Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Short Story
My only gripe about this story is that its too short, This so easily could have been a fantastic full length novel.
For so long i have thought that the Holmes story centres too much on Holmes. While Watson clearly has a colourful and full history.

I thought that maybe Patrick Mercer may have compounded the short length of the story by also showing Watson...
Published on 13 July 2012 by Parm

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unconvincing
This Sherlock Holmes spin off story depicts Watson's war time experiences as an army doctor wounded while serving in Afghanistan, before meeting the great detective. It's an interesting idea, but the realisation was unconvincing. The narrator's voice just didn't sound like Watson and Holmes's dialogue in the last chapter where Watson is recuperating in Baker Street also...
Published on 18 Nov. 2012 by John Hopper


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Short Story, 13 July 2012
By 
Parm (A bookshop near you) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Doctor Watson's War (Kindle Edition)
My only gripe about this story is that its too short, This so easily could have been a fantastic full length novel.
For so long i have thought that the Holmes story centres too much on Holmes. While Watson clearly has a colourful and full history.

I thought that maybe Patrick Mercer may have compounded the short length of the story by also showing Watson as having a short experience in the forces. There could have been a rich and action packed series, at the least a series of short stories. I hope that Patrick Mercer has something up his sleeve for more of these that I'm missing.

This story shows the early days of Holmes and Watson and how Watson came to be the man he is and why he is living with Holmes.
As is usual for Mercers books the history is impeccable, but its the experience as a soldier that he brings to the writing that always astounds me, so honest and so real that as a reader you get to experience all the action and drama on a personal level. With this story its also not just Watson who shines, its his fantastic sidekick Private Bowler, funny, real and for me the perfect sidekick, if Patrick Mercer cannot do more stories on Watson then do them on Bowler. If you have not read any of Patrick Mercers other books then i highly recommended them all.

Something else i found out is that Patrick Mercer is the same Patrick Mercer MP from my home town (quite glad i voted for him now).

So please more of these short stories or a full book.

recommended

(Parm)

Product Description

Afghanistan. 1880. A bloodied but unbowed young medic must fight in a war that will test both his courage and conscience to its very limits. Despite his own wound, despite the howling tribesman hounding his every step back to the walls of Kandahar, he will not forsake the injured soldiers and victims of battle who he has sworn to treat and protect. The most difficult to save of all though is Alisha Kahn, the beautiful and enigmatic fighting queen -shot down as she led the Afghans against the British and brought to the dressing station by Private 'Posh' Williams, the gentleman ranker. Her warrior brothers want to save her, whilst the retreating troops can see no reason why she should live.

The terror and nobility of the events fought across blood-soaked desert sands - culminating in the Battle of Maiwand - will scar and inspire Doctor John H. Watson forever.

In this brilliant novella, Patrick Mercer tells the story of Sherlock Holmes's great friend Watson's formative years in the Army. It is a must-read for fans of Holmes, and for anyone who enjoys historical military fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fuses Action and Comment..., 13 Jan. 2012
This review is from: Doctor Watson's War (Kindle Edition)
Dr Watson's War given Watson a chance to come out from behind Sherlock Holmes' shadow. This well researcheda and well written short book tlls of Watson's campaign in Afghanistan in 1880. Mercer brings a new perspective of the character originally penned by Arthur Conan Doyle by highlighting the struggle and trauma faced by him as a medic before joining Holmes.
The story fuses action and comment on how the war in Afghanistan today is not such a foreign country to war in Afghanistanto in the 19th century.
Dr Watson's War is a refreshing and engaging read, not only for Sherlock Holmes fans but lovers of historical fiction also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A different take at last!, 27 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's War (Kindle Edition)
It seems like new versions of Holmes have proliferated over the last few years. But watching the BBC's 'Sherlock', I was struck that Martin Freeman's Watson was quite possibly the best thing about it so I was delighted when I came across this short story.

I had read Mercer's novels and thoroughly enjoyed them and this is an overdue return to fiction for a man who knows about battle first-hand and seems to have a better grasp of military history than most other 'historical' novellists put together.

In this story, we are not only given an engaging and innovative take on Watson's character which doesn't skulk cravenly in Conan Doyle's mould, but a new perspective on Holmes which is at once familiar and amusing.

This is no attempt to 'modernise' the characters as most recent efforts seem to have but a pleasingly historical take on contemporary society. The Victorian war in Afghanistan is one we hear little about despite its apparent contemporary relevance, and Mercer ties the topic and the characters togethernwith panache. Bowler was a particular treat, a military type drawn down to a T and I'm sure the sort Mr Mercer is only too familiar with from his own service.

A cracking read, as is the sequel Doctor Watson's Bout!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent short story, 14 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's War (Kindle Edition)
I was a little aprehensive of Mercer using Dr Watson as a character in his latest short story.
I found it to be an excellent short story that kept Holmes to a minimum. I'm glad I gave it ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining, 20 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's War (Kindle Edition)
With all the interest surrounding Sherlock Holmes at the moment there couldn't be a more appropriate time to fill in the blanks about Dr John Watson's life - before he met Holmes..
Doctor Watson's War is a short story which recounts Dr Watson's experiences in Afghanistan. The story is told from Watson's perspective - and Mercer's hero is both brave and kind "I couldn't refuse a man who asked me - yes, asked me not told me - to risk my skin, could I?"
Dr Watson's War can't help but resonate in light of the current conflict in Afghanistan - and soldiers in particular will enjoy this entertaining and informed book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great short read, 3 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's War (Kindle Edition)
The way the Dr was writen when he was in Baker St made me easily think of him as the same watson from Sir Arthur Conan Doyle's novels. Having just finnished Red Runs The Helmand by the same author it was interesting to see the same battle field again but from a character more removed from the main battle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening and intriguing, 11 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Doctor Watson's War (Kindle Edition)
Doctor Watson's life-before-Sherlock is sadly under-documented. In perfect harmony with Conan-Doyle's characters, this story expands the readers' understanding and enriches their knowledge of the older Watson. He is already known to be a character of great integrity, humanity and emotional intelligence and it is through reading of the atrocities he has previously encountered that the reader learns exactly why this is: the lifelong effects of witnessing this brutality are varied. The plot should also appeal to those who enjoy military and war-related fiction, detailing Watson's tour in Afghanistan - an ever-relevant conflict. All-in-all, a brilliant story which leaves the reader with an immeasurable sense of warmth toward its protagonist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good but short, 5 Aug. 2012
By 
V. G. Evans Galtry (Bridgend U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's War (Kindle Edition)
I bought this book for a new slant on Dr Watson , though i enjoyed it & the character of Brewer is a delight, it is really a short story , that said i did enjoy it & it's insight that p.t.s.d is not a new thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific read, 25 Feb. 2012
By 
L. Holloway (Newark, Notts) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's War (Kindle Edition)
Unputdownable! Patrick Mercer has written a thoroughly enjoyable, fast paced account of Dr Watsons war in Afghanistan.

His characters are so well drawn you can hear their voices, and as well as brilliantly evocative war scenes, the book has humour and some wonderful episodes with vivid descriptions and I especially enjoyed the soldiers quips which had me chuckling.

We all think we know the house on Baker St so it is refreshing to find a new slant and hear more of Dr Watson than Sherlock Holmes for a change.

Rollicking read, when is the next one ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Too short, 23 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Doctor Watson's War (Kindle Edition)
Having read all Patrick Mercer's output to date I was pleased to see we were to learn more about the good doctor's war career. It was a good read but really far too short to do the character justice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Watson's War
Doctor Watson's War by Patrick Mercer
£1.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews