Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Of The Year So Far
I bought this CD, despite the somewhat lacklustre 3 star review given in my bible (Q magzine!), as I have liked all the Felice Brothers albums. It even sat around a few days before I played it - which turned out to be poor judgement! This album is quite simply sublime. Simone is in wonderful voice, haunting, plaintive and completely honest. Lyrically the writing is first...
Published on 9 April 2012 by A. D. Hickman

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars if you love the Felice Brothers you'll probably not like this!
Very disappointing purchase considering the fantasticness of the Felice Brothers, this album just comes across as arrogant rubbish- stick with your brothers Simone!
Published 13 days ago by SnowyZ


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Album Of The Year So Far, 9 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simone Felice (Audio CD)
I bought this CD, despite the somewhat lacklustre 3 star review given in my bible (Q magzine!), as I have liked all the Felice Brothers albums. It even sat around a few days before I played it - which turned out to be poor judgement! This album is quite simply sublime. Simone is in wonderful voice, haunting, plaintive and completely honest. Lyrically the writing is first class utilizing that all too rare a skill of letting the listener's imagination fill in the spaces between the lines to complete the story being told. The arrangements are often simple and stripped back but every note has a purpose - not a hint of anything thrown in just for filler - beautiful. Very hard to pick the strongest tracks as there are no duds. Perhaps listen to Hey Bobby Ray, Charade, Dawn Brady's Son and Splendor in the Grass if you are sampling to get a good cross-section feel. Without doubt the best new album I have heard in 2012 (and I have heard MANY!!) and one that leaves an immediate impression on your brain but then just continues to beckon you in further with each play. Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Was the BBC reviewer really listening ?, 4 Jun 2012
This review is from: Simone Felice (Audio CD)
To reassure potential purchasers - there are no lightweight tracks to this album. The whole thing is of an consistently high level, with some standout tracks that genuinely are as good as anyone gets (New York Times, Dawn Brady's Son). Generally, the darker the subject matter the lusher the arrangement, Stormy-Eyed Sarah being an excellent example. And, of course, a voice with the emotional impact of a Neil Young or the much-missed Vic Chesnutt, but with much better technique and timbre.
If you buy a lot of albums, and over the years have generated a collection (or should the collective noun be "burden"?), you will know that only about 5% of them have the kind of consistent strength throughout, and staying power over time, to become personal favourites in the long term, no matter how brightly they may shine initially. You know what I mean - each replay reveals new details and nuances, but, above all, maintains the same intensity of emotional reaction as the first time you heard it. It is too soon to put Simone Felice's album in this category now, but the probabilities for this album's inclusion in my "Top Drawer" short-list seem high already, as it's already the best album I've bought in 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What can I say...........sublime, 15 Mar 2013
This review is from: Simone Felice (Audio CD)
All previous reviewers have covered it. I can't pick a favourite but stormy eyed Sarah & what charade is a close contender, but there is definitely not dud or filler on the whole album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply a Great Album!, 30 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simone Felice (Audio CD)
What a wonderful album, bought this as had been given concert tickets and wanted to get to know the artist. Simon really puts his soul into his songs. It was only bettered by the live performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars simone felice, 20 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simone Felice (Audio CD)
Moody enchanting haunting songs .
takes you to a different time and place.
It is like a story book as it builds pictures in your mind while the stories unfold
and the lyrics grab you.
I wish he would produce so much more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding album, 16 April 2012
By 
D. J. Dawson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Simone Felice (Audio CD)
I love this album, stunning vocals, brilliant lyrics, excellent tunes.
I saw Simone live last week in Newcastle and was blown away, i highly recommend!
Also check out Simi Stone, very impressive also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars **** 4/5 MOJO, **** 4/5 UNCUT, **** 4.5/5 THE SUN, **** THE INDEPENDENT, 7 April 2012
This review is from: Simone Felice (Audio CD)
Great debut from former Duke & The King / Felice Brothers Songwriter.

Already getting some lovely reviews such as :

ALBUM OF THE MONTH in UNCUT ****
**** 4/5 MOJO
****.5 /5 THE SUN
**** 4/5 TELEGRAPH
"A CONTENDER FOR ALBUM OF THE YEAR" ELECTRIC GHOST..

'Simone Felice has the poetic gifts and fearless aesthetic to rank among the all-time greats, from Cohen to Cave' - The Telegraph

'These are songs of memory and regret, of reminiscence and desire, songs that reflect on love and childhood and Americanness and, more than anything, on time passing... each song somehow sounds like a classic, each live performance suggesting we are in the presence of a rare, fiery brilliance' - The Guardian

'Spellbinding' - Uncut

When you sit in a room with Simone Felice you can hear a subtle metallic ticking noise. If you hunt for the source of the sound you'll find a scar bisecting the entire length of his chest, a visceral reminder of the open-heart surgery he was forced to undergo in the summer of 2010 after a childhood congenital defect brought him to the brink of death. Felice's heart is his metronome, his divining rod, and the life source of his self-titled solo debut, set for release on April 2nd, 2012 via Reveal Records.

Former drummer, writer and vocalist of Catskill Mountain troubadours The Felice Brothers, and the creator of folk-soul outfit The Duke & The King, Simone Felice steps into the spotlight to begin his journey as a lone artist, bearing the fruits of a lifetime of song-writing. Largely self-produced with help from Ben Lovett (Mumford & Sons), the album was recorded in deeply resonant places, settings that were as haunted in their rafters as Felice felt in his bones: a barn near his house in the woods, an old church in London, an abandoned high school building by the Hudson River. What he created in these hushed, hallowed places is music that could be called folk but that has running through it a ghostly gospel-like feel.

Simone Felice is strikingly simple in its arrangements while extravagant in its emotional impact. Each track is rife with intricate imagery and captivating storytelling, not surprisingly, as Simone is an acclaimed wordsmith, published poet and novelist. As with his prose, Felice conveys his often mournful tales of star-crossed lovers and beautiful losers with remarkable empathy, giving each a deeply personal feeling.

"Courtney Love" is less recrimination than rumination on the loneliness in all of us that can lead to reckless, desperate behavior. Lead single "You & I Belong" (with friends from Mumford & Sons) finds Felice praising each new morning, an increasingly difficult chore in today's pixilated world of seven billion distractions. The darkly exquisite "New York Times" presents a commanding lyrical onslaught about the dire state of the front page news.

The album is available on LP VINYL WITH CD INSIDE or CD.

Opener "Hey Bobby Ray" is a stunning choral track about abuse and retribution featuring The Felice Brothers and a girls' choir from Simone's hometown, the Catskill High School Trebleaires.

Simone Felice is on tour in the UK/IRE through April and returns in September 2011.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favourite Album, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Simone Felice (Audio CD)
This is possibly my favourite album bar none. It is fantastic. Do yourself a favour and listen it to. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars if you love the Felice Brothers you'll probably not like this!, 8 Sep 2014
This review is from: Simone Felice (Audio CD)
Very disappointing purchase considering the fantasticness of the Felice Brothers, this album just comes across as arrogant rubbish- stick with your brothers Simone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Simone Felice
Simone Felice by Simone Felice (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews