Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars3,313
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 March 2013
After the shockingly awful Quantum Of Solace, this film really was a welcome return to form. I am certainly glad I celebrated this fact by buying this limited edition steelbook.

It feels absolutely gorgeous in the hand, and the artwork on both the outside and the inside really feels very special.

Yes, there are no extra features over the regular blu-ray, but you really don't care after you've held this for the first time. The digital copy works well in both my Android phone and my iPod.

I only really have two bugbears about this product - the more serious of which is the DVD. It is the American format (NTSC), so if you were really hoping to utilise this extra disc, check that this DVD works in your DVD players. However, this is also true of the regular blu-ray. My other gripe is very minor - it would just be really nice to know how limited the production of this fantastic product is, and therefore how rare it is.

However, that's a very minor concern. Neither of these issues should stop you buying this - such a great film should be celebrated, and these limited edition steelbooks are going out of stock fairly quickly - grab one while you can!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is a stunning film, definately bond at its best and Daniel Craig is excellent in the role and removes any past questions of his suitability for the role.

Judi Dench is a triumph, she deserved an oscar for her acting, marvelous!

Don't watch the extras first, just watch the film, don't spoil it.

After watching this I just felt so happy and elated, this is true bond, its action packed, stunning cinematography, stunning locations, great script, great acting, fantastic effects, classy, stylish, rich, sumptuous, all those good words.

I think you could easily say, I loved every minute of it.

I only take issue with the list of extras, I feel these are probably part of the film, not extras as such. If you look at extras on the menu there are precious few compared with the list online. Don't let that put you off though.

I also think triple play's are a waste of time, why don't they just call them, give the DVD to a mate? Lets face it lots of people will and surely that hurts sales, so I never understand why they do it. Who wants a DVD when you have Blu-Ray? Make the digital copy a download and ditch the DVD, stupid idea.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 December 2014
Good film at an excellent price. I ordered this on pre-order and it came a day before the agreed date so an excellent service and a great bond film.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2013
Lauded by many critics as the best Bond film ever, Skyfall is less action-packed and more profound than most of 007's other adventures. A much simpler story too - the main plot features a former MI6 spy Tiago Rodriguez (a.k.a. Silva played by Javier Bardem) betrayed by M (Dame Judi Dench) who returns years later to avenge his former boss with 007 (Daniel Craig) trying to protect her. In fact, the last quarter of the film contains little more than the three leads at a remote Scottish location in an excellent climax.

The previous quarter of the film, refreshingly, features an inventive, contemporary chase around London rather than the more exotic locations of yore. More traditional Bond fans aren't forgotten however with much of the first half containing the old fashioned spy charming and risking his way around the world.

Something for everyone then though a much more cohesive plot than most of the other films in the franchise and fine performances by the now fully established Craig, Dench and Bardem in the lead roles.

Action-packed and intelligent. The best Bond movie ever? - the critics may be right!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2013
Living in New Zealand, Amazon UK is a Godsend for cheap(er) Blu ray films and, in this case a release date some four weeks prior to the official NZ release.

One of the reasons I purchased this 3 - version copy was to load up the digital version to my ipad. The packaging assures me 'This film plays everywhere', prominently displaying both the Android and iTunes logos.

But... inserting the DVD containing the digital loading instructions for iTunes and unique access code, I was soon stuck. The error message read. 'This code only valid for the UK & Ireland.

I emailed the supplied helpline at Fox Digital. Not correct, they said, the code will work globally.

Talk to Apple.

Apple confirm...this code is not valid for New Zealand, talk to Fox.

So despite the movie itself being the the most dramatic and gritty of all the Bond movies to date, and the fact it did actually load fine onto Windows Media Player (which still isn't on ipad!), I can only reluctantly give it a 4 star rating thanks to the misleading (and obviously not thoroughly tested!) digital copy debacle.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2013
I saw Skyfall 3 times at the pictures and the big difference between watching it there and in your living room is the light. It sounds funny but you cannot watch this during the day (unless you have blackout curtains). A lot of the locations are shot at night and unless you watch it with very low lighting in the room you'll be struggling to make out what's happening. That said, its a great film. I don't agree with all the "Best Bond Film Ever" quotes, that honour goes to Casino Royale as it made everyone look at 007 in a different way after years of cheesy one liners, gadgets and unbelievable storylines. Lets hope they make the next one soon before DC gets past his prime.
11 comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2013
What can you say about James Bond that hasn't been said? This is probably my second favourite of the Bond movies, after Golden Eye and all of the others, apart from the best forgotten Moore chapters. Sorry Roger but you were good as the Saint. Let's leave it there shall we, (..and perhaps you should have done...?)
There are so many references to the Connery days and even some Brosnan moments...A delight because it strips away all of the flim-flammery that was beginning to overwhelm the stories, prior to Daniel jumping into the role through the train window, and puts Bond back in he driving seat, literally. Everything comes back...the car, the Walther, the old oak panelled office, 'M' wearing braces, the naval paintings, even the hat stand..! Is Daniel going to wear a trilby in the next one, because that's all it would need to bring this straight back to the original...having him loft his hat onto the pegs again. How cool would that be...!? A classic Bond and full of hidden references but ....do pay attention!
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2015
I must admit, when I first saw this film at the cinema I was marginally entertained and felt the series had gotten somewhat back on track after the dismal 'Quantum of Solace'. However, after subsequent viewings on the home media format - its faults become all too glaring and the po-faced demeanour the film wallows in with its high gloss veneer masquerading as grand mythos, fail to hide a dull(ish) actioner that jettisons all of the good work from 'Casino Royale' in a lazy attempt to reclaim past glories of the franchise...

The ''story'' has the least secret of agents in the world, James Bond (a returning, worse for wear cross between Sid James and an Orc - Daniel Craig) on assignment in Istanbul with fellow field agent Eve (Naomie Harris) looking for a stolen hard drive containing details of undercover agents placed in terrorist organisations. However, things go a little Pete Tong when she accidently shoots James, forcing him into an watery grave... This leads to a rather nasty turn of events with the undercover agents exposed, MI6 being attacked and M (Judi Dench) forced to relocate the agency. Luckily for us, Bond isn't brown bread after all, and between bouts of ''I'm too old for this s&%t'', he's gone all Carry on Abroad and straight onto the villain's tail - namely a camp, bleach blonde dufus called Silva (Javier Bardem), a tragic man from M's past who wants to settle an old score.

Director Sam Mendes tries hard to make a statement with this film and is clearly ashamed he's actually making one of those silly, popcorn movies (unlike previous helmer Martin Campbell who can seemingly direct these things in his sleep). With poetic dialogue, overly composed cinematography and long winded moments of pondering that attempts to deepen the 007 mythos, but ultimately just makes it a little bit boring instead. Granted, Craig is a very good leading man and his piercing blue eyes indicate a troubled, disconnected Bond - but with his monotone delivery and lack of humor, he too becomes tiresome by the midway mark. A great actor, yes but as 007 he always looks slightly uncomfortable to me... To be honest, the story is also very slight that its hard to actually care, but Mende's pompous way of approaching the material almost tricks you into thinking something deeper is going on... but, its really not. Luckily, supporting cast members, Harris, Dench, Ben Wishaw and a splendid Ralph Fiennes do keep the British end up - allowing Craig to do his thing, but the less said about Javier Bardem the better. Le Chiffre or 'Red' Grant he ain't.

The Blu-Ray is of the usual high standard that we come to expect from the Bond movies: Stunning transfer with dynamite audio, and a plethora of extra features round out a great package. I really wanted to give this a five star rating (as Craig's debut was one of the finest in the series) but it doesn't stand up to repeated viewings, say like others in the franchise - with the less said about the protracted 'McGuyver/Home Alone' siege that takes up the final third of the movie, the better. All in all, an okay ride but unlike the box office and critic proclamations, its not up there with all time greats 'On Her Majesty's Secret Service' or 'From Russia With Love'... A good time for sure and worthy of a watch (it is Bond after all), but the downward slide from the superior 'Casino Royale' seems to worryingly continue...
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Honestly hated this movie so much it was unreal... Many people say I'm crazy for this, but this isn't your James Bond I know and love and just can't see Daniel Craig in this role
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2015
Probably my favourite of all four Daniel Craig films, and his are my favourite of all the Bond incarnations too, as I prefer the Bourne-style genre to the rather dated other ones. Of course people will never agree, my Dad is in his 70s and despises Craig, citing Connery as The Bond (don't get me started on that subject, I will bore you all!)...
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)