Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
13
4 star
7
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£9.37

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 March 2012
I wanted to understand what happened to the game in France and this book certainly filled in the gaps in my knowledge. It takes the reader through the hypocritical attitudes of the time and shows that the history of rugby in France is not a black and white story. Well worth a read for anyone who is interested in the oval ball game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
Before purchasing this book, I already new a little about this terrible injustice perpetrated by one code of rugby(union) against another code(league).This shameful episode has been conveniently forgotten by the union code and perhaps some in league dont realise what went on and certainly might not know about rugby union collaborating with the nazis in order to crush rugby league. A truly shameful episode,that I for one will never forget or forgive.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
I'm half way through reading this incredibly informative and interesting book and am loving it so far. The delivery was fantastic and the price was a bargain. I would recommend this book for anyone that has a passing interest in sports history or international rugby league.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2012
Mark Rylance has pieced together an important piece of sporting history that will interest any sports fan. Sometimes recording history can lead to a book that heavy on facts but light on narrative. In this case, the fascinating narrative comes through in all but one of its chapters (Chapter 7, I think it was, was laden with facts and results). Would it interest the non-sports fan? There's too much truth, in all its nuances, to excite the general public, but if you have an interest in sport, then it's well worth reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2013
Never realised the depth of feeling that league vs union could lead to such an episode in French history. Only took 2 goes to read and enjoyed every part.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 January 2013
a great book about a shameful subject. i really wish somebody else would write a book on the same subject as one book is not enough.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2014
Bought this as a present but I can't wait to read it myself.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2015
excellent book, my Dad was very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2015
Good bit of history on the subject.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 October 2014
Great read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)