Customer Reviews


164 Reviews
5 star:
 (87)
4 star:
 (42)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BT Video Monitor
This is a well made product the main unit for the bedroom has a good weight to it so would be stable on a shelf or cabinet, there is a bracket that can be fixed to a wall and underneath the unit is a hole to fit to a tripod which would be easier than a hole in the bedroom wall.The video unit has a antenna on the top with a range of 300m (who would go that far away from...
Published on 16 July 2012 by D. Pass

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy - unreliable
We are on our second defective monitor, which I am now trying to return. Both monitors worked well for the first 2 months and then there started to be a problem with the units connecting (note, they were not dropped or damaged!). Worryingly, the parent unit does not bleep when this happens - the screen just goes blank and you cannot hear anything from the baby's room. If...
Published on 20 Mar. 2013 by sally_260


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BT Video Monitor, 16 July 2012
By 
D. Pass (Staffs) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: BT Digital Video Baby Monitor 1000 (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a well made product the main unit for the bedroom has a good weight to it so would be stable on a shelf or cabinet, there is a bracket that can be fixed to a wall and underneath the unit is a hole to fit to a tripod which would be easier than a hole in the bedroom wall.The video unit has a antenna on the top with a range of 300m (who would go that far away from baby)
a screen size of 2.8 inches is ample to see baby in his cot/bed.

There is infa red (black & white) for night time use and you get colour for daytime. The battery in the video unit is rechargeable just plug into the mains, the camera can be used with a wire plugged to mains or with 4 AA batteries (not supplied) but the unit will not charge them. The batteries do not last more than 2 nights so plugging to the mains is the best option.
There are 5 lullabies to sooth baby but you have to switch these on at the camera unit so make sure they are on before you leave the room.
This product is a step up from the sound only baby devices and being able to see and hear your baby is much more reassuring.
Well done BT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars love camera monitors!, 20 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: BT Digital Video Baby Monitor 1000 (Baby Product)
I really like this except last summer when my husband stood on the parent unit charger he broke it, sadly there was no way to get a replacement - we therefore had to buy the whole set again! (ouch!)
Anyway this week the parent unit charger broke again, this is poor as we just leave the plug in 1 place but I am delighted to say you can now buy replacements (from this number 0844 55 77789 - don't bother with BT customer care its poor) so I'm a fan again. Having just read some reviews on 2nd cameras I might be letting our 1st child go without a camera when next baby arrived though - what a shame it isn't a great design for dual use....
In general - the picture quality is great, sound is excellent, camera hangs nicely on wall above cot so no risk of wire getting tangled in him, I cannot imagine having a monitor without a camera, i LOVE seeing when he cries if its just a russle or if there's genuinely a problem - sometimes by going in you wake them. Also in a morning you can see if you have time for a quick shower or if you better get in there quick! The battery life on the parent unit is good, lasts for 2 daytime naps and all night until you go to bed when we plug into charge. Its also easily to pack up and take away for the night, looks cute too, we can take outside when gardening and it keeps signal if close-ish to house - certainly doesn't have 100M's range as suggested, unless you live in a house with no walls!
good luck with your choice I hope this review helps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is a great monitor. I have noticed some reviewers saying that ..., 6 Jan. 2015
This review is from: BT Digital Video Baby Monitor 1000 (Baby Product)
This is a great monitor. I have noticed some reviewers saying that they have a faulty monitor as the screen stays on constantly rather than being sound activated. It's not very clear in the instructions but you have to set the screen to be sound activated, then switch the screen off using the view button. That will allow it to switch the screen on if there is sound detected but then shut off again after 30 seconds of quiet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not just a baby monitor but versatile, multi-purpose CCTV!!, 27 Sept. 2012
By 
K Wren "K Wren" (Wye Valley (England/Wales border)) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This is a really good monitor with far more uses other than being purely a well-designed and functional baby monitor!

I confess, I didn't order this as a baby monitor but as a versatile and multi-purpose CCTV unit for use around the home and garden, and it's exceeded my expectations. It has been in use for the last month, day and night and always performed well.

I'm actually using it for two purposes: for home security and am pleased to say the camera is superb and gives a clear colour image monitoring visitors to our property as they enter our driveway. I'm also using it for monitoring our pet rabbits in the garden during the daytime and overnight wildlife. The camera (obviously!) isn't weatherproof so is positioned in the house but focused on the garden and monitored from several rooms away. I accept this isn't what it's designed and marketed for but it's perfect both for day or night use and I've found the monitor and camera unit work perfectly 60' apart transmitting through two brick walls and the monitor also worked eight houses away from home.

It is very easy to set up with simple intuitive menu screens, a talk facility to speak to your baby (or pets/visitors etc depending on how it's used!) and lullabies to play on the camera unit. I could see this being inconvenient for a parent with baby as they would need to go into the baby's room to switch it on/off and risk waking the baby! On the parent unit, if the volume isn't set correctly then it can produce a `clicking' noise but this is common to all CCTV/monitor units I've used and requires only slight adjustment. The volume can also be switched off or set to activate by noise, such as a baby crying. Unfortunately, the camera unit can't be tilted to adjust its angle but it does have a tripod socket on the base so can be used with a small tripod such as Hama 4024 Mini Tripod (1xTripod) or, better still, a small Joby Gorillapod Original which will enable it to be fixed at any angle - upright or diagonal to obtain the perfect view. Further, a zoom feature enables the image to be enlarged for closer inspection.

The particular strengths of the units are:

* It's sturdy and well-made
* Very clear colour monitor screen
* Night-vision works well at night to produce a clear mono image
* Sound is clear with good volume and this is fully adjustable, sound-triggered or can be switched off
* No interference from my wifi router (not a BT model), home network or mobile phones
* Up to 4 cameras can be added (my second is already on order)
* Tripod socket to allow precise positioning
* Zoom feature to enlarge the picture
* Best of all (for me), both units can be run from either batteries (lithium ion supplied for monitor, standard AA batteries can be used in the camera unit) or mains and leads are supplied for each.

I have been looking for a good CCTV unit for several years to replace a very old CRT mono system and this is the perfect replacement, a much better design and is considerably cheaper than other domestic CCTV systems where recording isn't required.

I have no gripes at all with this monitor system. In fact, I'm so impressed that I've added a second camera and will soon be ordering a third. Well done BT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars BT Digital Video baby Monitor 1000, 4 Oct. 2012
By 
S. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: BT Digital Video Baby Monitor 1000 (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
We have been using the monitor for a few weeks now and I have to say that it really is very very good. The only reason I haven't given it the full five stars and it may seem a bit picky is that the baby unit's camera has to be adjusted manually using the camera angle adjustment tab rather than being able to move it using the parent unit and the same with the lullabies as they have to be set manually also by using the baby unit rather than the parent unit. It just would have made that extra little bit of difference for us if they had both been able to be done remotely using the parent unit but maybe BT may improve those functions in later models.

First the Baby Unit - The front of the unit has one main camera lens surrounded by nine infra red LED's to assist with it's night vision and a microphone grill area to pick up on your babies noise. The camera angle can be adjusted by using the adjustment tab but as I've explained earlier this has to be done manually so best to have it set up where you want it before your baby goes to sleep so as not to disturb them especially if they are a light sleeper like mine! The front of the unit also has four buttons to control the lullabies and volume along with a fifth button to turn the unit on and off. At the rear of the unit is an antenna to help boost the signal if needed, battery compartment and power socket with cover. The rear of the baby unit also houses the temperature sensor and the speaker when using the talk back function.

Secondly the Parent Unit - The parent unit consists of actual buttons rather than a touch screen as with our Summer Infant Baby Touch Video Monitor but this is not a negative in my opinion as it means you don't accidently alter any of the settings by touching the wrong part of the screen as we have been known to do. There is the main power on/off button, talk button for when you want to talk to the baby unit, view button for if you have more than one camera paired to the unit and zoom button which as the name suggests zooms in on the baby and from there you can use the directional buttons to move around (it doesn't move the main camera as this has to be done manually but you can move around within that picture). There are also the directional buttons which double as the volume up and down controls and back button. Within the middle of the directional buttons is the main menu button and from here you can: change the LCD brightness, Pair and unpair other baby camera units, change the language, set alert tones for low battery and no camera link, change the volume sensitivity (which I discovered was why the volume was not constant on our unit from another reviewer's review), change the temperature minimum and maximum amount alert settings and whether in Celsius or Fahrenheit, set whether the unit vibrates or not and finally whether the screen is sound activated or not (although we must have a faulty unit as the screen is constantly on no matter which setting we use).
There are also light indicators on the left hand side to advise when you have the volume set to mute, when the talk back function is being used, confirming if the link to the baby unit is okay or not and finally the battery status i.e. if needing to be charged, fully charged or in the process of being charged. There is also an antenna on the unit to help boost the signal along with the speaker and the microphone.

The picture on the screen is fantastic whether in daylight or pitch black and the only issue is sometimes it seems a bit slow when our son is turning over as it sometimes seem to show it in a sort of slow motion but nothing to worry about really. The screen also shows the signal strength and temperature in the room which is also very handy for at a glance.
All in all I have to got to say very impressed with the monitor, would definitely recommend it and hopefully someone from the BT technical team will read this review and update it for remote camera motion and lullaby activation as if it had that also then I think this would be the perfect video monitor.

EDIT/UPDATE 02/11/2013:-
I just wanted to update the review to confirm that at over a year since first use and with the monitor being used every evening that it is still in perfect working condition with absolutely no problems or issues at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect way to monitor your baby with some really useful features., 23 Mar. 2015
By 
Jason Gaston "Uncle Jay" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: BT Digital Video Baby Monitor 1000 (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Been using this product for a whole 12 months now and still going strong. The camera is installed on the wall bracket supplied and is easy adjusted to the desired angle and the camera itself can tilt forward to almost a right angle so if you position this on the wall above the cot you can get the right view even in the tightest of corners. The Camera unit also has a speaker as well a a microphone which pairs up with the parent unit very well. This is good for 2 reasons. Reason 1 if you adjusting the camera whilst the parent unit is downstairs your other half can talk to you by pressing the talk button to direct you. Reason 2 (this is more for later down the line) when its bed time and baby is standing up etc in the cot you can press talk and Sssshhhh the baby or ask baby to lie down etc. The parent unit has a decent sized colour screen although more often than not the room is in darkeness so the infared lights kick in then giving your baby the slightly spooky look if they make eye contact with the camera. Battery last quite well and we have never had a problem with the range ( we live in a 3 bedroom new build house) the music that plays on the baby unit is generic lullaby music that repeats quite a few times before it goes off, my one gripe with this is you cannot activate the music from the parent unit which is a little bit of an inconvenience as it means you have to go into the room and further disturb baby. The parent unit handily displays the room temperature which is as hand in summer as it is in winter for monitoring babies temperature. Parent unit has a volume selection and and the microphone on the baby unit is noise activated so once the room falls into silence the microphone disables until there is a noise in the room (sometimes activated by people using the bathroom down the hall) All in all this has been an absolute godsend and I would recommend this unit to anyone, still going strong after 12 months of daily/nightly use
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 5 Sept. 2012
By 
C M Cotton "Chris Cotton" (Europe and USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: BT Digital Video Baby Monitor 1000 (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I ordered this product for it to be used as a CCTV type camera for the use in the house. Having set it up and used the product, I think it is a brilliantly simple to use and great quality baby monitor and CCTV type of camera.

We have been having problems with the front door bell chiming when there is nobody there. I have wanted to buy a CCTV type of system to "watch" the front door for a while, but have always been put off by the cost and complexity of CCTV systems. It never occurred to me to use a baby monitor for the job, until I saw one on the Vine list. All I needed was a simple camera to watch the door and be activated by someone approaching. In essence this camera system does just that. Having positioned the camera unit, which can be plugged in or battery operated, we found the picture that was sent to hand held unit, to be very good. The motion sensor in the camera can pick up those approaching the door and we can now see if there is someone there when the door bell rings.

I did try the lullaby function, which can only be turned on at the camera itself and it worked and sounded very soothing. The reception from camera to TV unit is super and very clear. There is also a thermometer alarm system that firstly monitors the room temperature, then sounds an alarm on the TV unit if it falls below the temperature you pre set. This monitors the room temperature, which should ensure the baby is not cold and so helps to prevent the baby waking up. The set up menu is very simple and intuitive, but it also comes with a comprehensive instruction book. BT have thought of everything you would need in a baby monitor and put it into this product. My only gripe would be in the fact you have to stand at the camera to switch on the music, rather than operate it from the control TV unit. You can easily disturb a baby by entering and exiting the room to switch on the music. For this product to be perfect, switching on the music from the base unit would be needed.

Overall I think this is a brilliant product and I highly recommend it for use as a baby monitor or simple CCTV system.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 39 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad points - but mostly good!, 28 Jun. 2012
By 
A. BUNCALL "abuncall" - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: BT Digital Video Baby Monitor 1000 (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
So let's start with the good:

- It was easy to set up, linked with no problems at all and comes with a useful bracket and even rawl plugs to screw the camera section into the wall. Once fixed in it is easy to get a variety of angles as it swivels a long way left to right and the lens (in a very simple bit of design) flips up and down to get the correct height

- The camera is very user friendly in that it adjusts to the light and gives a pretty clear image whatever the light conditions

- The parent unit is stylish and easy to use, it's fairly discreet and nice to have on the coffee table, this probably sounds silly but I know people who stream a webcam to their phone or TV and it always strikes me as a bit intrusive doing it that way, this unit sits there nicely so you can look at it when you choose but not spend all evening looking at your phone or staring at a TV screen

- It plays nice lullabies from the camera unit - better quality than our existing BT sound-only monitor

- The battery for the parent unit lasts a good few hours and is rechargeable

- It comes with a thermometer built in and a talk back function in case you want to remotely give insightful parenting tips to your other half ......handy!

- You can get further cameras to link in - I guess it's good if you have more than one child and you want full coverage of the house ("switching to hamster-cam!")

- Let's talk about sound - I originally put this down as a bad point but have hastily edited my review after being humbled by reading the troubleshooting section in the very clear instruction manual. It has a very clever sensitivity setting from 1 to 5. This means that at anything less than 5 you don't get continuous sound through the monitor (which if you're stupid like me you mistake for it being broken!). In actual fact it is a clever way of you not having to have all the background noise whilst baby is quietly sleeping but as soon as he or she stirs above a particular volume then it kicks in and you can hear it (or you can set it to maximum sensitivity and it behaves like a normal sound monitor - pretty clever stuff!)

- In conjunction with the sensitivity setting you can also choose for the screen to switch to stand by (i.e turn off) whenever things are quiet and to come back on whenever there's a disturbance. It saves on battery life for the parent unit, although if you do what I did and put the unit right next to your face on the bed side table it can freak you out a bit if you're just dropping off to sleep and the screen flashes on!! It's a really good feature and saves from constantly having the screen on for you to stare at long into the night!

OK - now for the bad:

- I was hoping to be able to get away with using batteries for the camera unit so to avoid trailing wires in the nursery. Unfortunately the camera unit does not have a rechargeable battery unit so I put 4xAA Duracell batteries in there and after one night they needed replacing!! Not a long term solution then unless you fancy buying a pack of batteries every day or faffing around taking individual rechargeable AAA batteries in and out every day. It does come with a power cable though so half an hour of cable tidying and we're back in business!

- Minor grumble - you can't turn the lullaby on remotely. We've got the creakiest house in the world so if my son is stirring and I want to try and sooth him to sleep with a tune I have to walk upstairs, CREAK CREAK CREAK, locate the button in the dark and press it ....a bit stupid really.

- The parent unit could really do with a docking station like the other "sound only" monitors in the same range - it sounds picky but when you're tired and it needs charging it's so much easier to plonk the unit on to a table top docking seat rather than having to locate the end of the charger, faff around with the odd plastic tab at the side of the parent unit and plug it in.

- The camera part is quite bulky - if you are thinking of going down the webcam route it will probably be less of an eye sore in the nursery and at the parent side of things it gives you more options in terms of streaming the picture to your PC/Laptop/TV. (as mentioned I quite like the discreet parent unit but others may want it to pop up on their TV/laptop/I-pad etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Viewing pleasure, 16 July 2012
By 
b4-its-2-l8 (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: BT Digital Video Baby Monitor 1000 (Baby Product)
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
I've been using this monitor for the last month and overall I'm very pleased with it; it's made of a smooth plastic material but feels solidly constructed. The image quality is very clear although the refresh rate is not as fast as the Angelcare monitor I have, therefore, movements can appear slightly stilted but this is minor and is in no way detrimental for viewing (I mention it for comparison). The automatic infrared image is a very useful feature as there are blackout blinds in my son's room; this image is also clear but reproduces in black and white.

Unlike the Angelcare monitor, the image on this one is permanently on, so in a sense it's more like a surveillance camera than a safety monitor, however, the sound only activates when there's a noise in the room. Despite the always-on image, battery life is good, lasting 10-12 hours on a full charge, but there is an adapter so that the unit can be powered directly from the mains.

A menu system allows you to customise the setup so that you can vary the picture brightness and sound level and also set up alerts for maximum and minimum temperatures.

As for the range; I live in a block of flats and took the unit outside and around the corner and by the time I was about 35 meters away it lost connection, at which point an alert tone started to sound.

There are also 5 lullabies on the base unit which is a nice touch, each tune lasting about 10 minutes but even on the loudest setting they're a little too quiet so, for example, if the window's open, they won't be heard over the noise of the traffic (and the traffic's not THAT noisy). Also, a point my wife doesn't like is that the lullabies can only be controlled via the base unit, meaning that if the tune stops and you want it to continue you have enter the room again at the risk of disturbing your little one.

You also have the flexibility to add up to another 3 cameras and pair them with the monitor unit but at c.£50 each that would work out to be quite expensive.

Having said all that, my health visitor warns against using monitors; she says it becomes too easy for parents to become fixated by them and view them all the time - she might just have a point!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great but could be better!, 5 May 2012
This review is from: BT Digital Video Baby Monitor 1000 (Baby Product)
We had a standard bt baby monitor which had served us well for 2 years but with our second baby on the way we thought a video monitor would make life easier.

The good : battery lasts through the night and more if you have it set correctly, screen is clear in day and night vision modes. The unit feels good, great quality as you would expect from a bt product. If you set the sensitivity and camera settings correctly the screen only comes on when there is a noise, a great function which saves battery life. The camera can be set to be on all the time if required.

The not so good : there is no belt clip, not the end of the world but it was usefull in the older models, admitadly not as important with a video monitor. A big pain is the lack of a charging dock for the parenting unit, it is rechargeable but you have to fanny about with a rubber cover and a small plug, not what you want at the end of a long day!

Given the choice I would buy this item again, great but could be better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 217 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

BT Digital Video Baby Monitor 1000
£95.45
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews