Customer Reviews


48 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opened my eyes to life in the army
`Zero to Hero' is an infantryman's story about the life of a soldier fighting out in Afghanistan.

It gives an authentic flavour of what it must be like to serve in the British Army during a modern day conflict.

Revengeful insurgents and the Taliban are a constant threat.
IED's can take a soldiers life at any moment and these roadside bombs have...
Published 21 months ago by Hector Nest

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good real life read
The story behind this is obviously real life so if anyone is interested in what it is like to be a soldier then its a must read.

However I don't think it was proof read before being published!
Published 12 months ago by Hannah Pulley


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Opened my eyes to life in the army, 18 Dec 2012
This review is from: Frontline: A Soldier's Story: War In Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
`Zero to Hero' is an infantryman's story about the life of a soldier fighting out in Afghanistan.

It gives an authentic flavour of what it must be like to serve in the British Army during a modern day conflict.

Revengeful insurgents and the Taliban are a constant threat.
IED's can take a soldiers life at any moment and these roadside bombs have caused the majority of coalition casualties in the Afghan war.

I don't have ay military experience myself but I found the book gripping and a credible description of war.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Real Eye Opener!, 18 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline: A Soldier's Story: War In Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
As someone who never had any inkling or want to be a soldier, Ive always had a fascination with guys who have the guts and botlle to sign up, knowing they may have to put their life on the line for their country. This book only increased my adminration for the men, lets face it, some of them are only boys.

We at home have no concept of what its like to be somewhere like Afghanistan, the heat and dust, the constant fear of being shot at or bombed. The book details all this in a great way and explains the technical aspects well.

The action is fast moving and comes across as realistic and heart pounding.

The book is written in the 1st person and i really enjoyed it, I like Alex Green's writing style and would certainly be on the lookout for any future books he writes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A GOOD READ, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline: A Soldier's Story: War In Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
This is my husband's review as the book was bought for him. As a former soldier/officer himself, he found the book to be a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent description of a soldier in Afghanistan, 20 April 2013
This review is from: Frontline: A Soldier's Story: War In Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
As above. Thoroughly enjoyable read. Not too much analysis, just a riveting description of the events and emotions of the time
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A soldier to soldier, 1 April 2013
By 
CD Tait "Dougie dog" (Newton Abbot S/Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline: A Soldier's Story: War In Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
An excellent read as a retired soldier many of the memories are similar to my own and I can relate to many of the situations in this book. This is a well wrote book and it seems to come from the heart, I hope he can deal with both the physical and mental stress. I thoroughly recommend this book to all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well documented, 23 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline: A Soldier's Story: War In Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
yep thats what our boys are still doing god bless them all.rest in peace the lads that didnt make it.alex try combat stress website if gets too bad
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 21 Mar 2013
This review is from: Frontline: A Soldier's Story: War In Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
This is such a good book, it really give an insight to what it is really like on the frontline
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Just a Hero, 22 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline: A Soldier's Story: War In Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
I have read a lot of book about the war and as I have said to my son you are all hero's, this book highlighted the professionalism of all of our soldiers I would recommend this book to any body showing an interest in what is and has happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Raw - really raw, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Frontline: A Soldier's Story: War In Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
I've read a few books by soldiers who fought in 'Afgy' but this one is so raw in some details it brought tears to my eyes. But it brings the reality of the war in Afghanistan to life - upsetting though it was in parts. Huge admiration for these guys and a great read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thrilling, 6 Sep 2013
By 
E. Sanders (Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Frontline: A Soldier's Story: War In Afghanistan (Kindle Edition)
I could feel the heat and taste the dust as I lived through a tour of duty. It was difficult to put the book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews