Customer Reviews


2,909 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,068)
4 star:
 (376)
3 star:
 (206)
2 star:
 (115)
1 star:
 (144)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars JB v JB; Better than QOS, not as good as Casino Royale
Yes, this is a review of the Blu-Ray/DVD/Digital Copy - which I purchased from Amazon. It was played on a Sony PS3.

When Bond's latest assignment in Turkey goes gravely and spectacularly wrong and agents around the world are exposed, the MI6 HQ in London is attacked forcing M to relocate the agency underground to Churchill's WW2 operating centre. These events...
Published on 3 Mar. 2013 by O E J

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Making Widgets
Even an old-timer like me has to admit that Daniel Craig's Bond is the best--okay, one of the two best--ever, so it's a real pity that his stint looks increasingly likely to end up a wasted opportunity. 'Skyfall' IS better than the dire 'Quantum', but not by nearly enough. The requisitely exciting pre-credit sequence is workmanlike rather than original (echoes of 'Casino...
Published 1 month ago by Mike Brecher


‹ Previous | 1239 240 241291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Third Bond Film is Always the Best., 4 Nov. 2012
By 
Ward-Minter (British Virgin Islands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
The third outing for a Bond (if they made it to three films) has historically been their best.

Connery - 'Goldfinger'
Moore - 'The Spy Who Loved Me'
Brosnan - 'The World is Not Enough'
Craig - 'Skyfall'

'Skyfall' is not only the best James Bond movie to date, it is possibly one of the greatest films ever made. Yes, you can get all arty farty and start quoting the classics such as 'Citizen Kane', 'Spartacus', 'Gone With the Wind', 'Sister Act 2 - Keeping up the Habit' and 'Lawrence of Arabia' but could you really watch these "classics" over and over again? The answer for many, and for myself, will be NO. I love the above films but they sit gathering dust in my collection to be honest. However, 'Skyfall' will be watched and watched and watched. I envisage I shall watch it every 6 months for the rest of my life - it really is that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 36 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst Bond film ever., 13 Mar. 2013
By 
Dave Austin "DJA" (London. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Absolute rubbish. Never expected to find a Bond movie boring, but this one was! You don't expect the plot of an 007 flick to be terribly credible; but this one struggled even to send itself up. Complete lack of originality; shallow one-dimensional characterisation - it was little more than an excuse for a series of stereotyped poses from unlikable characters, interspersed with random action sequences that struggled to contribute much if anything to a cohesive storyline.
In short, a complete waste of time and money. Cannot believe how such distinguished actors got themselves involved with such a complete car-crash.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 15 Oct. 2014
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
seen better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SkyBalls!, 3 July 2013
By 
Nomar G. Nillit "Mr. 27%" (Sodding Chipbury, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
The fact that 'SkyFall' is a shambolic, box-office over-performing, arse-dragger of a film, need no longer be discussed. We can all agree that's exactly what it is. Rabbit-in-the-headlights performances with stiff affectative dialogue delivery, a master plan lacking in interest or credibility, a story that affords little opportunity for action or excitement, and the colossal vacuous tedium that is Bond's traumatic childhood. The fun has been well-and-truly sucked out of 007, leaving a desiccated husk, devoid of anything that might compel us to come back again. If, in the final scene, M had handed over Bond's next mission document, and it read "Doctor No", thus bringing the whole sorry saga full circle, and therefore meaning we'd never have to watch another one of these damn movies EVER AGAIN(!), I might actually appreciate the significance of the fifty-year anniversary. But the threat remains the same as it ever was... James Bond Will Return.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disjointed, forced plot, laughable ending, 5 Mar. 2013
By 
Mr. Duncan G. Evans (Dorset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
PLEASE NOTE, CRITICISM OF THE FILM INVARIABLY CONTAINS DISCUSSION OF THE PLOT SO IF YOU DON'T WANT TO READ ANYTHING ABOUT IT, THEN DON'T.

I actually despair when I read comments from people about how good this film was. The first problem was that the plot was ludicrous. It relied on the villain knowing exactly how Bond would react in every circumstance, right down to the timing of how he would react. All Bond had to do was one thing differently, and the villain's plan would have come to naught. Aside from that, the actual set up of the plot was completely forced, artificial and disjointed. It played out like a poorly written script. I could almost hear the writer thinking, here's where this person will go, here's where that will happen. Not because those events would actually happen, but because that's how they'd been written. Presumably, this passed most people by because thinking about the plot would be too hard. The ending was the worst part of all. Bond is on home soil, surrounded by the military and espionage forces of a nation state, being persued by one bloke, a few cronies, and they have a helicopter. The entire, let's run up the motorway and get him to chase me to Scotland was utterly moronic and ludicrous. One soldier, with a surface-to-air missle, in a bush, and it's all over. Never mind ambushing them on the motorway, or having a couple of fighter planes come over, or have a few other agents with sniper rifles hidden away. Nope, don't both with any of that - which you would have the time to if you're driving up the motorway to Scotland from London! And here's the estate where James grew up. Fine, if this was in fact Sean Connery, but it's Daniel bloody Craig! Entirely forced and not just implausible in the way that Bond films require some suspension of disbelief, but just utterly stupid, cretinous and illogical.
Then we had the characters. The pointless eye-candy for the film poster in the section of the plot that did nothing and went nowhere except to facilitate a meeting. Talk about wooden plot devices. The villain was panto-standard and just laughable. Judy Dench was as bad as she has ever been in any of the films. Awful. The character who would become Miss Moneypenny? What was the point? If this was set in the past, then fine, but it's set in the here and now, so this was introducing a character that has been around for 50 odd years, as if she was new. It was written this way for fans of the originals, in the same way that JJ Abrams put in all those original film references into the Star Trek remake - to keep the fanboys happy. So, on to the Benedict Cumberbatch lookalike. Again, a walking cliche, but so badly done I thought I was watching Sherlock or Doctor Who.
The only person to come out of this with any credit was actually Daniel Craig himself, who was excellent as ever. His style for Bond is also great to watch. I just feel sorry that it had to be in three utterly rank films. So there you go. You may have loved Skyfall, in which case, enjoy. Unfortunately I found it to be so badly written, with such a poor plot and laughable characters that I rate it as the worst Bond film ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent, not amazing., 12 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Always annoying when the sequels can't rise to the first in the series. Same again here although the villain is much better than the last.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 25 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
v.Good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 12 April 2015
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 19 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Fab o!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 18 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Its OK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1239 240 241291 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy)
Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) by Sam Mendes (Blu-ray - 2013)
£16.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews