Customer Reviews


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hendrix's Magnum Opus is in the classic Pantheon of the Great
The third album from The Jimi Hendrix Experience was released in 1968 and, more than 40 years on, justifiably finds its place in most people's top ten greatest rock albums of all time.

However the fame/notoriety of EL doesn't really do it justice: to realise just how ground-breaking and innovative this project was, how revolutionary in concept and execution,...
Published on 24 July 2011 by The Guardian

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A ten star album in one star presentation
Electric Ladyland is one of Jimi Hendrix' great achievements and one of the greatest albums of all time...

But this edition is dreadful, with poor sound, the ''distorted ladies' album cover which Jimi hated and the truly stupid track layout of sides one and four on the first CD and sides two and three on the second. What was Polydor thinking?

I...
Published on 24 Jan 2012 by Geoffrey Millar


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hendrix's Magnum Opus is in the classic Pantheon of the Great, 24 July 2011
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (Audio CD)
The third album from The Jimi Hendrix Experience was released in 1968 and, more than 40 years on, justifiably finds its place in most people's top ten greatest rock albums of all time.

However the fame/notoriety of EL doesn't really do it justice: to realise just how ground-breaking and innovative this project was, how revolutionary in concept and execution, you need to listen to it against other music from the period. Hendrix re-defined what could be done with the electric guitar and his excellent song-writing, experimentation with sound and uniquely creative lyrics offer a rewarding experience to anyone interested in the evolution of modern music.

The original 2-disk album had 16 tracks of varying length (of course on the vinyl - the only format available until the 1980s - this meant four `sides' of music). The running order chosen by Jimi and put out on release was:

Side 1
1. And the Gods Made Love
2. Have you ever been to Electric Ladyland?
3. Cross Town Traffic
4. Voodoo Chile (the long, bluesy version)

Side 2
1. Little Miss Strange (composed by Noel Redding)
2. Long Hot Summer Night
3. Come on (let the good times roll)
4. Gypsy Eyes
5. Burning of the Midnight Lamp

Side 3
1. Rainy Day, Dream Away
2. 1983: A Merman I should turn to be...
3. Moon, turn the Tides

Side 4
1. Still Raining, still Dreaming
2. House Burning Down
3. All along the Watchtower (Jimi's seminal and definitive version of Bob Dylan's original song)
4. Voodoo Chile slight return (the 5-minute full-on version with that famous intro)

Now, this album contains everything: first-class electric blues (`Voodoo Chile'); experimental soundscape (`And the Gods...', `Moon turn the Tides'); gospel-derived/choral-driven ballads (`Long Hot Summer Night', `Burning of the Midnight Lamp'); crisply executed danceable rock (`Cross Town Traffic', `Come On', `Gypsy Eyes'); extended, spaced-out experiment in psychedelia (`1983...' listen to Pink Floyd's `Echoes' from 1971 and speculate where the inspiration came from); the powerful and mind-expanding (`VCSL'); a first-class hit single in an unusual minor key inspiring a shiver-down-the-spine feel (`All along the Watchtower').

Hendrix was a virtuoso musician and a visionary, never afraid to experiment with the new. Here on EL, in one timeless project, you have it all. His guitar style, frequently imitated, has never really been equalled: he was a one-off, a fountain of creativity cut off in his prime.

Now you have several versions of EL to choose from. The main choice is between:

1. The original 2-disc set from Polydor with sides 1&4 on one disc and 2&3 on the other, as with the 1968 vinyl release (however because of the CD format you'll hear sides 1&4 run together, then 2&3 on the second disc which doesn't work so well when listening to the whole work). This version has the original nude cover art, which you might feel worth having if you care for authenticity (though of course it's not the astounding 24" x 12" size of the vinyl cover)

2. The `Authorised Hendrix Family Edition' with its tell-tale yellow and purple rectangular sticker, which claims to be `digitally remastered' but it's hard to tell the difference in sound quality - in fact to these ears, there is virtually no difference. Here you get the whole album on one disk with the correct 1-2-3-4 running order as originally intended, plus a DVD of questionable value titled `An Inside Look' and a few photos of the trio relaxing. You'll likely pay a bit more for this version, as the royalties go to the extended family (all three of the JHE are now deceased, Mitchell as recently as 2008, and Jimi had no known children to inherit anything)

3. Or you can download it, track by track

So, take your pick. But regardless of which version you choose, if you care about the history of rock music and want the classic and the best in your collection, you should buy `Electric Ladyland.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 40th Anniversary edition, 9 Jan 2009
Most people will know about Jimi's classic Electric Ladyland album but I would imagine that many are more interested in the DVD content. Its not the Classic Album DVD but a new documentary, circa 90 minutes long with archive footage, and interviews from different eras with the main protagonists in the Jimi Hendrix Story. Some of the Classic Album footage is within the content but there's enough of interest to make getting this collectors edition worthwhile, in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars How do you play guitar like this?, 24 Aug 2014
By 
Thomas Naish (staffs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (Audio CD)
I was 12. After badgering my Mum she'd bought me a cheap Spanish Acoustic guitar for my birthday. I'd driven the family mad plinking away at the damn thing, but had mastered some basic chords and a couple of easy songs. Then my brother, then 18, came home with a copy of this album; with its original cover of 19 naked women on it. Teenage male hormones beginning to assert themselves in me, I took an interest in said album cover. Further inspection showed it to be a double album. Never one to do things in order I put on side 4 first. 'Well! Hello!' a wah wah guitar perfectly intoned. What! I was hooked. The up beat but still laid back funk of Still Raining, Still Dreaming gave way to House Burning Down with wonderful fills and impeccable soundpainting throughout (especially Jimi's wonderful giant boat from space landing with eerie grace). Next up was all Along The Watchtower, and to wrap it all up Voodoo Chile (Slight Return) that was, and still remains utterly astounding. How was guitar playing like this possible? I soon learnt that everyone has always asked the same question since late1966.
This is Jimi's magnum opus. If Are You Experienced, Axid Bold as Love, The Woodstock Star Spangled Banner, that killer live version of Johhny B Goode from Berkeley; if none of those existed but this did, he would still be considered the most gifted musician ever to pick up the electric guitar.
If you're used to modern heavy metal with often somewhat scary looking gentlemen performing feats of considerable technical skill on the guitar but haven't heard any Hendrix, give this a go. This is what happens when technical mastery and limitless musical imagination combine. Our scary looking gentlemen might be technical skilled, but often lack in imagination - this is what true guitar genius sounds like. And do you think thrash metal can sound angry? Ah well, try the aforementioned Voodoo Chile (Slight Return), the guitar is so threatening it tattoos itself onto your audio memory! Just as Beethoven turned music into his own, personal language in his late quartets and piano sonatas so too does Hendrix on this album with the guitar. He was and still remains utterly unique.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (MP3 Download)
Possibly the greatest psychedelic rock album ever by possibly the greatest rock guitarist ever! This album is pretty much required listening for anyone who loves music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 24 Feb 2013
By 
I. Morgan (Chelmsford , Angleterre) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (MP3 Download)
Once you bypass the nonsense surrounding the cover and concentrate on the music you realise why JH was such an inspiration to S McBride and J Mayer . one also gets an idea of where JH was heading - blues/jazz/funk? Played in his inimitable style. Guitarists will appreciate the tone colours that SRV talks about. The tracks are all so well known nowadays even used in tv commercials. For someone who loathed his own voice, often asking for it to eclipsed by the music , the vocals are indeed surprisingly good. Double tracked and falsetto on one track. This is an essential ingredient for anyone who loves electric guitar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product for audiophile palates, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (Audio CD)
Excellent CD of one of the mythical Experience's recordings. The Polydor version adds the taste of the original recording without modern "adjustments". Very good quality but raw sound as expected for this kind of recordings. "All alone the watchtower" is a supreme piece of Dylan's art coloured by Hendrix's force. Wonderful. A good option for those interested in audiophile aspects of Hendrix's art. This fact and the original viny-style cover makes this Hendrix's record one of the best options on the digital domain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric Ladyland, 23 Sep 2012
By 
C. Bovingdon "Soundhaze" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Electric Ladyland (MP3 Download)
Every time I hear this album, I hear something new!
Upon recently rediscovering "Electric Ladyland", I find many, if not most of the tracks could have been released anytime within the last 40 years! It seems ironic though, that the recording techniques used, to give a sci-fi/modern theme, ie varispeed, tape reversal etc, actually date the tracks on which its used!
This was Jimi's third album and the first to use outside musicians. "Long Hot Summer Night" contains some fantastic piano by Al Kooper, and great backing vocals by Jimi, providing a great gospel vibe to the whole track. Jimi's rhythm guitar absolutely shines. Jack Casady (Jefferson Airplane) provides Bass, and Steve Windwood (Traffic) Organ, to "Voodoo Chile" Mike Finnigan and Buddy Miles provide Organ and Drums to "Rainy Day Dream Away/ Still Raining Still Dreaming. Chris Wood and Dave Mason, both of "Traffic" are also on the album, providing Flute and Guitar. Even Brian Jones (The Rolling Stones) manages to add Percussion to "All Along The Watchtower".
I can very highly recommend this absolute classic. Try it with headphones for a true 60s Experience!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If Jimi were a car mechanic, I'd watch him fix my car, 30 Jan 2012
By 
Vic Templar (St leonards, East Sussex) - See all my reviews
This latest incarnation of Electric Ladyland (it is unclear whether this is a new remastering or not) comes with a DVD of the 1997 Classic Albums documentary, expanded to 85 minutes (around twice the length of the televised version).
That the album is a masterpiece is not in question. That it, along with Sgt Pepper, heralded the-way-that-an-album-should-be-made lends it a slightly dubious legacy to those who favour the get-it-down-quick approach to rock'n'roll.
The documentary consists of Ladyland engineer Eddie Kramer revisiting the original 8-track tapes song by song at a mixing desk. The bearded, pony-tailed Kramer does a good job of hosting the piece, though his resemblance to Eric Idle's character from The Rutles is uncanny. The usual suspects are interviewed, including Mitchell, Redding, Chandler, Winwood, Dave Mason, Buddy Miles and Jack Casady (clutching the most beautiful gold-coloured semi-acoustic Gibson bass guitar).
The film, however, gives insight into the necessity of this new, time-evaporating approach in this particular instance with this particular genius. Kramer sheds light on the painstaking but innovative experimentation Jimi took to get the sound exactly how he envisioned; the mandolin effect on `Burning of the Midnight Lamp'; the comb kazoo on Crosstown Traffic. He highlights Jimi's virtuosity; arranging and layering multiple vocal and guitar tracks to make, well, beautiful timeless music.
We know that the sessions were full of hangers-on, which pissed-off both Noel and Chas, who, with hilarious Geordie logic, observes that "if you were a car mechanic you wouldn't take your friends along to watch you fix a car."
The film's gem, for me, is a hauntingly beautiful unreleased demo of `Gypsy Eyes', with a completely different melody and structure from the finished version.
The booklet is disappointing; its photos are of varying quality, and accompanied by Derek Taylor's stream of (hippy) consciousness. Of great interest, however, are Jimi's handwritten instructions for the album's artwork. Jimi hated the cover. The naked ladies were the work of Lambert and Stamp.
There can scarce be a Hendrix fan/rock music fan who doesn't know this album. Whether you'll want to fork out for it yet again depends just how Experienced you are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mercurial Hendrix Album In A Great Package, 17 Mar 2010
By 
Garry B Grove "G B Grove" (Rugby, Warwickshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What more can be said about this mercurial Jimi Hendrix Album that hasn't already been expressed already, so to refer to this package, it's truly excellent!
The twinning with an extended version of the "Making of DVD" with the benchmark album itself makes it an inspired insight into the music and how it was originally put together with great contributions from Eddie Kramer, Steve Winwood, Mitch Mitchell, Noel Redding to name but a few of the faces providing the context here.If you are planning to buy a CD copy of the album then this is the one to go for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vinyl is best for Jimi, 6 Jun 2012
By 
A. R. Durham "Top Dog Max" (Wiltshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
On a trip to the US recently - I found this 180 gm vinyl version for less than 10 bucks. This has always been my favourite JH album due to its variety and innovation. The point here is that if you really want to enjoy JH in his best aural surroundings - then this is the version to get. This re-master sounds just spectacular to these ears. I recall my old student copy didn't sound anything as good, although admittedly I now have a much superior hi-fi to listen with.

Only downside is that this version doesn't have the UK naughty lady artwork - silly US prudes!!

I envy the new generation discovering JH as we all did some 3 or 4 decades ago. Imagine hearing All Along The Watchtower for the first time. And then comparing him with the current crop of dreary nonentities. Of course, he has never been surpassed as a guitar god, but my worry is that nobody of the current generation even understands the enormity of JH's legacy. Budding guitar heroes are not going to find fortune on a TV talent show or in a revolting tribute band. JH truly loved his instrument and his music. Isn't that enough for the current generation to learn from?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Electric Ladyland
Electric Ladyland by Jimi Hendrix (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews