Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended.
John Pollock writes with skill to bring Paul and the 1st century setting to life. Interesting from the dramatic opening onwards, and in the pages of this book Paul becomes real. All the excitments of spreading the word in the Roman world, together with the difficulties,challenges and disagreements, are covered in a highly readable presentation. I first read this in a...
Published on 17 April 2011 by sgeoff

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Once a Jew ...
A very interesting Jewish angle on Paul as a Jewish/Pharisee writer. The style is somewhat leaden and repetitious, but the insights are well worth the effort. He also tries to set Paul's "conversion" within a framework of contemporary studies of the nature of conversion. It was a very enjoyable and enlightening read.
Published 3 months ago by E. Clarke


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended., 17 April 2011
By 
sgeoff (North Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
John Pollock writes with skill to bring Paul and the 1st century setting to life. Interesting from the dramatic opening onwards, and in the pages of this book Paul becomes real. All the excitments of spreading the word in the Roman world, together with the difficulties,challenges and disagreements, are covered in a highly readable presentation. I first read this in a library copy some years ago, and was delighted to rediscover it again. It was just as enjoyable and instructive as I remembered it. Well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paul the Apostle brought back to Life!!, 7 Aug. 2008
By 
onesimus "kairos" (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
The Apostle: Life of Paul A Biography

This book written by a very accomplished Biographer John Pollock takes the reader back to the world in which Paul lived out his Faith.
Pollock gives rich details gained from his own research and from other peoples writings.
This is a book both for the regular Bible reader and for people who are keen to read about past-times.
I found it as put-down-able as any good novel!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars an excellent overview, 26 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
many biographies start off in a dull, academic way. This one starts with action, the stoning of Stephen and so you are swept into the whole ethos of the Jewish/Christian conflict of the time. If you want a good book on Paul of Tarsus, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - novel-like, 1 Dec. 2011
This book is written and read like a novel. It is not an academic treatise it is the story of Paul. An excellent read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book!, 12 Jan. 2012
I am really enjoying this book! I read a chapter and then read the equivalent chapters from Acts etc and have seen Acts in a whole new light. Never before have the events and stories described in there been so real and understandable. Excellent book and I recommend it for anyone. As exciting as a novel and character building as a sermon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Insightful, 21 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book has helped me understand Paul enough now to stop disliking him and thinking him as some super Christian who is unlike all others. It was very good at positioning much of the new testament in context, and Paul's life and struggles. Where "creative license" is used has been clearly explained, so all in all, a book worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent account, 15 Oct. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really excellent docudrama type account of the life of the Apostle Paul, held my attention all the way through and illuminated little-known areas of his life; very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a wonderful book!, 6 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I kind of knew this would be a good book, but was really pleased with it! It is written very well, and I especially like the way the author has cross referenced parts of the Bible and historical documents along the lineage of the book, which makes it a very informative and concise read. It is not cluttered, and reads very easily.

It would have been easy to make this unfactual, and more like a fairy-tale, but the author has been very disciplined in his approach, and has produced something that is just so modern, fresh and in-your-face! For any Christian who is well versed on Paul, the content is not surprising - but I can definitely say that regardless of that, or how much you think you know - this book is such a fantastic read.

I literally could not put this down, and was really disappointed that I had finished it so soon (it's not short on content either). It's just a lovely book to read, and something which has I feel, re-illustrated Pauls testament, and made brought his story to the fore. I really felt like I was there, walking with Paul on his journeys.

I would highly recommend it. It really brings to life, the whole aspects of Pauls life, his experiences and his teachings, in a way that reads well chronolgically. In one word, Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book about a Great Man, 4 Nov. 2012
By 
Mr. J. Lord - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book was very well written and researched by the author. The subject being about a very courageous and brave individual, who was not ashamed of his belief in those traumatic times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Once a Jew ..., 18 Nov. 2014
By 
E. Clarke "Cambusken" (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very interesting Jewish angle on Paul as a Jewish/Pharisee writer. The style is somewhat leaden and repetitious, but the insights are well worth the effort. He also tries to set Paul's "conversion" within a framework of contemporary studies of the nature of conversion. It was a very enjoyable and enlightening read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews