Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing the Sabre
This must be the most original sound of the last twelve months. In a year (and more) of borderline jazz/pop females getting all the accolades, this is the album that stands out. It is possible to detect influences from all kinds of music as diverse as reggae and classical yet it copies non of them. Thank you, Maverick Sabre for putting the soul back into song.
Published on 28 Feb. 2012 by B. J. Cooper

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars thought it would be better. Nothing really stood out
Ok , thought it would be better. Nothing really stood out .
Published 11 months ago by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drawing the Sabre, 28 Feb. 2012
By 
B. J. Cooper "Silver Poet" (Bedford, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
This must be the most original sound of the last twelve months. In a year (and more) of borderline jazz/pop females getting all the accolades, this is the album that stands out. It is possible to detect influences from all kinds of music as diverse as reggae and classical yet it copies non of them. Thank you, Maverick Sabre for putting the soul back into song.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hits The Right Notes - Presses The Right Buttons, 7 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
I had never heard of Maverick Sabre until I heard an advert on the TV for this album which played the track Let Me Go. This has been sampled on many TV programmes, trailers etc and I loved it and didn't have a clue who it was until today. I bought the album on the strength of that track alone and do not regret that decision for one moment.

Like Adele and Amy Winehouse, I like the fact that Maverick Sabre has a love and appreciation of a wide range of instruments - not just electronic or digital musings and that combined with thought provoking lyrics and heart touching tunes had me sat in my office chair bopping and doing my thang!

Totally stunning debut album - one of those albums that you absolutely MUST have in your record collection.

Maverick - you have just made an old 40 something bird very happy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Original, heartfelt, compelling and entertaning!, 15 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
Ive only just stumbled upon Maverick Ssbre, and to be honest, i was surprised by his voice. I was watching the video for 'I Need', and he didnt sound as i expected. However, his voice was a nice surprise, and i found that i couldnt stop listening. In the end i went all out and bought his album.

And i havent felt one speck of regret. From the opening song mentioned earlier, 'I Need', and the upbeat, catchy second song 'Let Me Go', this album is a great experience.

All of the songs have some sort of connection to real life situations, and the way Maverick sings about them makes them easy to relate to. For example, the song 'I Can Never Be', relates to the fact that some people feel they can never be good enough for the one they love, and 'Sometimes' relates to the fact that people take things for granted and forget where they come from.

Another aspect that makes this album so brilliant is the simple fact that his beautiful voice helps him pull off some brilliant choruses and verses, which helps the listener to take in all his words and join him in reminicing and relating to his life and their own.

Overall, this is an excellent album, and one that has brillaint choruses and lyrics that are really heartfelt and understood. This is recommended to anyone, especially those who were were bored by Ed Sheerans debut and are looking for something far more catchy and far less overrated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Emerging talent, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Are The Brave (MP3 Download)
I'm 56 years old and love this kid! A brilliant, unique voice, and some great penmanship on the tracks. A brilliantly produced album too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Magic., 16 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Are The Brave (MP3 Download)
I have said before and I am happy to say it again, this Maverick Sabre rules the airwaves just lately, a pure talent, soulful, tuneful and lyrics that provoke the mind to drift into lovely feelings, yet reflecting on the modern world in a very eyes-wide-open fashion, having the ability to write lyrics that provoke emotions on many levels song after song, is a skill I think very few song-writers have.

This guy reminds me of Portishead crossed with Nick Drake in the style of the tunes he uses, Smokey Robinson in the soul he uses in his voice, Nas level metaphor's in his lyrics and topped of with a large splash of originality in his voice, soul-rapping and wonderful harmonies in the music/lyrics combined.

This man deserves much praise for his first two EP's/LP's, both which he gave away free on his own website, 'Travelling Man' and 'The Lost Words' EP also ruled the air-waves. This man stands at the head of the zeitgeist of the music of our generation, exploding out the blocks, hurdling the drab music of the charts, this Sabre has given us a bag full of stunning songs. Simply take a day off, buy this album, sit back and yes, 'Love Thy Sabre!'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great album, 30 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely Are The Brave (Audio CD)
A great album a good mix of songs. Some albums tend to be just 10 or so songs that all sound very similar this offers a nice variety
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars consistent quality, 2 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
There wasn't a track I didn't like, the songs blended well and I felt very chilled after listening to it.
Mellow enough for older people to enjoy but cool enough for the youngsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great songwriter and better singer, 5 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
This guy is an amazing talent. While he's a fantastic songwriter, he's an even better singer. In fact, I would say (and I'm not sure he would agree with or appreciate this comment) he's like the male equivalent of Amy Winehouse! As far as I'm concerned I can give him no greater praise. He can rap, play guitar and write his own excellent material but his soulful voice on classics such as "Change is gonna come" shows just how versatile he is. Sadly he may never see the sales of the likes of Amy Winehouse or Adele but he deserves them. A towering talent touched by potential genius and greatness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars angels, 18 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Lonely Are The Brave (MP3 Download)
I hered his voice i new i would get his album,now i have his album i CAN--NOT stop playing it, love it, canny wait for next album to come out, thank u, xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Truly great and original, 1 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lonely are the Brave (Audio CD)
As I write we're on the cusp of that difficult second album coming out. Whether Maverick proves to be more Duffy than Adele in terms of career trajectory thus remains to be seen. But this remains an original gem however that goes. This is a worthy album to have in any collection - part folk, part rap, part rock, part r'n'b, beyond genre categorisation with great lyrics to boot. Let's hope he's not blown it all in one album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lonely Are The Brave
Lonely Are The Brave by Maverick Sabre
Buy MP3 Album£6.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews