Customer Reviews


2,928 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,083)
4 star:
 (379)
3 star:
 (207)
2 star:
 (115)
1 star:
 (144)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Bond Thriller
(This Review Contains Spoilers).

Skyfall (DVD)
Region 2
Ratio: 16:9/2.40:1
Audio: 5.1 Dolby Digital
Certificate: 12
Running time 137 Minutes

Special Features:
- Title Sequence--Working Titles
- Women--The Good, The Bad & the Beautiful
- Locations--Licence To Travel
- DB5--Behind the Wheel
- Soundtrack...
Published 23 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SKYFAIL
Even though never did I warm up to the choice of Daniel Graig as the next Bond (I still think Clive Owen would had been a better fit - and he would probably have the good sense to stay away from...botox), I had to admit that Casino Royale was an excellent Bond film. With all the explosive and seductive sequences and all its gadgets (and product placement) one would...
Published on 11 Nov. 2012 by NeuroSplicer


‹ Previous | 1 2293 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Bond Thriller, 24 Jun. 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
(This Review Contains Spoilers).

Skyfall (DVD)
Region 2
Ratio: 16:9/2.40:1
Audio: 5.1 Dolby Digital
Certificate: 12
Running time 137 Minutes

Special Features:
- Title Sequence--Working Titles
- Women--The Good, The Bad & the Beautiful
- Locations--Licence To Travel
- DB5--Behind the Wheel
- Soundtrack Promotional Spot

Positive.
1)Daniel Craig as James Bond you wouldn't want to take on his portrayal of 007 in a fight.
2)Javier Bardem As Silva at last a decent Bond villian to match Daniel Craig's James Bond.
3)Excellent action sequences directed by Sam Mendes.

Negative.
1)Silvas death is a complete cop out ending, An off camera knife in the back by 007 is a poor way to kill off a good villian.
2)Gunbarrel sequence again at the end of the movie instead of the begining why?

Cast.
Daniel Craig as James Bond 007.
Judi Dench as M, the head of MI6
Javier Bardem as Raoul Silva
Ralph Fiennes as Gareth Mallory
Naomie Harris as Eve Moneypenny
Bérénice Lim Marlohe as Sévérine
Albert Finney as Kincade
Ben Whishaw as Q
Rory Kinnear as Bill Tanner, the MI6 Chief of Staff
Ola Rapace as Patrice

Trivia.
1)Ralph Fiennes is the 4th actor to play the part of "M", Bernard Lee, Robert Brown & Judi Dench being the other 3 actor's.
2)Naomi Harris is the 4th actress to play Miss Moneypenny, Lois Maxwell, Caroline Bliss & Samantha Bond being the other 3 actresses.
3)Skyfall marks a third consecutive different version of Daniel Craigs Gunbarrel sequence.
4)Judi Dench 7th consecutive apperance as "M".
5)This is only the second time 007 gets shot in the franchise the other movie he's shot in is Thunderball.

Whats The Story.
When one MI6 hard disc with the identities of NATO's agents is stolen, James Bond chases the agent through Istanbul with the support of the local field agent Eve.
'M' orders Eve to shoot the agent on the top of a train, but she misses the target & hits 007 who falls in a river & is presumed dead.

When M's computer is hacked, the MI6 building is blown-up & the agency moves to an ancient bunker that belonged to Churchill, Then five MI6 agents have their identities exposed a& three of them are executed as M has her authority and procedure questioned by her superior Gareth Mallory.

Out of the blue, 007 reappears from the shadows & hunts down those responsible for the theft of the HD, Bond reaches Severine and uses her to find the responsible for the actions, the former top-notch MI6 agent Tiago Rodriguez, a.k.a. Silva, who had been betrayed by M & now is seeking out revenge against the veteran leader of the MI6 leaving Bond theonly one who can protect her as he takes 'M' to his old childhood home of Skyfall in Scotland as Bond decides to set traps as he awaits the sinister Silva in a final confrontation were only one will emerge victorious.

Timelord Thoughts.
Skyfall sees Daniel Craig deliver a James Bond film that is closer to the Ian Fleming novels with his hard steely edge & a strong moral code of ethics to do his job to the best of his ability & delivers another wonderful performance by making his 007 slightly fallible.

Sam Mendes direction is solid & grasps the darker aspects of MI6, but the film hits a dull patch with its occasional slow pacing, while theres a couple of issues I wish the producers had addressed.

1)Gunbarrel sequence, this is iconic to the Bond franchise but none of the Daniel Craig Gunbarrels have done any justice to the 3 Bond movies he's appeared in & feel tagged on like the previous 2 movies like a afterthought.

So please the Broccoli's return this iconic image back to the beginning of the film were it belongs.

2)Silvas death, Is a poor way for a good Bond villian to go out.

An off camera knife in the back via 007 is a very very bad way to kill off a exellent villian, Just what was the Broccolis thinking allowing this cop out ending.

What merits the film is Daniel Craig's wonderful performance as James Bond that is closer to the Ian Fleming novels with his hard steely edge & a strong moral code of ethics to do his job to the best of his ability, yet can be slightly fallible.

Judi Dench gives another excellent performance as 'M' in her final Bond movie while actor Javier Bardem is superb as the Villain Silva who gives the role a chilling unhinged insane edge.

The action sequences are much better in this film especially the opening sequence as you can see what's going on unlike the choppy quick cuts of Quantum Of Solace were i hadn't a clue what was happening half the time.

All in all a excellent Bond film with just a few minor niggles here & there.

Timelord Rating.
7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, ending is a bit weak though, 14 April 2013
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable film as usual excellent opening action sequence. Craig is good and adds the intensity that many like to the Bond role. (he's starting to look a bit older here though)
I do think the film could have been trimmed down a bit or tightened up sequence wise. After the opening there is a bit too much non Bond stuff going on for my tastes, I've no problems with a bit of exploration and talking stuff... some call it getting to know the characters. You could chop 25-30 minutes off this and it would be improved for it.

1 hour and 7 mins in we finally see Javier Bardem, ala Silva the disgruntled ex agent complete with a nice blonde dye job (it does make him very unusual and menacing looking) Javier is superb as the bad guy in this film his presence is felt in every scene he is in (some humorous moments too "oooh Mr Bond chair scene is memorable!). It's just a shame we have to wait this long to get to him.

This Bond film is thin on the gadgets, and some say the better for it. I've no issues with the back to basics take, or the non rule the world plot. Yes it does make a change to have an ex agent theme for this movie. There are some good sequences, but for me it's only when Silva arrives we really get stuck into things (and that's a good half way into the movie). Ending wise I though a little bit basic for me. And the pace of the movie felt too stretched out; as above a good trip to the cutting room would have helped in a lot of ways.

Overall I enjoyed it and surprisingly for a Bond film it does benefit from a second viewing. For me a 4/5 film one of the better Bond movies..but die hard gadget and all action Bond fans might not appreciate the more leisurely pace of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars SKYFAIL, 11 Nov. 2012
By 
NeuroSplicer (Freeside, in geosynchronous orbit) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Even though never did I warm up to the choice of Daniel Graig as the next Bond (I still think Clive Owen would had been a better fit - and he would probably have the good sense to stay away from...botox), I had to admit that Casino Royale was an excellent Bond film. With all the explosive and seductive sequences and all its gadgets (and product placement) one would expect. It was great, solid entertainment.

Then came Quantum of Solace and it turned out to be little more than a patchwork of all the leftovers from Casino. As a coda, it had its uses. As a new film, it would not be missed. Little did I know how the future held an even greater disappointment.

I was truly hyped to watch SKYFALL. All the critics praised it and all the buzz was how Mendes managed to revive and, at the same time, humanize Bond. He did not. He did not even try.

The film suffers from a number of shortcomings. The script is weaker than milk and water trying to pass as English tea. Javier does a decent job portraying an albino(?) villain, if not a bit caricaturish. It is the script that make him look incompetent though.
Would you hire a world renown surgeon to clip your nails? How about a champion fisherman to catch fish you already have in a barrel? Well, this supervillain hires a top assassin to snipe at a man who is already surrounded by his men.
If in the post 9/11 world, you somehow managed to get your hands on a military helicopter, would you not remember to equip it with a couple of rockets not to have to rely on its puny machine gun?
And would you endanger your freedom and even your survival in order to kill the person you hate - if you could kill them (and watch them suffer) half a world away by pressing a button? Well, he does exactly that. More than once.

Even then, MI6 is portrayed as even more incompetent. For such a rabid foe was amassing fortune, recruiting henchmen and organizing for years - without MI6 ever wising up to him. And would you ditch your company car because "they are all bugged" - only to try to get away undetected with yet another fully equipped...company car?

Nevertheless, these are not why the latest Bond film fails. Even if realism was the direction recently taken, when was any Bond film able to hold up to such scrutiny? No, the film fails because it is not fun to watch. Most of the action in the film takes place before the opening credits. After that, it is all looks and silences and word association. And, contrary to other Bond films, I could not care less about anything going on on the screen.

This semblance of a story unfolds in a staccato sequence of locations, each resembling an episode shot at a different set. There is neither continuity nor coherence. At the beginning, someone steals an MI6 NOC list in Turkey (I will not even ask what was such a list doing outside the vault and into the field!) and halfway through the movie everyone forgets about it! Who cares about all these deep agents, lets save the snotty aristocrat, is their thinking? Sadly, if you have seen the trailer, you have seen all there is to see in this film.

I am afraid they destroyed more than the classic DB5 with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Making Widgets, 6 April 2015
By 
Mike Brecher (London & New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Even an old-timer like me has to admit that Daniel Craig's Bond is the best--okay, one of the two best--ever, so it's a real pity that his stint looks increasingly likely to end up a wasted opportunity. 'Skyfall' IS better than the dire 'Quantum', but not by nearly enough. The requisitely exciting pre-credit sequence is workmanlike rather than original (echoes of 'Casino Royale') and leads into one of the least interesting theme songs of the entire series.The next hour features plotting that is downright tedious, dialogue that falls flat time and again. Things pick up a bit with Javier Bardem, but his villainous characterisation starts and ends with a bottle-blond hairdo and a foppy voice--hardly a classic. The storyline that develops following his arrival has more to it than the decades of plotless Bonds that preceded Craig, but a few moments' thought will make you realize that it has more holes than it takes to fill the Albert Hall, The climax is fumbled. They supposedly waited for Sam Mendes to be available to direct 'Spectre'; on this showing, they needn't have bothered.

With 'Skyfall' having been the highest-grosser in the franchise, the producers probably see no reason to learn the lesson taught by 'Casino Royale': that even action movies benefit from a plot and good writing. But so long as they don't, they'll have a business that makes money out of widgets, not films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Ready To Sat GoodBy, 2 April 2013
By 
prisrob "pris," (New England USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
"Those who live outside the city walls, and are self sufficient, are either Gods or Beasts". Aristotle

You know the feeling you get,when you read the first paragraph of a book and you know instantly, this is a book you don't want to put down? It is so good, that one paragraph, that you are hooked, line and sinker. .That is the feeling I get with every Denise Mina book. I don't know if I want to start it, because I don't want it to end. Yes, that's the feeling.

This is the third novel featuring Detective Superintendent Alex Morrow. The first two novels were superb, but this one was even better. The only complaint, it was too short, I needed more. In this novel there are three stories that seem separate, but all come together in the end. A man is shot in a post office, his four year old grandson with him, and the man waiting in line behind the man takes the boy under cover as the shots rang out. We follow politician, Kenny Gallagher, as he fights allegations of sexual affairs. And, we meet several policemen who find themselves involved in graft, taking money from the criminals they are employed to find. All of these stories are so well executed and the characters come to life, jump right off the page.

All this time DS Morrow is trying to do her job and care for her four month old twins. Dad has become the home daddy, but DS Morrow has the shifts from 2am - 6 am. Not much sleep, but lots of joy. DS Morrow is running the shop and doing her best to gain respect from her crew. She has a lot to handle, but she is the most ethical and moral of the lot. Her brother,Danny, is one of the biggest crooks in Glasgow. DS Morrow was vetted well, it took three or more months, but she passed with flying colors.

I relished this novel, everything about it was terrific. The political story of Glasgow and the punks and criminals that are intertwined give us a feel for the city. This is a tremendous effort, gritty,authentic and unpredictable. Not for the faint of heart, but Denise Mina leaves us with a ray of hope.

Highly Recommended. prisrob 02-26-13
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JB v JB - Better than QOS, not as good as Casino Royale, 3 Mar. 2013
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, this is a review of the Blu-Ray/DVD/Digital Copy - which I purchased from Amazon. It was played on a Sony PS3.

When Bond's latest assignment in Turkey goes gravely and spectacularly wrong and agents around the world are exposed, the MI6 HQ in London is attacked forcing M to relocate the agency underground to Churchill's WW2 operating centre. These events cause her authority and position to be challenged by Gareth Mallory (Ralph Fiennes), the new Chairman of the Intelligence and Security Committee. With MI6 now compromised from both inside and out, M is left with one ally she can trust: Bond. 007 takes to the shadows - aided only by field agent, Eve (Naomie Harris) - following a trail to the mysterious Silva (Javier Bardem), whose lethal and hidden motives have yet to reveal themselves.

Well, thankfully this is a complete change of direction, style and concept after the rather disappointing Quantum of Solace. I expected a good film with Sam Mendes at the helm and I got it; I must admit that it took a while to really pick up speed and in many ways Javier Bardem is the catalyst for rescuing something that was teetering on mediocrity before he appears halfway through, with (up until then) a rather wooden script and not-always-funny one-liners. But save it he did, and now looking back on it I can see that this Bond outing has something of a style all its own and could even be regarded as yet another 'clean-slate' re-start, something that I reckon the franchise needed after the previous film. This was a must-win match, and it has done that. There's a lot of high-quality action stunts (not least the 'death of 007') and it's only when I went through all the extras afterwards that I realised how much there was and what good value you get for your money. As a Blu-ray film it's well up to standard and seems to get better and better as it reaches its conclusion. The audio soundtrack is also worthy of a mention, although once again the second half of the film seems better than the first.

Although it's not exactly a criticism of the film, I was rather disappointed to see how much Daniel Craig seems to have aged since Casino Royale. He's got a bit baggy under the eyes and although he's still in excellent shape, he doesn't look quite as lethal in the hand-to-hand combat department. It could well be that Mendes wanted to make Bond look and feel more vulnerable; I would have preferred to have seen Bond (played by Daniel Craig) back in bulletproof nick as he appeared first time out seven years ago.

As a Bond film though this one hits the money and the best part of it, perhaps, is that it rarely feels recycled or old-hat. Despite the fact that this is the 23rd ('official') Bond film there is plenty to enjoy here and it's lengthy conclusion is pleasingly old-school with very little in the way of high-tech widgetry - indeed Sam Mendes said the denouement could have been filmed in 1962, complete with the iconic 60s Aston Martin. Action spans the globe as usual, starting off in Turkey, and after a spell in London we cross the planet to Shanghai and Macau before repatriating to the UK - including a memorable ending in Scotland.

The extras are lengthy and fullsome, with many of the best action sequences 'explained' with narratives by the director, leading actors and writers. There's definite value here, and of course this is one of the most obvious benefits of having the DVD/BD as opposed to seeing it at the cinema (which I did not do). Subtitle options include English, Spanish, Danish, Finnish, Italian, Norwegian, Swedish and four or five others which to be honest I cannot translate. There is also the option to watch the film with a running commentary by Sam Mendes (in numerous languages), as well as by the producers Barbara Broccoli and Michael Wilson. Apart from English audio dts-HD Master Audio 5.1 there is another option for English Descriptive Audio 5.1; the film can also be listened to in French (although there are no French subtitles), as well as Spanish, Italian, and two other languages that again I cannot transalte with any certainty - the closest I can copy them here is PYCCKNN and YKPAIHCbKA. I haven't timed the length of the extras but they could well run for an hour.

In the end, although this film wouldn't be the same without Daniel Craig - he's the perfect contemporary Bond and he does a lot of the stunts himself - I think Javier Bardem as the baddie plays just as big a part in making it the success that it is and he's the ideal foil for a slightly vulnerable 007. There are plenty of 'wow' inducing stunts although the one described in the extras as the 'piece de resistance' - the underground train crash - was less than 100% convincing and I reckon quite a bit of it was edited out - I hate to think of the cost of this relative to screen time, which was barely 30 seconds.

There's no doubt in my mind though that this is a Blu-ray/DVD worth buying, it's certain to be seen more than once and it's suitable for anyone over the age of 12 I would say, in keeping with its certificate; obviously there's death on view but little or none of it is likely to disturb or shock, there is almost no nudity and what little sex I remember lasted about three seconds and was not graphic in any way. There are a few expletives, but little that is likely to offend.

Skyfall does have its weak points, as I have mentioned, but in spite of them the film still works and thanks in no small part to Bardem as the villain the finished product is quite memorable; ultimately it's not as exciting as Casino Royale but it's so different in style that comparisons are somewhat meaningless. I've only seen it the one time so far but I have a feeling that I'll like it more second and third time round.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, completes my collection so far, 24 Dec. 2014
By 
M. Fowler (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Great film, completes my collection so far, very techy content but still enjoyable. No so many corny but funny quips as the earlier films with Sean Connery and Roger Moore. The action is well done with brilliant sets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent picture and sound quality. And Daniel Craig!, 27 Jan. 2015
By 
A. S. Gilbert (Nottingham) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
I knew this film would be on TV eventually but watching it on DVD means you can pause it when you like. The picture quality is excellent as is the sound, the latter being rather poor at the cinema but perfectly OK on the DVD.

Just one thing to watch out for, the price quoted says it includes postage on orders over £10. My total Amazon order that day came to well over £10- but I was still charged postage for this item albeit not a lot. I didn't bother to chase this up but if it bothers you at least you know now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good film at an excellent price, 23 Dec. 2014
By 
J. F. Naylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Good film at an excellent price. I ordered this on pre-order and it came a day before the agreed date so an excellent service and a great bond film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not as good as CR but 100 times better than QOS, 18 Feb. 2013
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
I saw Skyfall 3 times at the pictures and the big difference between watching it there and in your living room is the light. It sounds funny but you cannot watch this during the day (unless you have blackout curtains). A lot of the locations are shot at night and unless you watch it with very low lighting in the room you'll be struggling to make out what's happening. That said, its a great film. I don't agree with all the "Best Bond Film Ever" quotes, that honour goes to Casino Royale as it made everyone look at 007 in a different way after years of cheesy one liners, gadgets and unbelievable storylines. Lets hope they make the next one soon before DC gets past his prime.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2293 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skyfall [DVD]
Skyfall [DVD] by Sam Mendes (DVD - 2013)
£9.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews