Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Older women deserve our respect
I heard my mum and grandma talking about this book and decided to read it. They were laughing at parts of the book, especially when it came to the advice they got from magazines. Some of the stories are sad but the women who tell them are all so different - some of them really made me laugh. After reading it I've learned to appreciate good health care, but also to respect...
Published on 15 Nov 2007 by Girl Reader

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Story of childbirth in our Grandmothers day
Really good read we think it painful today but our grandmothers just had to get on with it. Each story is brilliantly told.
Published 15 months ago by Anna Welch


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Quick boil some water, 29 May 2014
By 
Mrs. L. Melville "Lynda Melville" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day: Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
I found this book interesting in parts but to me it was much of a muchness and got a little boring, not what I expected at all, to me it was not a story more of a diary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A glimpse into the reality of childbirth and midwifery for our mothers, 24 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day: Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
Yvonne Barlow explains the history of childbirth, midwifery and medical interventions through the ages up until the 1960s through vignettes of various mother's first hand experiences.
A well written and well researched book for those wishing to gain an historical perspective of childbirth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, 6 Feb 2014
By 
Nicola Falvey (wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day: Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
Can't believe what women had to go through years ago! How lucky we are today, some lovely as well as sad stories though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Different, 31 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day: Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
Not what I expected. But wow! How lucky we are now a days. It's a miracle any mother & baby survived.!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quick boil some water, 11 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day: Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
Interesting, thought rendering , the story of birth in less well informed times
but could have more medical details in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars raw reality,, 2 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day: Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
Raw insight to childbirth down the decades. Goes to show how the nhs has developed and greatly improved, good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Worth a read!, 30 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day: Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed it, read it quickly,wanted to get onto the next chapter....Would be a good read for anyone who likes maternity and " call the midwife" type scenarios!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More a lesson in social history, 17 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day: Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
How times have changed , I have enjoyed reading this book but it tends to stray away from what the title promises it is like a pre, post war history lesson ,the end is also very abrupt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Period piece, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day: Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
Interesting view on the way it was to give birth, and how we have moved on medically and socially, not as much fun as Call the Midwife, but and enjoyable read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Times have changed thank goodness, 28 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quick Boil Some Water: The Story of Childbirth in our Grandmother's Day: Volume 1 (Kindle Edition)
The book is an interesting insight into how childbirth used to be not all that long ago. It gives accounts from many different women of how they were treated by midwives and doctors during their confinement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews