film, 26 Dec 2012
By 
Skylady (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
Recommended to me by friends, I had never even heard of this film until I bought it a couple of years ago. I have not regretted the purchase.

As a huge fan of The Innocents, and The Ghost & Mrs Muir, I love haunted house tales and this one delights the senses. Well acted, with superb atmosphere and a suitably haunting soundtrack, the tale is given a light but sure touch to create tension and underlying menace throughout without resorting to loud bangs or people popping up from left of screen to tell you when to be scared, as in so much second rate modern rubbish. The few special effects are stupendous for the time in which it was made, and there is a great sadness and sense of loss haunting the latter part of the film. Modern ghost/horror film makers, please note : less gore and fewer screaming teens, more genuine tension and a proper plot creates a better watching experience for the discerning film fan.

The copy I have is obviously not an official UK release, but is a very good print nonetheless. No extras though, so the new set will be well worth buying for the booklet alone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 21 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. J. Pizzey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
an awesome movie and a great soundtrack to by victor young,picture quality is good and you get a nice booklet inside with lots of information,well worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 21 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] (DVD)
A Ray Milland film I had never seen! We thoroughly enjoyed it, even my young nephew liked it..so top marks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 8 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Uninvited [1944] [DVD]
The Uninvited [1944] [DVD] by Lewis Allen (DVD - 2012)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews