Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!
For any lover of poems, this is a must have collection! It has such a wide variety of some of the best poems ever written that it makes enjoyable reading no matter what your mood.

The biggest names are all there from Frost to Yeats, Kipling to Heaney, Larkin to Thomas. Some of the poems are absolutely delightful such as The Diary of a Church Mouse and Stopping...
Published on 9 Nov. 2006 by Mr. D. Mullan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Poetry from England
A lot of this poetry would not appeal to me, but that is just my taste. I still go and pick something. I'm sure it would be very popular.
I like Griff Rhys Jones and his additional comments.
Published 3 months ago by Mary Kennedy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 9 Nov. 2006
By 
Mr. D. Mullan (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For any lover of poems, this is a must have collection! It has such a wide variety of some of the best poems ever written that it makes enjoyable reading no matter what your mood.

The biggest names are all there from Frost to Yeats, Kipling to Heaney, Larkin to Thomas. Some of the poems are absolutely delightful such as The Diary of a Church Mouse and Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Evening to the more thought provoking works like What If, Still I Rise, and Warning.

There is a poem for every occasion in here, poems that have endured the test of time and will be forever classics!

Declan Mullan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars poems for any aspect, 5 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
this book has a poem for every mood, and each one is as beautiful as the next. i picked this book up and i couldnt put it down as all off the poems are very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must have for anyone with a love of poetry, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nation's Favourite: Twentieth Century Poems (Kindle Edition)
A first class selection of twentieth century poems,all the great poets are there,as well as some of those who are lesser known. I would recommend this volume to anyone relatively new to poetry because there is a good mix of the serious and lighter material,nothing to " frighten"newcomers away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a fabulous collection of favourites, 29 July 2012
This review is from: The Nation's Favourite: Twentieth Century Poems (Kindle Edition)
A must have little anthology of well known and loved poems.

A great introduction for new readers.

A book I carry around with me because I can dip in to find words for the moment.

A great choice by the Great British public thank you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poetry from England, 22 Jan. 2015
By 
Mary Kennedy (Limerick Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nation's Favourite: Twentieth Century Poems (Kindle Edition)
A lot of this poetry would not appeal to me, but that is just my taste. I still go and pick something. I'm sure it would be very popular.
I like Griff Rhys Jones and his additional comments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy the Kindle version, 15 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nation's Favourite: Twentieth Century Poems (Kindle Edition)
The Kindle version is good as you can search the content, which is very handy when you can remember only a snippet. It is the nature of books of poetry books that you dip into them rather than cover to cover, so being portable is ideal.
Of course there are omissions you will think should be in there, but it would be an enormous book if it catered for everyone's esoteric tastes, which is why it has the word Favourite in the title. However, I'm sure there is more than a few people out there that think that if John Cooper-Clarke had more exposure he would be among the Favoured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good anthology of 20th poems. Much enjoyed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I already love the book, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
bought as a gift. I already love the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good compilation, 7 Mar. 2014
By 
tyger "jules" (north west england) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nation's Favourite: Twentieth Century Poems (Kindle Edition)
This poetry book is ideal for those new to poetry or for someone wanting to reread an old favourite. Good compilation of the classics and more contemporary poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Dec. 2014
By 
M. Reddy "mayred" (North East England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
My sister has enjoyed these poems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews