Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super ryobi impact driver ''NAKED'' without battery or charger
For a few years now i have been wanting a good quality impact driver and as i already have a few ryobi one 18v tools and 4 battery's i decided to buy this one which comes [''NAKED'' without battery's or charger']it states 170nm of torque on amazon but it is actually 220nm of torque which makes it far the most powerful of all 18v brands with de-walt's new model 2nd with...
Published on 9 Dec. 2012 by STEVE FULLER

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much torque for delicate woodwork. Choosy about its bits.
SUMMARIZED REVIEW
Not recommended for delicate work or for driving small wood screws. Will not retain all of my hexagonal-shaft bits. The magnetic bit storage tray is useless.

DETAILED REVIEW
I'd hoped to use this tool for driving screws into wood but have found it too forceful for my task and the torque-breaker is not adjustable as it is on some...
Published 2 months ago by Mark


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super ryobi impact driver ''NAKED'' without battery or charger, 9 Dec. 2012
By 
STEVE FULLER - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool (DIY & Tools)
For a few years now i have been wanting a good quality impact driver and as i already have a few ryobi one 18v tools and 4 battery's i decided to buy this one which comes [''NAKED'' without battery's or charger']it states 170nm of torque on amazon but it is actually 220nm of torque which makes it far the most powerful of all 18v brands with de-walt's new model 2nd with 170nm of torque,it is a very well made power tool with a rubber moulding making it comfortable to hold with 3 l.e.d. lights,i tried it yesterday for the 1st time and was well pleased when it screwed in large 6 inch screws into a fence post without slowing down,you must remember that you should use high quality bit's with this tool or impact driver bit's, [i bought a makita 30 piece impact driver bit set in a plastic case on ebay for £10 which i recommend],i am so pleased i chose this one as ryobi power tools are so well made.With the battery attached it is not light but as it is well made you would'nt get a light machine to do a job that this one does, if you want a light model get a different make 10.8v model which would have around 90 to 110nm of torque from £80 to £130 with battery's.i can't recommend this power tool highly enough,brilliant tool which deserve's 6 stars not 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Quality Tool, 26 Oct. 2014
By 
M. G. Chisholm "chiefengineer3" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool (DIY & Tools)
A newish trend is to use impact drivers instead of ordinary battery drills for screwing things together, and I have to say I was a bit dismissive. However , having taken the plunge I can safely say I know why these tools have become so well received. They work. Proper work that is.

If you have some heavy duty long screws to use then an ordinary drill/driver will work. But this impact driver will work better. With an ordinary driver you often have to bust a blood vessel forcing the bit into the screw head to prevent rounding out this impacfg driver will take the strain. It literarily hammers the bit into the screw head forcing a long screw easily into even hard wood.

The tool itself is great quality. I've used three other Ryobi drill drivers solidly for the last three and a half years building a house from a wreck and they have been used, abused and neglected. They still work perfectly. This impact driver seems to be of an even higher standard so I have no doubt at all it will survive anything I can chuck at it. Put simply it is brilliant value for money.

Now, bear in mind this a a bare tool. You will have to fork out another seventh odd quid for a battery if you don't have any already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ryobi impact driver is quite possibly the best impact driver available, 7 July 2014
This review is from: Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool (DIY & Tools)
The Ryobi impact driver is quite possibly the best impact driver available. I am an electrician so it is used for trade use. I have had one for four years. In that time it has been seriously used and abused 5 days a week for 4 years and its still going. I don't just use it for screws. It drills joists, metal work, masonry everything. You can buy most bits with a 3/4 hex head quick change so they all fit in the impact. its been dropped, kicked, thrown and its still going great, great, great tool!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Too much torque for delicate woodwork. Choosy about its bits., 4 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool (DIY & Tools)
SUMMARIZED REVIEW
Not recommended for delicate work or for driving small wood screws. Will not retain all of my hexagonal-shaft bits. The magnetic bit storage tray is useless.

DETAILED REVIEW
I'd hoped to use this tool for driving screws into wood but have found it too forceful for my task and the torque-breaker is not adjustable as it is on some drills. If I were driving big hexagonal-head screws against a washer I can see how this would perform well, but when driving small countersink-head screws into softwoods the arrival of the screw-head against the wood doesn't yield-enough back force to cause the torque breaker to break, and consequently it is rather easy to smash the timber and drive the screw in too hard. Similarly, if driving a slender or short screw against a washer, the torque exerted by the tool is sufficiently great that it will rip the thread out of the wood rather than stop rotating. The tool can be used in these situations, but it is necessary to handle it extra carefully, cautiously and slowly, making it much less effective than a tool that can have a lower breaking torque. Accordingly, for the purpose of driving small screws, or driving screws into wood in situations where the final appearance needs to be attractive -- cabinet making, for example -- I do not recommend this tool.

Oddly and disappointingly I found that many of my hexagonal bits and sockets are not retained by the tool. They can be slid-in but are not retained as one would expect. In order to use them I had to fit a hexagonal magnetic bit holder and then fit the bits or sockets into the magnetic holder instead.

The tool seems well balanced.

In use it is very noisy.

The magnetic tray provided at the front of the tool as a place to hold bits when they're not in use is ineffective and basically useless because its magnetic force is simply not strong enough to stop the bits sliding around and falling off -- particularly when the tool is in use and there is some vibration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super torque, extremely well built, awesome tool!, 15 Mar. 2014
By 
This review is from: Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool (DIY & Tools)
Excellent product! Screws anything! Just take it easy if screwing in to softwood (like white pine 2x4s), there is so much torque you can tear the threads in the Wood. No need for pilot holes in wood that soft though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I read many good reviews on these drivers, 20 Aug. 2014
By 
S. Ajaib - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool (DIY & Tools)
My old drill packed in and was in two minds, drill or impact driver. I read many good reviews on these drivers, so I decided to take the hit, the best thing I did. I normally do all mine and family's small diy jobs and this tool makes it simple. Tasks such as replacing handles would normally take me 10/20 mins each, with this 5 minutes, no extra force required. In addition to this I purchased a corded drill for stubborn masonry work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DIY just became weaponised., 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool (DIY & Tools)
Another excellent Ryobi tool. Strong and sturdy, used to fit kitchens and they need alot of screws driven. Also great when making deccking as one drill to make holes and driver to fit the boards. Really speeds up jobs as you don't have to keep swapping drill bit with driver bit if you only have a drill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good mid range power tools, 27 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool (DIY & Tools)
Good mid range power tools, I brought a complete set of this stuff 5 years ago and it's lasted well. I've fitted kitchens, bathrooms and built all sorts of stuff, it's not Makita, but it's not Makita prices either.

They have been dropped, used to knock in raw plugs ect and is in great shape. The impact driver really drives in the screws well. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top Tool, 18 Jan. 2013
This review is from: Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool (DIY & Tools)
Hi, This is a great tool. Very powerfull. I thought it would be just like a drill on hammer but its much more powerfull. It'll drive thick 6" screws all day. It's real nice in the hand too. It will eat cheap bits, you know the 20 for £1 ones but it does a super job.
I was surprised at how loud the hammering is as it turns the screw home, could annoy my neighbor some as I build my house but probably not as much as my Air nail gun.
I really cant see anything to moan about, the 3 bright led's are really good too. It's a great price for what it is. I got mine from the US along with a load of other stuff and saved a bit but if I wasn't so tight i would have bought here for the great service.Regards Mark
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good tool, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool (DIY & Tools)
Fantastic tool, bought to speed up a decking project. Great value if you already have some of the one+ batteries. Very powerful too. Just a shame it doesn't come with a case.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ryobi 18V One Plus Impact Driver Bare Tool
£68.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews