Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, vivid, courageous, compassionate...
Many memoirs have been written during the last hundred years by resourceful, heroic individuals who managed to escape persecution in different parts of the world. Every such story deserves to be told, but few of us have time to read all of them. Edith Sollohub's memoir stands out because she was endowed with a variety of gifts that are not often found together. Not...
Published on 21 Mar 2010 by R. H. Chandler

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and educational
I felt it was interesting in its content but a bit drawn out in some of the descriptions. A good read
Published 19 months ago by Maggie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intelligent, vivid, courageous, compassionate..., 21 Mar 2010
By 
R. H. Chandler (London England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Many memoirs have been written during the last hundred years by resourceful, heroic individuals who managed to escape persecution in different parts of the world. Every such story deserves to be told, but few of us have time to read all of them. Edith Sollohub's memoir stands out because she was endowed with a variety of gifts that are not often found together. Not only was she uncommonly intelligent and courageous, not only was she gifted with an insight that enabled her to make the right choice in countless situations where the wrong choice would have meant death, but she also had the ability to write vividly and with understanding about all the many people, from very different walks of life, whom she encountered during her journey through post-revolutionary Russia. And here is what she writes about her own feelings as, during the Soviet-Polish War of 1920, she prepares to escape into Polish-controlled territory: `Once more I have to say my lines with ease, calm and assurance. But the lines I have to say are in no book, no author wrote them for me, no older actor taught me how to move on this stage where everything is irrevocable, where there is no second chance, where every word and every move are so deadly dangerous.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escape from Social Revolution, 26 Sep 2010
Initially 'The Russian Countess' provides a fascinating description of upper class life in Russia shortly before the revolution. In some respects, nanny included, this is not dissimilar to a contemporaneous childhood in England, but rather colder and more sledges.However with the arrival of the Bolsheviks things take a turn for the worse and a gripping account of Countess Sollohub's flight from Russia to be reunited with her children in Latvia concludes the second half of the book.

The sequence of events was compiled from diaries bequeathed to the Countess' children. They have been sympathetically interpreted to provide a flowing narrative which is part social history, and given the nature of the escape from Russia an exciting adventure story which keeps the reader engrossed until the end.

A compelling book from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that needs to be read!, 4 Jan 2011
By 
Dr. R. J. Ligthelm (Rotterdam, ZH Netherlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I could not put the book down. I found the first part on aristocratic life before the first World War slightly tedious (read a lot on this topic already) and not so inspired. Then with the start of the War this lady comes into her right and turns out te be a tough cookie. From that moment on the book had me absolutely in its clutches. One of the most spellbinding descriptions of life during the revolution and in the wake of it. It is on a par with the beautifull diaries by Anna Mandelstam, and that is meant as a great compliment to the Countess Sollahub.
The way she describes the bonding that still arose in these terrible times between people from all walks of life, is deeply moving and inspiring. A book to read for anyone who still believes that good can come from these type of revolutions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fascinating personal account of extraordinary courage and suffering., 30 Jan 2014
By 
Macc Lass "Macc Lass" (Macclesfield, Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Countess: Escaping Revolutionary Russia (Kindle Edition)
After reading Nicholas and Alexander I enjoyed this interesting easy to read and understand account of a young woman's early life of privilege in pre revolutionary Russia. Her bravery and determination to unite her family following the revolution brings history to life and makes one realise how difficult it was simply to survive the danger, famine and deathly cold of a Russian winter whilst avoiding the ever present Cheka and fanatical Bolsheviks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant!, 10 Jan 2014
By 
jane austen (The Netherlands) - See all my reviews
I loved this book, it's written so well, with eye for detail and wit. It was of course a sad book, but nevertheless you feel the author is always having faith, when you
as a reader have lost yours...incredible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for dissertation, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I'm using this book as a primary source for my dissertation; and it's helped me beyond belief. She's vividly detailed and you really get a sense of the transgression of the Russian aristocracy before, and after, the 1917 revolution.Great for students and general readers. It's an easy read as well which I liked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Interesting and educational, 22 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Russian Countess: Escaping Revolutionary Russia (Kindle Edition)
I felt it was interesting in its content but a bit drawn out in some of the descriptions. A good read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb account from the Countess, 29 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After almost 45 years of hardly reading a book all the way through I have over the past 5 years become a compulsive reader especially true accounts from individuals who have suffered hardships beyond what most individuals in this century would never be able to cope with, this includes soldiers as well as civilians, I was a soldier for almost 29 years and thought I have witnessed hardships but to be honest these were nothing like how the Russians suffered in the early part of the 20th Century.
I loved this book albeit a bit slow to start with it soon builds up and describes the hardships that a woman of high class society soon fell into when Russian nationalism took over in the early 20th Century, it is not a posh womans complaint of what happened to her and her family it actually delivers the hardships of all who came into contact with the Countess even though they were unaware of who she actually was, selfless, strength of person, commitment and loyalty to find her children and those who helped her, there must have been loads of these high society individuals who would have given up or been executed but this woman is the complete package. I'm so glad that I opened my eyes to books like this you will not be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Escaping the Cheka, 27 Sep 2010
By 
Janet Gillam - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A fascinating first hand account of life before, during and after the Russian revolution by a feisty and resourceful aristocrat who managed to escape the soviet regime and rejoin the three young sons she had sent to safety.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Russian Countess, 7 Aug 2010
By 
H. B. Wienand (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Superbly well written - one finishes reading with the feeling of having been in contact with a wonderful human being. Reminds me strongly of the memoirs of Madame de la Tour du Pin, which is also powerfully evocative of the life and times of its author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews