Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Happening Now!" - Small Faces by SMALL FACES (Debut Album Deluxe Edition)
Monday 7 May 2012 sees the UK release of a whopping four DELUXE EDITIONS for Small Faces fans (29 May 2012 in the USA for this and the "From The Beginning" sets) - and their blistering debut album still holds an unparalleled affection for lovers of the best Sixties Mod band in the world.

Here are the finite details for Universal/Sanctuary 276 528-0:...
Published on 29 May 2012 by Mark Barry

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars again, but better?
I am against the loudness war, but hey, didnt the 2006 version of this cd sound really good? I have listened to both this and the 2006 version and I have to say that the 2006 version trounces this. It is livelier, wider and more dynamic than this version. I just get the feeling that this is yet another "processed" release that whilst sounding different, actually sounds...
Published on 8 Jun 2012 by 70s


Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Happening Now!" - Small Faces by SMALL FACES (Debut Album Deluxe Edition), 29 May 2012
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Faces [Decca] [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Monday 7 May 2012 sees the UK release of a whopping four DELUXE EDITIONS for Small Faces fans (29 May 2012 in the USA for this and the "From The Beginning" sets) - and their blistering debut album still holds an unparalleled affection for lovers of the best Sixties Mod band in the world.

Here are the finite details for Universal/Sanctuary 276 528-0:

Disc 1 (42:28 minutes):
Tracks 1 to 12 are their MONO debut LP "Small Faces" - released 6 May 1966 in the UK on Decca LK 4790 (peaked at No. 3 on the LP charts)
BONUS TRACKS (13 to 16):
"I've Got Mine" (13), "What's A Matter Baby" (14), "Grow Your Own" (15) and "Patterns" (16)

Disc 1 will also allow fans to line up the 4 x UK 7" singles that were issued (in Mono) around the LP (track number after title):
1. Whatcha Gonna Do About It (6) b/w What's A Matter Baby (14) - released 6 August 1965 on Decca F 12208 [Note: A-side written by Kenny Lynch and Mort Shuman]
2. I've Got Mine (13) b/w It's Too Late (4) - released 5 November 1965 on Decca F 12276
3. Sha-La-La-La-Lee (17) b/w Grow Your Own (15) - released 28 January 1966 on Decca F 12317
4. Patterns (16) b/w E Too D (11) - released 26 May 1967 on Decca F 12619

Disc 2 (37:38 minutes):
1. Come On Children (Alternate Version) [Mono]
2. Shake (Alternate Version) [Mono]
3. You Better Believe It (Alternate Version) [Mono]
4. It's Too Late (Alternate Mix In Electronically Reprocessed Stereo)
5. Sorry She's Mine (Alternate Mix In Electronically Reprocessed Stereo)
6. 6. Own Up Time (Alternate Version) [Mono]
7. E Too D (Alternate Version) [Mono]
8. I've Got Mine (Alternate Mix In Electronically Reprocessed Stereo)
9. Grow Your Own (Alternate Mix In Electronically Reprocessed Stereo)
10. Sha La La Lee (Stereo Version)
11. Don't Stop What You're Doing (Alternate Version) [Mono]
12. Patterns (Alternate Mix In Electronically Reprocessed Stereo)
13. What's A Matter Baby (Alternate Mix) [Mono]
14. Whatcha Gonna Do About It (Alternate Version) [Mono]
Tracks 4-5, 8-9 and 12 are PREVIOUSLY UNRELEASED (Stereo Versions) ON CD

INCLUSIONS/OMMISIONS:
The 2006 Universal 40th Anniversary single disc reissue of "Small Faces" had 11 bonus tracks - the only absence is "Hey Girl (Alternate Version)" because it's been moved to the "From The Beginning" Deluxe Edition. Also the 5th Decca single that would have fit the 1966-1967 timeframe released on the same day as the album - "Hey Girl" b/w "Almost Grown" (6 May 1966 on Decca F 12393) is moved to that double too. Fans should also note that according to ROB CAIGAR who oversaw these reissues - any missing/straggler tracks on this and the other 3 x double-editions will probably turn up on a SMALL FACES box set due later in 2012. That box set will also feature more unreleased/related stuff - and again from the best sources.

PACKAGING:
I raved about the superlative 24-page booklet in the "From The Beginning" double - it's the same here. Properly gorgeous colour reproductions of 7" picture sleeves from Germany, Sweden, France and Australia, Rave and Beat Instrumental magazine covers, a 6 August 1966 EMI Acetate of "What 'Cha Gonna Do About It", colour publicity shots of the boys larking about, trade adverts, Melody Maker reviews and even two fantastically evocative pictures of the fab four shopping for Mod clothes in 60t's Carnaby Street. The new liner notes are by respected writer MARK PAYTRESS and are filled with facts and recent interviews with Jones and McLagan. There's a set of 4 gorgeous colour photos of the band - one to each flap - and beneath each see-through CD tray is the 1967 unboxed red Decca label LK 4790 for the original British LP (Side 1 and 2). Even the CDs themselves are picture discs. It's 'so' well done.

It should be noted that there's memorabilia stuff in the 20-page booklet of the original single disc that isn't in here - so you might not want to throw that issue away just yet. But again - and I can't reiterate this enough - this is one of the sweetest looking booklets Universal has ever done - and I can't help but think that awards may be on the horizon for the sheer quality of presentation on offer here...

SOUND:
But the real meat for fans will be the NEW REMASTERS from best-ever sources and overseen by surviving members of the band - KENNEY JONES and IAN McLAGAN. Tape Research and Recovery is by ROB CAIGER, Tape Restoration and Transfer from Analogue is by ROB KAYLACH and Mastering by NICK ROBBINS. The album itself has always been a perfect snapshot of Sixties Beat Britain - and still stands up to this day as a good listen. The clarity of the opener - a cover of Sam Cooke's "Shake" - is great - the bass and drums now so clear. I've always loved the band-penned double of "It's Too Late" followed by "One Night Stand" - both now sounding punchy and dynamic. "E Too D" has that great guitar opening - sounding as powerful as The Who - I love it. And the singles are killer too - especially fan-favourite B-sides like "I've Got Mine" - and who wouldn't want to hear the instrumental floor-filler "Grow Your Own" instead of the overplayed A-side "Sha-La-La-La-Lee".

UNRELEASED:
Having lived with MONO for over 40 years - the CD debut of 'Electronically Reprocessed Stereo' versions of "It's Too Late" and "Sorry She's Mine" will come as a bit of a shock. The same effect doesn't quite work so well for me on "I've Got Mine" - but the sonic kick off "Grow Your Own" in some form of Stereo is blowing me away - worth the price of admission alone (that sucker's going on our CD shuffle soonest). And even though it's almost too dense in some ways - I'm also digging "Patterns" in Stereo too. The other Mono takes I've had before and they're always been hugely enjoyable - but it's without doubt the Stereo cuts that will have fans jumping up and down on kitchen lino sprayed with talcum powder.

To sum up - an absolute belter - in fact I've really loved all four of these 2012 2CD DELUXE EDITIONS - up there with the superlative KINKS Deluxe Edition reissues of 2011.

As the Decca advert reproduced on Page 2 of the booklet screams - the Small Faces are "Happening Now!" Well here's to a second time around because this is a sweetheart of a release - and you can't help but think that The Artful Dodger (Steve Marriott) and Plonk (Ronnie Lane) would have approved big time. Congrats to all involved...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars again, but better?, 8 Jun 2012
By 
70s "arrow" (uk) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Faces [Decca] [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I am against the loudness war, but hey, didnt the 2006 version of this cd sound really good? I have listened to both this and the 2006 version and I have to say that the 2006 version trounces this. It is livelier, wider and more dynamic than this version. I just get the feeling that this is yet another "processed" release that whilst sounding different, actually sounds inferior to the previous cd. Don't be fooled by the hype, this really does not sound better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 2012 2-CD Deluxe:Best CD edition yet, 31 May 2012
By 
Philip A.Cohen (Bay Harbor Islands, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Faces [Decca] [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I've owned this "Small Faces" debut album on three previous CD editions: a 1980's West German "London" label CD, a 1996 "Deram" CD(no longer in my collection), a 2006 Decca "40th Anniversary" edition, and now, this 2012 Deluxe Edition". I've done sound quality comparisons between the 3 editions that I've got, playing them through audiophile-grade headphones(Sennheiser HD-650). It's no secret that these are(mostly) grungy, tinny,distorted recordings, even by 1966 standards. They were recorded at an independent studio and(excepting "Sha La La La Lee") on 2-track. As a group whose recordings were(then) licensed to, but not owned by Decca, the group couldn't use Decca's high quality studio.

The 2006 CD edition went too far with loudness and brightened equalization, yielding a harsh sound. The new 2012 edition sounds the best so far, with more clarity than the 1980's "London" CD, but without being harsh or unpleasant. Stlll, you can't make a sonic silk purse from a sow's ear. There's limits to what can be done to improve the sound of this album, which was not well-recorded, even by 1966 standards. Disc One ends with 4 non-L.P. tracks("I've Got Mine","What's a Matter Baby","Grown Your Own" & "Patterns")

There's no previously unreleased songs or takes in the 2012 edition. The only previously unreleased material in this edition are five tracks in "electronically reprocessed"(I.E. Fake) stereo, which many consumers consider to be filler material.

The first time that Universal music released alternate takes from the group's French E.P.'s(on 1996 editions of "Small Faces" & "From The Beginning") they were simply horrific sounding dubs from vintage French vinyl. Full quality sources for most of these tracks were found and included on the 2006 "40th anniversary" edition of the "Small Faces" debut album , and these tracks sound even better on the 2012 2-CD edition. As a bonus, they've found a full quality source for the alternate "Come On Children"(versus the hissy source used on the 2006 "40th Anniversary" edition.

You also get a true stereo "Sha La La La Lee" amongst the Disc Two tracks.

Still, despite the fact that the set doesn't debut any previously unreleased music, this is the edition to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Purchase !!, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Faces [Decca] [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Bought this first time round in 66. Loved it then and love the new deluxe-edition plus the booklet.. Delighted with it plus the excellent speedy delivery !!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Where it started, 10 Dec 2013
By 
Mr. A. P. Jennings (Berkhamsted, Herts, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Faces [Decca] [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
Meaty, beaty, etc, the mod album that launched a thousand Paul Weller haircuts. The first CD is the original debut LP, and it's never sounded more vital. Bonus tracks are b-sides to singles from the era, lovely stuff. CD2 is various stereo or mono versions of CD1, not essential but good fun - if it was just CD1 on review I'd have awarded 5 stars. Accompanying booklet of credits, momorabilia etc. almost make it worth buying just for the rare photos. Has a band ever looked so right?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Small Faces ( Decca ) Deluxe edition, 27 July 2013
By 
Mr. Ronald Garner (Chesterfield UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Faces [Decca] [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
I put off buying this CD for a while as I already had the 40th anniversary edition which was released in 2006 but am glad I got round to adding it to my collection. It's beautifully packaged with lots of picture sleeve singles and memorabilia of the band plus a
second disc of alternate versions including an alternate version of " Don't stop what you're doing " with Jimmy Winston on lead vocal which I'd not heard before. I think it's an essential purchase for anyone wanting to be introduced to one of the most underrated bands from the 60's. They produced some great music which has stood the test of time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars small faces, 10 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Small Faces [Decca] [Deluxe Edition] (Audio CD)
great buy purchase arrived within the time limit and good value for money woul dwholly reccomend anyone intrested in buying should do so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Small Faces [Decca] [Deluxe Edition]
Small Faces [Decca] [Deluxe Edition] by The Small Faces (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews