Customer Reviews


2,697 Reviews
5 star:
 (1,894)
4 star:
 (349)
3 star:
 (205)
2 star:
 (112)
1 star:
 (137)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Bond Film
(This Review Contains Spoilers).

Skyfall (DVD)
Region 2.
Running time 137 minutes.
Ratio 16.9/2:40.1.
Certification: 12a.

Special Features:
Title Sequence--Working Titles, Women--The Good, The Bad & the Beautiful, Locations--Licence To Travel, DB5--Behind the Wheel, Soundtrack Promotional Spot.

Positive...
Published 18 months ago by Timelord-007

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT the best Bond movie ever, but not the worst
Being an avid Bond fan, I bought this excellent Steelbook version of Skyfall, even though I was disappointed with the film at the cinema. The film itself is sometimes excellent, sometimes awful and sometimes messy in terms of plot. The Steelbook blu-ray + DVD + Digital pack, however, is very very nice and good value.
Published 20 months ago by seizeseptember


‹ Previous | 1 2270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Solid Bond Film, 24 Jun 2013
By 
Timelord-007 (The Eccentric Wanderer) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
(This Review Contains Spoilers).

Skyfall (DVD)
Region 2.
Running time 137 minutes.
Ratio 16.9/2:40.1.
Certification: 12a.

Special Features:
Title Sequence--Working Titles, Women--The Good, The Bad & the Beautiful, Locations--Licence To Travel, DB5--Behind the Wheel, Soundtrack Promotional Spot.

Positive.
1)Daniel Craig as James Bond you wouldn't want to take on his portrayal of 007 in a fight.
2)Javier Bardem As Silva at last a decent Bond villian to match Daniel Craig's James Bond.
3)Exellent action sequences directed by Sam Mendes.

Negative.
1)Silvas death is a complete cop out ending, An off camera knife in the back by 007 is a poor way to kill off a good villian.
2)Gunbarrel sequence again at the end of the movie instead of the begining why?

Trivia.
1)Ralph Fiennes is the 4th actor to play the part of "M", Bernard Lee, Robert Brown & Judi Dench being the other 3 actor's.
2)Naomi Harris is the 4th actress to play Miss Moneypenny, Lois Maxwell, Caroline Bliss & Samantha Bond being the other 3 actresses.
3)Skyfall marks a third consecutive different version of Daniel Craigs Gunbarrel sequence.
4)Judi Dench 7th consecutive apperance as "M".
5)This is only the second time 007 gets shot in the franchise the other movie he's shot in is Thunderball.

Whats The Story.
When one MI6 hard disc with the identities of NATO's agents is stolen, James Bond chases the agent through Istanbul with the support of the local field agent Eve.
'M' orders Eve to shoot the agent on the top of a train, but she misses the target & hits 007 who falls in a river & is presumed dead.

When M's computer is hacked, the MI6 building is blown-up & the agency moves to an ancient bunker that belonged to Churchill, Then five MI6 agents have their identities exposed a& three of them are executed as M has her authority and procedure questioned by her superior Gareth Mallory.

Out of the blue, 007 reappears from the shadows & hunts down those responsible for the theft of the HD, Bond reaches Severine and uses her to find the responsible for the actions, the former top-notch MI6 agent Tiago Rodriguez, a.k.a. Silva, who had been betrayed by M & now is seeking out revenge against the veteran leader of the MI6 leaving Bond theonly one who can protect her as he takes 'M' to his old childhood home of Skyfall in Scotland as Bond decides to set traps as he awaits the sinister Silva in a final confrontation were only one will emerge victorious.

Craig delivers a James Bond that is closer to the Ian Fleming novels with his hard steely edge & a strong moral code of ethics to do his job to the best of his ability, Daniel Craig delivers another wonderful performance making his 007 slightly fallible.

Timelord Thoughts.
A entertaining Bond film but has it's flaws.

1)Gunbarrel sequence, This is iconic to he Bond franchise but non of the Daniel Craig Gunbarrels have done any justice to the 3 Bond movies he's appeared in, Tagged on to the previous 2 films like a afterthought.

So please the Broccoli's return this iconic image back to the beginning of the film were it belongs.

2)Silvas death, Is a poor way for a good Bond villian to go out.

An off camera knife in the back via 007 is a very very bad way to kill off a exellent villian, Just what was the Broccolis thinking allowing this cop out ending.

What merits the film is Daniel Craig's wonderful performance as James Bond that is closer to the Ian Fleming novels with his hard steely edge & a strong moral code of ethics to do his job to the best of his ability, yet can be slightly fallible.

Judi Dench gives another excellent performance as 'M' in her final Bond movie while actor Javier Bardem is superb as the Villain Silva who gives the role a chilling unhinged insane edge.

The action sequences are much better in this film especially the opening sequence as you can see what's going on unlike the choppy quick cuts of Quantum Of Solace were i hadn't a clue what was happening half the time.

All in all a excellent Bond film with just a few minor niggles here & there.

Timelord Rating.
8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Definitely NOT the best Bond movie ever, but not the worst, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Being an avid Bond fan, I bought this excellent Steelbook version of Skyfall, even though I was disappointed with the film at the cinema. The film itself is sometimes excellent, sometimes awful and sometimes messy in terms of plot. The Steelbook blu-ray + DVD + Digital pack, however, is very very nice and good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'ENTERTAINING 007 PRESENTATION' (GREAT PERFORMANCES FROM BOTH 'DANIEL CRAIG AND JUDI DENCH'), 23 Feb 2013
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skyfall [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
'James' is given an assignment despite failing the fitness and reaction tests.
When M16 is attacked and the department re-locates, 'James' is really the
only 00 available, and the only person 'M' feels she can rely upon, as the
agency is compromised from within and beyond.
007 finds himself pitted against the ever mysterious 'Silva'(Javier Bardem)
Again great action, super gadgets, and great stunts, as always making it again
superb entertainment.
Great performances from 'Judi Dench' as 'M' and 'Daniel Craig' growing into
the 'Bond' role superbly.
Maybe not quite the equal of the brilliant 'Casino Royal' however still a must
for '007' fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected but the ending is a bit weak, 14 April 2013
By 
Mr Baz - See all my reviews
(#1 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Enjoyable film as usual excellent opening action sequence. Craig is good and adds the intensity that many like to the Bond role. (he's starting to look a bit older here though)
I do think the film could have been trimmed down a bit or tightened up sequence wise. After the opening there is a bit too much non Bond stuff going on for my tastes, I've no problems with a bit of exploration and talking stuff... some call it getting to know the characters. You could chop 25-30 minutes off this and it would be improved for it.

1 hour and 7 mins in we finally see Javier Bardem, ala Silva the disgruntled ex agent complete with a nice blonde dye job (it does make him very unusual and menacing looking) Javier is superb as the bad guy in this film his presence is felt in every scene he is in (some humorous moments too "oooh Mr Bond chair scene is memorable!). It's just a shame we have to wait this long to get to him.

This Bond film is thin on the gadgets, and some say the better for it. I've no issues with the back to basics take, or the non rule the world plot. Yes it does make a change to have an ex agent theme for this movie. There are some good sequences, but for me it's only when Silva arrives we really get stuck into things (and that's a good half way into the movie). Ending wise I though a little bit basic for me. And the pace of the movie felt too stretched out; as above a good trip to the cutting room would have helped in a lot of ways.

Overall I enjoyed it and surprisingly for a Bond film it does benefit from a second viewing. For me a 4/5 film one of the better Bond movies..but die hard gadget and all action Bond fans might not appreciate the more leisurely pace of the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the better Bonds, 27 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant addition to the franchise - very 'back to basics' for Bond and darker than most of the earlier films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 16 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not a complete Bond fan, but this was really good viewing. It didn't seem to have as many of the typical Bond "gizmos" which was actually quite refreshing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars its ok - not great, 16 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
needed it to ckeep my 007 collection complete - film plot is poor tho
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TAKE THE SHOT, 19 May 2013
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
An unknown bad guy (Javier Bardem) has obtained the list of all NATO nation covert operatives working inside terrorist cells. As he threatens to release them, an aged Bond (Daniel Craig) who appears to have lost a step, must go to Shanghai and appear in the obligatory casino scene and attempt to get back the computer file. This feature has the standard Bond lines, killer title track, sensual scenes, over the top chase action, as well as a return to Bond's roots.

Judi Dench as "M" was superb. Adele singing the title track, who else? The Bond series has kept up with the times as expected and leaves sequel possibilities open. Good action flick, although I do not consider this to be the best Bond film ever or even close. It lacked the fun gag names that makes for great spoofs, but did use Silva, the name of our bad guy from the urban dictionary: Silvas are typically the most handsome men one will ever come across in person. A silva is a strong, sexy, and successful individual that doesn't need anyone but himself.

Parental Guide: 1 f-bomb, sensual scenes that implied sex, no nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 160 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Skyfall, 15 Jan 2013
By 
R. Thomas "unreadable" (S Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
It's more like a traditional Bond than anything in years but is also nothing like any Bond film we've seen before. It has more invention in every scene than all of the 90s and 00s films put together and almost every set piece is as good as the parkour scene in Casino Royale. It's beautifully directed and really puts pretty much every Bond film ever to shame in that department, it's bloody hilarious while taking its subject matter completely seriously, and Daniel Craig IS Bond. It's like they looked at Quantum of Solice and thought "Yeah, you know that film nobody liked. Let's make the COMPLETE opposite of that".

There were so many wonderful moments. The entire opening teaser (I especially liked how it began with its own spin on the gunbarrel). The title sequence. The scenes of Bond trying to cope living on an island and trying to recapture the thrill of his job with the scorpion drinking games. The reveal that Bond didn't pass the tests but M took him back anyway. The scene in Shanghai where Bond grabs onto the bottom of a flipping lift as it's going up and then witnesses an assassination and gets into in a punch-up in the shadows, all against the surreal backdrop of the reflected Shanghai skyline. The Q-Branch scene which brings back all the sorely missed elements of Bond and Q's relationship yet still feels like a completely new take on the character (certainly more than Cleese). The casino scene complete with a dangerous pit with a man-eating Kimodo Dragon (slightly dodgy CGI aside), which contains the great moment where the underwhelming isomorphically-controlled gun turned out to work just as well as any of Q's gadgets should. Silva's island, a brilliant spin on the classic Bond Villain Lair with considerably more creepy undertones due to the whole ghost-town vibe. The introduction of Silva himself. ("What makes you think this is my first time?"). The twisted shooting contest between Bond and Silva. "It's from Q-Branch. It's called a radio". Silva taking his jaw out. The moment where Q realises he's been had. The whole Tube chase, which was my favourite bit of the film and full of so many wonderful little moments that I'm not even going to bother listing them. The rather sinister scene where Silva strolls into the courtroom dressed as a policeman a starts shooting the place up, which is made even creepier once Bond shoots out the fire extinguishers. The DB5. The DB5! I actually clapped in the cinema when it turned up. That's a way to acknowledge the past with for the Anniversary without going into fanwank overdrive like Die Another Day, and I loved that the ejector seat was confined to a knowing little gag. The assault on the house, as a small army rounds on an old building containing three people with a couple of shotguns; it's got a bare-bones, nothing-but-me-and-the-elements feel to it but still manages to feel like an inventive Bondish action scene (my personal favourite moment being M's light-fitting bombs). "I hated this place!" The fact that the epic climax of the film which Bond has to stop is simply one raving man running across a field after an elderly woman, yet it still manages to feel epic and climactic due to the hellish glaze it's seen through.

I loved every minute of the film, it just felt right - it felt Bond. Casino Royale was a great film, but I don't think any part of it besides the Parkour chase and "That last hand... it nearly killed me" made me grin like Skyfall did. It's got that intangible quality that only a Bond film can have, but without any of the sameyness that pervades even some of my favourites in the series.

The Bond series is in a good place. I genuinely can't wait to see what Craig, Harris, Whishaw and Fiennes get up to next. It feels like Bond is back, back where he should be. But at the same time, I don't think the franchise has ever felt so new.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars twisting plot, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Skyfall [DVD] (DVD)
Dramatic chases and CGI images make a dramatic story, Daniel Craig continues to be a good Bond.Javier Bardem is a superb villain but the story didn't grip me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Skyfall [DVD]
Skyfall [DVD] by Sam Mendes (DVD - 2013)
£10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews