Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old head on a young body
I have read lots of motorcycle travel books and this book comes high on the list. The thing I like about the book is that Nathan actually gets out there and meets people. Quite often it is a mad dash through the countryside to get back home. But Nathan takes his time and gets to experience things.

He is not afraid to explain that it is not all roses doing...
Published on 22 July 2012 by Stephen Lindley

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring
Uninspiring. The premise of the sudden, unplanned journey on such an iconic little bike was sadly let down by the lack lustre personality that came across on the page. Other books of this genre have delivered so much more.
Published 5 days ago by Suzanne Partridge


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars long way home, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Ride 'Home' (Kindle Edition)
a great read could not put the book down would love to here of any more adventures like this best book I have read in a long time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Long ride home, 21 Dec 2012
This review is from: The Long Ride 'Home' (Kindle Edition)
This was a Great book I could not put it down.
Makes me want to buy a smaller bike and tour round the uk
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Long ride home, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Ride 'Home' (Kindle Edition)
As a Motorcyclist I find mopeds uncomfortable and hazardous -- To ride such a machine across the world is a feat itself - The writing whilst not particularly slick gives a good impression of the realistic problems of such a journey - Not accompanied by a full back up team with camera crews and BMW support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars We need more people like Nathan, 7 Dec 2012
By 
Malcolm Allan "Malcolm" (Bishopbriggs, near Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Ride 'Home' (Kindle Edition)
Not for the first time we read of 'the kindness of strangers' and this is often from those with the least to give.
Nathan is willing to share with readers his doubts as well as his 'highs'. All travel books benefit from from sketch maps and I did find that I had to sit with an atlas to follow some of his route.
Nathan demonstrates that it is not necessary to ride a big beast of a bike and followed by a support team.
A younger version of Simon Gandolfi as in 'Old Man on a Bike'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A delight to read,, 4 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Ride 'Home' (Kindle Edition)
Years ago, I read "Jupiter's Travels" and was entranced by the description of other countries, as seen from a motorcycle. Since then, motorcycles have largely disappeared from my areas of interest (4 children will take control of your life), until my younger son passed his direct access test, and began to talk of overseas journeys by motorcycle. Several Kindle purchases followed, and then I found this book.

This is an honest, amusing, informative account of what would be to me a terrifying journey. Indeed, at times the author confronts his own fears, (and those of the media!)and overcomes them. A clear and affectionate description of people encountered, difficulties solved, and rapport with his machine lead me to recommend the book to my son, and I believe that his enjoyment of Nathan's travels was as great as mine, increased only by the pleasure of meeting the author at this year's bike show.

If you enjoy travel writing, adventure biking of the minimalist kind, and a good tale without too mush philosophy, then try this book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As good a motorcycling tale as I've read, 30 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Long Ride 'Home' (Kindle Edition)
The book gives a real sense of the highs and lows of undertaking a jourey most people would not even dream of doing. The book is a delight to read on a long journey a puts the odd late connection in to perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Long Ride Home, 18 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Ride 'Home' (Kindle Edition)
What an epic adventure , they should make it into a film , it had me hooked from the very start , the only downside were the links which are not so great when using a kindle , but apart from that an awesome read .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars more than a travel book, 21 April 2012
By 
K. Crofts (Lincoln England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Ride 'Home' (Kindle Edition)
An excellent account of a real life adventure, warm and informative. Fabulous read for anyone who wants to travel - gives insights you don't get from the travel guides and just as good for those of us who prefer to travel from our armchairs. Truly engaging. I have no great love of motorbikes or desire to travel far but I loved Nathan's writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fun and easy read, 31 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Ride 'Home' (Kindle Edition)
Nathan's story is awesome. It's easy to read and fun especially if you own a postie. Get it from Amazon UK and rip it to Kindle if you're getting the e-book cause it's a crapload cheaper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Uninspiring, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Long Ride 'Home' (Kindle Edition)
Uninspiring. The premise of the sudden, unplanned journey on such an iconic little bike was sadly let down by the lack lustre personality that came across on the page. Other books of this genre have delivered so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Long Ride 'Home'
The Long Ride 'Home' by Nathan Millward
4.62
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews