Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, it's rather good
The novelty of VC and MG combining to produce a techno album was bound to get me to part with my money. The funny thing is, they didn't meet or even talk while making the album - which sounds rather like the recording of the second Yazoo album. Vince has always been a great collaborator - especially for someone who is notoriously prickly - think The Assembly, Yazoo,...
Published on 3 April 2012 by joefromlondon

versus
6 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Don't bother!
When I first heard about this collaboration I could'nt wait to buy it being a huge DM and Vince Clarke fan.
I only wish now I had listened to the samples first!(This album is now going on Ebay!!!) It's only fair to say that you should not expect anything like what Depeche Mode or Vince Clarke do normally, but perhaps that was entirely the intent of the collaboration...
Published on 20 Mar. 2012 by TP


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Oh, it's rather good, 3 April 2012
This review is from: SSSS (Audio CD)
The novelty of VC and MG combining to produce a techno album was bound to get me to part with my money. The funny thing is, they didn't meet or even talk while making the album - which sounds rather like the recording of the second Yazoo album. Vince has always been a great collaborator - especially for someone who is notoriously prickly - think The Assembly, Yazoo, Erasure, that thing with Martyn Ware. But don't think about those examples too long, because this isn't like them at all. SSSS, named for the sound of hissy electronics favoured by Vince, is exactly what you want to hear at 2am in a club when you are wanting to feel the music as much as hear it. It is all 4/4 bass drums, sequencers set to stun, slow build-ups and heavy duty breaks. Martin doesn't sing. He doesn't wear a black dress (well, he might have, but it isn't on display here). It's as unlikely an album as you will buy this year, and one of the most likeable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some Great Reward, 30 April 2012
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SSSS (Audio CD)
Improbably, this collaboration between half of Depeche Mode's 1981 lineup - the effortless popstrel Vince Clarke whose every release has been, incessant, almost oppressively cheerful and the latter, naunced king of mild bondage miserabilism Martin Gore - take a brief break from their day jobs in respectively Erasure and Depeche Mode, to explore a silent first love.

Both of them have, in their ways, explored the power of technology over the past three decades : Vince drawn always to the brighter, sunshine of analog synths, easily creating delicate structures of jauty, fast paced, and melodic pop where it always April 1984. Gore, on the other hand, gave the world such feelgood tunes as "Shake The Disease", "It's No Good", and "Enjoy The Silence", melding an immaculate production with a fetish for minor keys and chords, and vocals that try to make a disco out of an existential crisis. So... what you might expect with VCMG is an almost of literate, retro-futurist, morbid pop? No such luck.

Immaculately produced, VCMG is a dense hour of electronic exploration : the material - 10 or so pieces of instrumental motifs - created by email and from thousands of miles apart, sounds like a determined single entity. The undulating tones and rhythms could be a particularly fond return to form from a mid-range electronic outfit that makes a small living.

The pounding, slightly threatening "Lowly" begins the album : like all of this, made on old-fashioned, customised synthsets, tweaked and bent, with longstanding, elegant melody lines and immaculate rhythms, it sounds like the unholy, lovely union of two very different minds, with jaunty drums and melancholy strings, and a joy through repetition that only repeated exposure can bring.

"Spock" is utter Depeche Mode. The nearest compartor are the kind of luxuriously rich sounds they were making ten years ago. Over the course of an hour and ten tracks, there's no chance of everything being a standout - "Zaat" and "Flux" aren't the most rewarding listens of all time, but "Windup Robot", and the wonderfully titled "Skip This Track" are entertaining, rewarding diversions from the day jobs of being maudlin popstars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Repetitive...but in a good way, 29 Mar. 2012
By 
T. LEWIS "Telboy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SSSS (Audio CD)
I agree with one of the reviewers who said they yearned for some vocals on first listen (Although, I'm not sure Dave Gahan's voice would go with the music). It does initially come across as a bit samey but after a few listens, it almost blends into a continuous piece of music, like a really uptempo Tangerine Dream remixed by Underworld. Although I bought the album because it was Vince and Martin, I've not let their baggage affect my view - it doesn't sound much like anything either of them has done before and good on them for stepping out of their safety zone. It's a fun album, great to listen to and very danceable.

I'm guessing you'd call it "techno" and other reviewers have complained about it being samey and like other "techno" artists but so what? I've listen to a lot of techno over the years and find a lot of it very identikit and lacking in any real personality. Listen to some compilation mix albums and it's hard to tell where ends and begins.

So, ignore the fact it doesn't sound like DM or Erasure and enjoy it on its own merits, it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peak hour techno from synth pop stalwarts, 21 Mar. 2013
This review is from: SSSS (Audio CD)
I've been to a lot of clubs. I know what works on a floor. This is head down four am techno. Yes, it's repetitive, but that's the point, it's so you can get in the zone. This sort of music is all about texture and deepening levels of consciousness - getting bugged out on a freaky sound effect. This is quality throughout. Well produced from start to finish - you can tell they have some good equipment. I'd love to hear it on a thunder ridge sound system. It reminds me in places of Richie Hawtin. Yes, some of the sounds are a little retro, but it feels self referrential, like a nod to their haydays. Hawtin often throws in such sounds into his sets. On the flipside, some of the other grooves are bang up to date. Damn good going for some old boys! It would be even better if it was mixed. Stand out tracks are 'Bendy Bass' and the ironically titled 'Skip this track'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electro-genius !, 7 April 2012
This review is from: SSSS (Audio CD)
The collaboration of Martin gore and Vince Clarke is stunning. The evolution of the depth of electronic music makes me wonder what these two would have done together for the last 30 years after Speak & Spell.
Get this cd, you won't be disappointed ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Complex sound, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SSSS (Audio CD)
I love Depeche Mode and found this album to be a major departure from them. However, there is a real texture to the sound and is worth persevering with as it gets better with more listens. Sophisticated, unusual and layered. Like a fine wine, not to be rushed but worth savouring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars techno mode, 16 Oct. 2014
This review is from: SSSS [VINYL] (Audio CD)
Just amazing - I occasionally listen to techno and house and wouldn't call myself a expert and think the tunes are ten a penny - I souly bought this on the fact it had the depeche mode connection - and that Vince Clark is a established artist with probably one of the best arsnals of synths (the cabin) i knew this would be quality and I wasn't disapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Genius !!!!, 12 Mar. 2012
By 
Andre (TURRIFF, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SSSS (Audio CD)
What do you get when you put two Gods of electronica together - well - you get this.

I love this album, I mean truly LOVE it - and I've only heard it a few times.

This fits somewhere between Depeche and Kraftwerk - and it's just pure quality Electronica.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Two electronic pop heroes go techno, 16 Mar. 2012
By 
A. Pozsgai (Berlin, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: SSSS (Audio CD)
I have just listened through this album the second time and I'm enjoying it a lot! The album has a coherent sound to it, with just little hints of the two members pop groups.

I like the whole idea of the album: two of the electronic pop musics most successfull producers and songwriters, who happened to work together some twenty years ago, are toying around new tracks without the pressure of their established bands, and I can hear that they must have had hell a lot of fun creating this album!

As for musical reference, if I want to be harsh, I could say I can hear some early Trentemoller references, but honestly, the album stands for itself, it's a great listening and dancing techno album. I hope it freed both parties minds and that we will get even more open minded pop albums delivered for Depeche Mode and Erasure in the future.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars techno nirvana, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: SSSS (Audio CD)
im 41 years old have not been to techno club for over 11 years.but i always have and always will enjoy my love for electronic music.of course im a big depeche mode fan.so i gave this disc a try.to me it is techno throughout.i was lucky to enjoy one of the best techno clubs in the world in the mid 90s to early 2002 before its demise.of course the legendary the orbit in morley on the outskirts of leeds.the first track is my favourite,a track that sven vath would of played in his common 4 to 6 hours dj sets.some tracks people or critics say are retro or repetitive.i have bought in my younger years alot of vinyl techno and listened to alot more.you can listen to electronic music made 20years ago from the likes off kraftwerk,jean michel jarre,jeff mills,dave clarke and sven vath and it still sounds fresh today.techno is music made in the past,present and for the future. the sounds that make your brain think about the music and the dance moves you are creating(on the dancefloor or just in your head).a bold and brilliant album of two musicians old and wise enough and more creative than most techno and dance producers of today.close your eyes,listen to the music,and you will feel the passion that martin and vince had while making this album.and they were propably smiling too having created music that they have been wanting to do for years.enjoy like i have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

SSSS
SSSS by VCMG (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews