Customer Reviews


2,448 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,709)
4 star:
 (308)
3 star:
 (191)
2 star:
 (108)
1 star:
 (132)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good But A Little Overrated
This Review Contains Spoilers.

Skyfall.
Region 2.
Running time 137 minutes.
Ratio 16.9/2:40.1.

Special Features:
Title Sequence--Working Titles, Women--The Good, The Bad & the Beautiful, Locations--Licence To Travel, DB5--Behind the Wheel, Soundtrack Promotional Spot.

Positive.
1)Daniel Craig as James Bond you...
Published 13 months ago by Timelord007

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More holes in the plot than a broken colander
First of all we see the agency's improbably youthful and pretty sharpshooter being sternly ordered to take a shot at the bad guy that she simply doesn't have. I don't have a shot, she says, but all M barks in return is Take it anyway. So she does and, surprise, surprise, hits Bond who then falls hundreds of feet and sinks into the depths of a rushing river, only to...
Published 11 months ago by Julian Stevens


Most Helpful First | Newest First

125 of 159 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall, 15 Jan 2013
By 
R. Thomas "unreadable" (S Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
It's more like a traditional Bond than anything in years but is also nothing like any Bond film we've seen before. It has more invention in every scene than all of the 90s and 00s films put together and almost every set piece is as good as the parkour scene in Casino Royale. It's beautifully directed and really puts pretty much every Bond film ever to shame in that department, it's bloody hilarious while taking its subject matter completely seriously, and Daniel Craig IS Bond. It's like they looked at Quantum of Solice and thought "Yeah, you know that film nobody liked. Let's make the COMPLETE opposite of that".

There were so many wonderful moments. The entire opening teaser (I especially liked how it began with its own spin on the gunbarrel). The title sequence. The scenes of Bond trying to cope living on an island and trying to recapture the thrill of his job with the scorpion drinking games. The reveal that Bond didn't pass the tests but M took him back anyway. The scene in Shanghai where Bond grabs onto the bottom of a flipping lift as it's going up and then witnesses an assassination and gets into in a punch-up in the shadows, all against the surreal backdrop of the reflected Shanghai skyline. The Q-Branch scene which brings back all the sorely missed elements of Bond and Q's relationship yet still feels like a completely new take on the character (certainly more than Cleese). The casino scene complete with a dangerous pit with a man-eating Kimodo Dragon (slightly dodgy CGI aside), which contains the great moment where the underwhelming isomorphically-controlled gun turned out to work just as well as any of Q's gadgets should. Silva's island, a brilliant spin on the classic Bond Villain Lair with considerably more creepy undertones due to the whole ghost-town vibe. The introduction of Silva himself. ("What makes you think this is my first time?"). The twisted shooting contest between Bond and Silva. "It's from Q-Branch. It's called a radio". Silva taking his jaw out. The moment where Q realises he's been had. The whole Tube chase, which was my favourite bit of the film and full of so many wonderful little moments that I'm not even going to bother listing them. The rather sinister scene where Silva strolls into the courtroom dressed as a policeman a starts shooting the place up, which is made even creepier once Bond shoots out the fire extinguishers. The DB5. The DB5! I actually clapped in the cinema when it turned up. That's a way to acknowledge the past with for the Anniversary without going into fanwank overdrive like Die Another Day, and I loved that the ejector seat was confined to a knowing little gag. The assault on the house, as a small army rounds on an old building containing three people with a couple of shotguns; it's got a bare-bones, nothing-but-me-and-the-elements feel to it but still manages to feel like an inventive Bondish action scene (my personal favourite moment being M's light-fitting bombs). "I hated this place!" The fact that the epic climax of the film which Bond has to stop is simply one raving man running across a field after an elderly woman, yet it still manages to feel epic and climactic due to the hellish glaze it's seen through.

I loved every minute of the film, it just felt right - it felt Bond. Casino Royale was a great film, but I don't think any part of it besides the Parkour chase and "That last hand... it nearly killed me" made me grin like Skyfall did. It's got that intangible quality that only a Bond film can have, but without any of the sameyness that pervades even some of my favourites in the series.

The Bond series is in a good place. I genuinely can't wait to see what Craig, Harris, Whishaw and Fiennes get up to next. It feels like Bond is back, back where he should be. But at the same time, I don't think the franchise has ever felt so new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Different Film, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Not the usual bond film,but very clever and intriguing.superb plot and great action and stunning scenery,as it was set in Scotland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as CR but 100 times better than QOS, 18 Feb 2013
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
I saw Skyfall 3 times at the pictures and the big difference between watching it there and in your living room is the light. It sounds funny but you cannot watch this during the day (unless you have blackout curtains). A lot of the locations are shot at night and unless you watch it with very low lighting in the room you'll be struggling to make out what's happening. That said, its a great film. I don't agree with all the "Best Bond Film Ever" quotes, that honour goes to Casino Royale as it made everyone look at 007 in a different way after years of cheesy one liners, gadgets and unbelievable storylines. Lets hope they make the next one soon before DC gets past his prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best intro to a bond movie ever......, 31 Dec 2012
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
I know not everyone will agree with this but I have never been more impressed with any bond intro then Skyfall. I went to see Skyfall on the day of release in the UK and the cinema was totally packed out. I really enjoyed the movie, it had a good plot and the action was brilliant. The intro just stood out completely for me, the way the opening scene transcended to the intro just blew me away. The Skyfall theme by Adele was fantastic aswell, it just came together really well and seeing it in the cinema just enhanced it even more. It usually takes a lot for me to be impressed when I go to the movies and this has to be by far the best movie I've seen this year (especially after seeing that DREADFUL paranormal activity 4 ;) I am definately pre-ordering this and for anyone who hasn't seen this, BUY IT, you won't regret it, but I know there are a few bond fans who will think Casino Royale is better, you might spend the rest of your life debating that question but will see how good the next movie is. Five stars ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great follow-up to the new series, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Daniel Craig back at his best with a great screenplay full of twists and turns with lack of trust and skeletons in the cupboard disturbing the structure of MI5.

If you weren't sure about Quantum of Solace, retry the series with this spectacular followup.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall dvd, 2 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
After watching this dvd I feel this is one of the best Bond films I have seen, bags of action a good story and the film sequences are excellent I wont spoil it but there is all sorts twists on both sides which one would not expect. On the whole Iloved the film and intend to get blu ray copy of it in due course. I highly recommend it for anyone who likes Bond and his hype that goes with the films buy it and enjoy. D Bowen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Bonds, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Brilliant addition to the franchise - very 'back to basics' for Bond and darker than most of the earlier films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 85 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Daniel Craig's Best Bond Movie, 18 Dec 2012
By 
Mrs. Marilyn A. Rice "RR" (sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
With the impressive "Casino royale" to the disappointing "Quantum of solace", Daniel Craig's third outing as James Bond in "Skyfall" is probably his best. The reason why this is his best is because the movie has a great storyline, there is the entertaining bond theme tune, impressive nasty performance from Javier Bardem, comic performance from Ben Whishaw as Q and last but not least the classic Aston Martin DB5 which was used in "Goldfinger", which makes this an origianl old school bond film. Also the action sequences are very entertaining such as the sequence when Bond is chasing after bad guy Raoul Silver in the London underground and the action sequence towards the end which takes place in Bonds house which he was brought up. Sam Mendes who directed some great films such as "American beauty" and "Road to perdition" does a wonderful job in directing this movie. Spainish actor Javier Bardem does a superb performance as the nasty Raoul Silver who steals every scene he's in. It was also good to see Q in this movie which Ben Whishaw done a very good performance as the geeky gadget man and this is unbelievably the first Daniel Craig Bond movie to have Q in it. If you are a fan of James Bond then this movie is well worth watching and I would give it 8/10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall, 10 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) (Blu-ray)
Definitely one for the Bond followers. A great movie full of thrills with Daniel Craig at his best. Action is fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TAKE THE SHOT, 19 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
An unknown bad guy (Javier Bardem) has obtained the list of all NATO nation covert operatives working inside terrorist cells. As he threatens to release them, an aged Bond (Daniel Craig) who appears to have lost a step, must go to Shanghai and appear in the obligatory casino scene and attempt to get back the computer file. This feature has the standard Bond lines, killer title track, sensual scenes, over the top chase action, as well as a return to Bond's roots.

Judi Dench as "M" was superb. Adele singing the title track, who else? The Bond series has kept up with the times as expected and leaves sequel possibilities open. Good action flick, although I do not consider this to be the best Bond film ever or even close. It lacked the fun gag names that makes for great spoofs, but did use Silva, the name of our bad guy from the urban dictionary: Silvas are typically the most handsome men one will ever come across in person. A silva is a strong, sexy, and successful individual that doesn't need anyone but himself.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb, sensual scenes that implied sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy)
Skyfall (Blu-ray + DVD + Digital Copy) by Sam Mendes (Blu-ray - 2013)
14.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews