Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a war story than a horror story.
A very different take on the standard zombie story.

Most of the action is from the viewpoint of a group of people fortunate to be on an exteremely well equipped explorations vessel at the time of the outbreak. As the story proceeds they gather a flotilla of other vessels in a journey of survival. (yes it does feel a lot like battlestar galactica- but its a...
Published on 8 Nov. 2012 by D. J. Ketchin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars What men!
Wow, the heroes of book are the most incredible stereotypes its ever been my pleasure to read about. I was waiting for John Wayne to show up as one of the undead! What all American heroes we have, even to the extent where the not much mentioned, but all obeying wife of Scott runs back to her cabin, sobbing, head in hands - no doubt to prepare dinner in dress and...
Published 5 months ago by RUBY


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More of a war story than a horror story., 8 Nov. 2012
By 
D. J. Ketchin "living in books" (Edinburgh Uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage of the Dead - Book One Sovereign Spirit Saga (Kindle Edition)
A very different take on the standard zombie story.

Most of the action is from the viewpoint of a group of people fortunate to be on an exteremely well equipped explorations vessel at the time of the outbreak. As the story proceeds they gather a flotilla of other vessels in a journey of survival. (yes it does feel a lot like battlestar galactica- but its a favorable comparison)

Its much more focused on solutions than problems, Think of it as an engineers approach to the apocalypse.
As such its full of hardware - ships , helicopters, modified cars etc with which to mangle zombies.
The cast never quite seems to be in any terror of the zombies, which is a downside . Theres very little sense of horror - even early on. Its quite clinical.

Also an aside from the traditional horror - there is a plan - the survivors here have a plan from day one - so it feels more like a traditionally structured novel than most other genre books.

Possibly too little emotion and too much hardware - but an intersting addition to the genre well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly addictive zombie fiction!, 31 July 2012
By 
Martin Belcher (Hampshire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage of the Dead - Book One Sovereign Spirit Saga (Kindle Edition)
What an incredible read! This is a lot different from the usual Zombie formula and is set aboard the Sovereign Spirit an old North Sea roll on roll off ferry that has been turned into a mega luxury ship by billionaire Scott Allen and his family. The boat has every luxury you can name from bowling alley to cinema to casino and Internet cafe all on board. Scott has also fitted out the Soverign Spirit with it's own helicopter, mini-sub, SUV, stacks of weaponry and even a marine laboratory. Scott's idea is to spend his fortune sailing the oceans and taking his friends and paying passengers on exclusive round-the-world cruises with all manner of excursions included. Everything is well in Scott's world until almost simultaneously in big cities around the globe people start to turn into flesh eating zombies attacking others and quickly spreading the infection across the planet. From the safety of his ship in the Pacific Ocean off the coast of Northern Mexico, Scott has a ring side seat as he watches the TV news networks show what could be the end of society as we know it. Can Scott and his passengers find survivors on the coast? I absolutely loved this first book in the Sovereign Spirit saga, many other reviewers have said it is like The Walking Dead meets Battlestar Galactica... All I can say is I LOVED IT and I have already bought the next book Flotilla of the Dead on Kindle.Flotilla of the Dead (Sovereign Spirit Saga)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It, 25 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage of the Dead - Book One Sovereign Spirit Saga (Kindle Edition)
This book is packed full of action, the plot is actually going somewhere and the characters are likable. It definitely left me wanting more so I've just picked up the next book in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different survivor viewpoint., 9 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage of the Dead - Book One Sovereign Spirit Saga (Kindle Edition)
A novel twist on the zombie appocalipse front, having a group of survivors at sea when the outbreak occurs. However not all of the action is at sea as we also follow a survivor on land as he battles his way across an infected city, will their paths cross at some point?

Also has an interesting twist to the zombie virus, and a novel way to hold them at bay, I will say no more. As of writing this review I'm about 1/3 the way through book 3 and I believe there will be more in this series released this year, so check it out, you maybe pleasantly suprised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good first in series, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage of the Dead - Book One Sovereign Spirit Saga (Kindle Edition)
Fast paced action but with a feeling of remoteness arising from the main characters isolation from the events unfolding on land. A wee bit as though they are playing a video game rather than facing a for real E.L.E.
The characters are not bad though, and the story line is gripping - lets see how it goes from here, I am certainly buying the next one in the series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A unique take on the zombie apocalypse, 3 Oct. 2012
This review is from: Voyage of the Dead - Book One Sovereign Spirit Saga (Kindle Edition)
A refreshingly original take on the zombie apocalypse. The characters are well rounded, the story packs plenty of punch and lots of action. The plot progresses well and leaves the reader entertained and yet wanting more (as it is the first book in a series). Well done. Highly recommended! I will be buying more books from this author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gripping, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage of the Dead - Book One Sovereign Spirit Saga (Kindle Edition)
Loving this series so far, just ordered the next book and can't wait to get stuck in. Although it's a zombie book it's a different take on it, rather. Than the normal running through the streets being attacking kind of thing. I won't say too much so as not to spoil the story line but I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Not to be Missed, 24 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage of the Dead - Book One Sovereign Spirit Saga (Kindle Edition)
This is one of the best zombie action novels I have read! It's Clive Cussler meets Max Brooks. This reads more like an action adventure where the enemy just happens to be zombies.
One day I too would like to take a trip on that ship even if it means fighting off the zombie hordes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome book, 2 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage of the Dead - Book One Sovereign Spirit Saga (Kindle Edition)
Fantastic zombie apocalypse book. Lots of action in this book even though they are relatively safe on the boat they still make trips to land to save friends and meet lots of zombies. Loved the charecters the main one especially. Look forward to reading the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A zombie book without the gushing emotional cripples who couldn't organise a party in a brewery., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Voyage of the Dead - Book One Sovereign Spirit Saga (Kindle Edition)
At last a zombie book, that doesn't have emotionally crippled brain dead characters who don't have the sense to come in out of the rain. I read it in one sitting and will be buying books 2 and 3.Unlike Walking Dead and numerous other zombie productions, this book at least approaches the apocalypse scenario with characters who are likeable, intelligent and still retain some emotional coherence whilst using the resources available to them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews