Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Track Listing- The Twang's the Thang, 10 April 2012
By 
Glenn Cook (South Cave, near Hull UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy (Audio CD)
This bargain set contains 107 songs in total over 4 CDs.

In those days albums could be very short at about 33minutes long in some cases.
There are six albums on this set along with 18 singles together with alternative versions so you really are getting a lot for your money.
True the fact that you get 2 albums on one Cd can be a pain for some people but the price and breath of this collection more than makes up for it.

Finally got a track listing!!

The six albums are
Have Twangy Guitar Will Travel,
Especially For You,
The Twangs' the Thang,
Duane Eddy Plays the Songs of Our Heritage,
$1,000,000 Worth of Twang
and
Girls! Girls! Girls!
The Track Listings are.

Track Listing
1. Lonesome Road
2. I Almost Lost My Mind
3. Rebel Rouser
4. Three 30 Blues
5. Cannonball
6. Lonely One, The
7. Detour
8. Stalkin'
9. Ramrod
10. Anytime
11. Moovin' 'N' Groovin'
12. Loving You
13. Peter Gunn
14. Only Child
15. Lover
16. Fuzz
17. Yep
18. Along the Navajo Trail
19. Just Because
20. Quiniela
21. Trouble In Mind
22. Tuxedo Junction
23. Hard Times
24. Along Came Linda
25. Soda Fountain Girl
26. I Want Some Lovin' Baby
27. My Blue Heaven
28. Tiger Love and Turnip Greens
29. Last Minute of Innocence, The
30. Route #1
31. You Are My Sunshine
32. St Louis Blues
33. Night Train To Memphis
34. Battle, The
35. Trambone
36. Blueberry Hill
37. Rebel Walk
38. Easy
39. Cripple Creek
40. Riddle Song
41. John Henry
42. Streets of Laredo
43. Prisoner's Song
44. In the Pines
45. Old Joe Clark
46. Wayfarin' Stranger
47. On Top of Old Smokey
48. Mule Train
49. Scarlet Ribbons
50. Up and Down
51. Walker, The
52. Mason Dixon Lion
53. Quiet Three, The
54. Bonnie Come Back
55. Because They're Young
56. Theme For Moon Children
57. Forty Miles of Bad Road
58. Some Kinda Earthquake
59. First Love, First Tears
60. Kommotion
61. Brenda - Medley (I Want to Be Wanted/That's All You Gotta Do/I'm Sorry)
62. Sioux City Sue
63. Tammy
64. Big 'Liza
65. Mary Ann
66. Annette
67. Tuesday
68. Sweet Cindy
69. Patricia
70. Mona Lisa
71. Connie
72. Carol
73. Lost Island
74. Shazam
75. Secret Seven, The
76. Pepe
77. Lost Friend
78. Theme From Dixie
79. Gidget Goes Hawaiian
80. Ring of Fire
81. Bobbie
82. Drivin' Home
83. Caravan, Pt. 1
84. Caravan, Pt. 2
85. Avenger, The
86. Londonderry Air
87. Pretty Jane
88. Want Me
89. Sing Em Some Blues
90. Still As the Night
91. Have Love Will Travel
92. Look At Me
93. Dear 53310761
94. Doowaddle
95. Need You
96. If I'm Wrong
97. Linda Lu
98. Girl On Death Row
99. Words Mean Nothing
100. Lonesome Road
101. Duane's Stroll
102. Some Kinda Earthquake [UK Version]
103. Three 30 Blues [7" Edit]
104. Yep [Canadian Version]
105. Battle [7" Edit], The
106. My Blue Heaven [7" Edit]
107. Ring of Fire [Soundtrack Version]

Guitar heaven, Enjoy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very nearly the ultimate, but . . ., 1 Jun 2012
By 
toad (London, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy (Audio CD)
On the face of it, the perfect package. They're all there, 100-plus tracks, and then some - including some forgettable vocal numbers by the likes of Mark Robinson and the Sharps. So why the dropped star? Least important, and it may only apply to the set I bought, is that the last two tracks just don't play. As they are a 7" edit of My Blue Heaven and the film soundtrack version of Ring of Fire, I wasn't too bothered. More irritating is the inexplicable version of Movin'n'Groovin'. The set opens with a straight run-through of the Twangy Guitar - Will Travel album, yet plays an alternative version of this track. Is it one of his re-recordings from the late '70s (which I usually manage to avoid) or some alternate take from the original session (late '57)? The sound is more transparent, which suggests a later recording. Again not too much of a grouse, as I have the regular version on many compilations (including the original US Jamie single) and this new one isn't bad. Tuxedo Junction, on the other hand, is the original recording, but with an alternative and very inferior overdubbed sax solo. Listen to the two, one after the other, and the difference is striking. Again, I have this track elsewhere on CD, as well as the original vinyl, so no big deal. So, am I grumbling over nothing? Probably. But collectors should know these things before they buy. Personal opinions aside on particular tracks (like the weak Girls! Girls! Girls! album), this is generally a stunning buy for silly money. The Girls album shows, incidentally, a great falling off in quality. That the guy who gave us Three-30 Blues could open an album with a Brenda Lee Medley was beyond belief. A bit like the 8 Classic Elvis albums in the same series including GI Blues . . . . Anyway, buy and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DUANE EDDY -- 6 CLASSIC ALBUMS + SINGLES + SESSION WORK, 8 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy (Audio CD)
WHAT A BRILLIANT COLLECTION, AND SO CHEAP TOO! THIS 4-CD PACK OF ALL OF DUANE'S EARLY WORK, NOW PRESUMABLY OUT OF COPYRIGHT, MUST BE THE BEST AND MOST COMPREHENSIVE EVER. ITS QUITE LITERALLY ALL THERE, DIGITALLY REMASTERED, ENHANCED AND IN SUPERB QUALITY. PLUS SEE ALL THE OTHER ARTISTS AND MADE REAVAILABLE IN A SIMILAR WAY, LISTED BY THIS LABEL KNOWN AS 'REAL GONE' (WASN'T THAT A QUOTE FROM AN EARLY MR. PRESLEY RECORDING?) REAL GONE INDEED! MY RECOMMENDATION IS TO CHECK EM ALL OUT! NOW I'LL BE SELLING ALL MY EARLIER PURCHASES OF DUANE'S WORK, AND MAYBE OTHERS TOO WHICH AREN'T QUITE UP TO THE SAME SCRATCH AS THIS...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Duane Eddy 6 Classic Albums plus, 14 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. S. Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy (Audio CD)
This must be one of the best packages ever, all the Jamie years and and more.For the money it is well worth the package deal.Lets have a look inside first off have twangy guitar will travel, as it should be apart from Movin&Grovin this comes from the Ronco sessions 1979. Espcially for you all stereo cuts one album is a favorite of mine.Twangs the Thang A part from two tracks they are played on the Danalectro (six string bass)some great cuts. Girls Girls Girls this one you either love or hate it classic Duane sound for me.Songs of our Heritage known as the first unpluged album, again some great tracks hear.$1.000.000 worth of twang all the hits plus well worth a listern to.CaravanPT1/PT2.this NOT Duane it is Al Casey, it came out on parlaphone in the 60,s with Duanes name on it is Not him.Duanes Stroll is by the Keymen.The vocals are Lee Hazelwood and Stanford Clark, Mirriam Johnson (Lonsome road) Nice to see YEP Canadian Version. This was on the Have twangy guitar will travel LP in Canada
Only. For pound for pound I brought two Lets see if they come out with the RCA LP,s rather sooner than later.So sit back and enjoy a peice of classic history twang.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Duane Eddy first 6 albums + singles, etc., 13 Aug 2012
By 
Terry H. Scarborough (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy (Audio CD)
It does what it said on the jewel case. It consists of the first 6 albums on 3 CDs all remastered, but album 5 was cropped to delete 4 tracks that had appeared earlier on other albums, $1,000,000 Worth Of Twang being a partial compilation. The 3 CDs each conclude with a number of tunes from singles, both sides being featured. CD 1 has a 1956 vocal single which would have been best forgotten. The 4th CD consists of 11 tracks trom singles and then descends into a substantial number of Session songs, lyrics sung by various other artists, with guitar support from Duane Eddy, all strictly for dedicated Duane Eddy collectors only, and concludes with a mopping up of various alternate takes for, e.g. the Canadian market.
Far and away the best CD is CD1, but CD3 is also good. On CD 2,Album 3 (The Twangs The Thang 1960)would have benefitted by the inclusion of the Write Up from the original vinyl record in a booklet, which tends to explain the background for each tune. Album 4 on CD 2 totally lacks 'Twang' and comrises a series of gutiar takes on well known US tunes, played in a normal register. Not my scene.
The only thing lacking was a booklet with the history of the recordings, a biography of the tunesmith and some nice photos; there was even a space in the 'fatbox' to accomodate one.
Value for money? Who can possibly complain? It is great value for money and puts all 6 Albums + into the collection for a pittance and with a great sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How wonderful to hear the sounds of this master once again ..., 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy (Audio CD)
How wonderful to hear the sounds of this master once again brings back so many happy memories, there is one thing though one of his best albums i had was in the 60's and I wonder if anyone can help me on this.
The album in question and was played with orchestral backing it is absolutely wonderful, Bali High was one of the themes,if anyone can help i would be so grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Duane Eddy, 8 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy (Audio CD)
memories of days gone by, one of my favourite instrumentalists. The others are the Vent and I have also bought their cds through Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent collection, 4 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy (Audio CD)
Duane Eddy fans will luxuriate in the sound of the "twangy guitar" spread over 6 original albums.

There are a lot of familiar tracks here but given the sheer number of recordings there are bound to be some unexpected pleasures for all but the most ardent admirer who has heard them all.

The last CD includes some strange vocal rarities on which our man is playing the backing - .not memorable but interesting curiosities.

Overall an excellent collection of Duane Eddy's work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nostalgia Plus, 28 April 2014
By 
Hiraethus o Gymru (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy (Audio CD)
I ordered this purely out of nostalgia. I remember Duane Eddy's sound from the days of my youth, and I actually saw him live around 1963. I was not in the slightest disappointed. Yes, the sound is dated by today's standards, and younger people would probably be scathing about it, but it took me back to the days of dirndle skirts and bobby socks etc when life was less stressful. I have been playing it in my car non-stop since it arrived. Duane was 21 when he recorded these numbers and he is now 75. I still have these on vinyl albums, but to have them on CD at this price is special. One of my friends has also bought this collection for the same reason and is enjoying it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A new take on twang, 27 Mar 2014
By 
R. A. Caton "Arcaton" (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy (Audio CD)
These reissues of early LPs across a smaller number of CDs offer a chance to examine an artists output - and these by Duane Eddy certainly demonstrate a wider repertoire than the twanging tones of "Because They're Young" and "Shazam"

This may suit some and may deter others - check out the contents before buying! I like it though....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy
6 Classic Albums Plus [Audio CD] Duane Eddy by Duane Eddy (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews