Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars93
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 April 2010
This is the 8th book in the Morganville Vampires series. It's been a series that's been hit or miss for me, I've often read them and felt there was something missing. The previous book, Fade Out, I didn't much like at all, but I have a hard time dropping a series, even if I'm not much liking it any more. I'm glad I didn't, because this is one of my favourite Morganville books.

It starts out a little slow, with a couple things happening that seem unconnected to anything else in the book, and a little too much Eve/Michael and Shane/Claire. But by the 1/3 mark it picked up, and just got better. This book is really different because for the first time, the gang are outside of Morganville. They may not like it much, but they're used to Morganville rules, even Claire who only moved there a year or so ago. Living in Morganville changes you, and it's something these guys have to learn to deal with. But just because they're out of Morganville for a little while, doesn't mean the trouble stops following them. In no time at all, they're back in trouble, way over their heads. But whats new there?

Once it got going, I really did enjoy this book. It flowed well with a strong plot, and there were a couple things I really didn't see coming. I really liked Claire in this one, she really showed how strong she is and how much she's grown from the girl she was in Glass Houses when she was just arriving in Morganville. It was a tense ride towards the end, with some interesting character development and some surprising outcomes. Overall, definitely one of the best Morganville books to date. I'm now looking forward to the next one, Ghost Town, in November.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2012
Below is a list of all of the books in order that are in the series so far

Glass House
The Dead Girls' Dance
Midnight Alley
Feast of Fools
Lord of Misrule
Carpe Corpus
Fade Out
Kiss of Death
Ghost Town

Let me just begin by saying that I am a huge fan of this series and If you haven't started reading it, do so right now. I read the complete thing (books 1-9) in less than a week. It was that addicting. Anyways, like the other books, Ghost Town was beautifully written and included all of the elements that I love about this series. There is tons of mystery, excitement, romance and humor.I have to admit, I was a bit skeptical going into book 9, I mean usually by this point, a series starts to go off the deep end. Honestly, how far can you take the same set of characters? And how exactly do you follow up a villian like Bishop? But somehow Caine managed to keep things going strong, by pulling out all the stops. Tell me what is more frightening than having everyone you know and love forget you? Claire is as feisty and determined as ever. She, once again, gets herself in an undesirable predicament. As a punishment, she is forced to fix the machine that wipes the memories of those who leave Morganville. Well, of course, something goes wrong and people (and vampires) start loosing their memories. Those who are infected are taken back mentally to three years ago. Let's just say that chaos ensues. Soon, Claire has no choice but to try and fix the machine and she is forced to make some unlikely alliances along the way. There is plenty of excitement within the book, just like you would come to expect from this series. There are also a number of twists throughout the plot, I don't want to give too much away, but they certainly keep you on your toes. All of your favorite characters are back and ready for action, Eve, Michael, Shane, Mrynin, Amelie and Oliver are all featured throughout the book. I think what makes this series so great is the relationships between the characters. Not only are there great romantic relationships, but there are also a number of awesome friendships. I love the fab four - Claire, Shane, Eve and Michael; I just think they mesh well together. They always have each others back and each one of them would put themselves on the line for the other three. The connection these characters have is really a focus in this book - especially when people start loosing their memories. Caine really does a beautiful job showing how they all sort of gravitate towards each other. All in all, Ghost Town was a great addition to the series. Everything that you love about this series continues in book 9, including the sarcasm, humor, excitement, danger, romance and superb storytelling. I'll say it again, if you haven't read this series yet, you really, really, need to. It is never to late to dive into a series, in fact I prefer it because you don't have to wait as long to see what happens next!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Claire just made a deal to save her life, but before she can meet her end of the bargain, she and her friends gain passes out of town. Record producers want to hear Michael perform. Claire, Eve, and Shane will accompany him to Dallas. They can't believe their good luck, until they learn they will be escorted and supervised by Oliver.

First, Oliver disappears on business. Then they offend people at a truck stop. They find a nearby motel to crash for the night. Instead of a peaceful night, though, trouble finds them. The men from the truck stop torch their car before they go missing. After shopping for a new car, Claire, Eve, and Shane return to the motel to find the police waiting for them. They're arrested in connection with the men's suspicious disappearances. They know it will be nightfall before the rescue party comes knocking, but the vampire rescuing them is the vampire who wants to kill them.

Now, they're fighting for their lives once again. Will the human trio become a vampire snack, or will Oliver be their only chance at survival?

Claire and her friends find deadly trouble wherever they go, even outside Morganville. KISS OF DEATH continues in this series of wild adventures, fatal danger, and trouble at every turn. Through it all, these four friends remain together and united. Rachel Caine delivers another winning chapter of this addicting series.

Reviewed by: Jennifer Rummel
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2010
bought the 1st in the series and read in one evening! it then continued to buy the rest and read them within hours! i really enjoyed the whole series, very easy reading but even at my grand age of 25 (no longer a teen) i really enjoyed them, perfect for evening reading when my son has gone to bed! I was quite sad when i finished the last book as I now have to find some other books to read ...... this book suits from young teens as its so easy to read and is very descriptive. i felt like i was in the book! its modern but interesting! there are some fab characters and storylines,
Very interesting and full of action, some new characters are introduced, and we discover a whole new town with vampires! which Bishop created! I expected to see Myrnin a lot more in this book, but he wasn't allowed to come so that kind of lacked it a little in humour, but thats not to say that SHANE, wasn't the joker in this, as he cracked up some lame, and funny jokes!

Great book, and totally worth the money, time and READ!! =] GREAT!
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2012
This review may well, and probably does, contain spoilers for books in the Morganville series up to 8.

Kiss of Death starts off with Morganville's usual light-hearted, silly fun. This time, Claire's managed to turn the whites pink. The horror! This may well be the only series that doesn't have me yawning over talk of chores and eating because they give the series such a nice grounded sense of normality. Of course, the idea that love can flourish so well, as evidenced by Shane and Claire, Michael and Eve, also provides the series with some humanity and it is so very sweet. I love following Shane and Claire's developing relationship.

I found that Kiss of Death wasn't quite as good as Fade Out but it was definitely better than Carpe Corpus. Though saying that, Kiss of Death follows a slightly different pattern to what we've come to expect, even as imaginative as Morganville is, and it is rather refreshing. This time around, the group are given passes to temporarily leave Morganville to go to Dallas for Michael to record a demo. The catch? They must with an escort. Oliver. The road trip they all looked forward to for so long swiftly goes downhill as they get into trouble and have no idea what Oliver is upto and yet again we are flung into this fast-paced story in which they get into all kinds of trouble and what seems like a hopeless situation, which only goes to further develop Claire's character as a tough little heroine who is also pretty dangerous.

Eve is beginning to irritate me a little bit in Kiss of Death. Don't get me wrong, I love her and she lightens up almost any catastrophe thrown their way, but she also has a sharp tongue and isn't afraid to give people the finger, which are equally blessings to the atmosphere of the series and also a curse, and while in Morganville her attitude kind of works, it's a weird place after all and besides from grating on a few of her enemies, nobody really questions it but out in the world, it's not the done thing and she obviously doesn't know how to act having never been out there before. And it really rubbed me the wrong way when she pushed Claire aside for Kim.. very uncool.

Still, Kiss of Death was a thoroughly enjoyable read as I've come to expect from Morganville installments and I loved how it ended giving even more of a sense of ambiguity to Oliver's already questionable character.

And a quote I simply had to include:

Shane looked down at the staked vamp at his feet. "Claire?"
"Yes?"
"You staked a vampire with a number two pencil."
"I didn't actually check the number."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2012
Life in Morganville may be full of vampires, death threats and danger, but for Claire and her friends it isn't enough. They crave the excitement of the real world so when Michael is given the opportunity to record a demo at a music studio in Dallas, the group seize the opportunity to get out of town. But when town leader Amelie insists Oliver accompany them their fun road trip starts to lose its shine and a run in with some small town locals puts all of their lives in danger...

This is the eight book in the Morganville Vampires series (after Glass Houses,The Dead Girls' Dance,Midnight Alley,Feast of Fools,Lord of Misrule,Carpe Corpus and Fade Out) and is a great return to form after the disappointment of the previous installment.

This time the story is set outside of Morganville and it's great to see how much of a reality shock it is for Morganville natives Michael and Eve. Claire and Shane have lived in the outside world so they don't have to adapt whereas for Michael and Eve all of the rules are different which leads to them getting themselves into more than a little trouble. The pacing is brilliant with the group leaving on their adventure in fair time and running into a stream of trouble almost straight away. There are also some clever twists and turns leading to a tightly plottted read.

In terms of characters Claire and Shane learn to play more to their strengths, with Claire taking some steps forward in terms of confidence and creativity when it comes to making Morganville's rules work for her. Michael and Eve also begin to deal with the realities of a human/vampire relationship, and it is interesting to see how getting out into the real world affects all the characters.

All in all this was an awesome read and I can't wait to get stuck into Ghost Town.

Plot: 10/10
Characters: 10/10
Ending: 10/10
Enjoyment: 10/10
Cover: 9/10

Overall: 49/50
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 August 2010
Book eight of The Morganville Vampires begins with something pretty normal - laundry. Claire's screwed up and dyed everyone's laundry pink. Not the end of the world for her and Eve, but the boys are going to be pretty peeved. Soon, though, it's the least of Claire's worries.

Bad-ass vampire Morley shows his face again and demands that Claire use her influence over Amelie to get him and his comrades out of town. Otherwise he'll kill Eve and Shane. Naturally, Claire agrees, despite having no idea how she's going to get Amelie to allow it. Soon, it appears her problem has been solved, as some "people passes" are delivered to her. Just as she's about to rejoice, she realises they're not for Morley and his crew, but for her, Shane, Eve and Michael. Amelie has allowed them to leave town, just for a little while so they can help Michael chase his dream of becoming a music sensation. That means one thing... road trip!

The four are excited, until they find out they must have someone accompanying them. And that someone, unfortunately, is unpopular vampire Oliver. He's determined to stop them having any fun, and it appears he's doing a damn good job of it. Luckily, his bodyguard status helps them out when the three humans end up in jail for a crime they didn't commit. Things really start hotting up when Morley, not Oliver, busts them out, only to bundle them onto a bus full of vampires and humans they've brought along to snack on.

Claire, Shane and Eve have no idea what their destination is, why they've been dragged along, and how the hell they're going to get out of their predicament. Will Oliver and Michael come through? Or are the humans destined to be a snack after all, far away from Morganville and Amelie's protection? Only one way to find out...

I'm quite disappointed that the book ended where it did, especially since I've got to wait until later in the year to read the next one. However, I thought it was a great read and couldn't put it down. It was interesting to see the characters somewhere other than Morganville, and how this affected them and their actions. A great read, and with the kind of ending that doesn't really hint what's going to happen next... so this could go anywhere! I can't wait to find out where that is.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2010
Words are yet to be invented for me to be able to describe how much I love the Morganville Vampires series. Really. This series is just too amazing for words, and gets better with each book. Kiss of Death adds to the awesomeness that is this series.

Firstly, the blurb above and on the back of the book is misleading. The story doesn't take place in one day as it leads you to believe, and getting Morley several People Passes isn't the main obstacle, nor even a small one, exactly, for our main characters. Yet I can understand the reason for the misleading blurb; so much happens in this book, it's kind of hard to summarise without spoilers. So yes, Morley is involved to some degree, but not how you would assume. The main plot thread is Michael is invited by a producer to go to Dallas to record his music, and Amelie grants all four of them - Michael, Claire, Eve and Shane - People Passes to go. Obviously, they are all excited to get out of Morganville, but their road trip isn't as much of a break from the freakiness as they had hoped.

And as I said, so much happens! I think Kiss of Death may be the most action packed of the whole series. Seriously, just when you think things couldn't get any worse for the guys, it does - in bucket loads. The saying "out of the frying pan and into the fire" is a bit of an understatement in this instance. But it's awesome! I know, I know there are going to be at least 12 books in the series, but at some points, I was really worrying for the lives of the characters and sure there were going to some fatalities. Claine is just a mastermind of urban fantasy, and never fails to shock and surprise.

Claire contines to come into her own in this book, showing more courage and spink than you would expect in the circumstances they find themselves in. But we still have the same sarcasm, wit, and humour from all the main characters that make us love them so much. I adore Michael, Eve and Shane, and love how real their voices sound.

Seriously, another brilliant book by Caine. I really can't wait to read what she brings us next in Ghost Town, which will be released in January 2011.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I don't know why anybody in movies or books ever goes on a road trip -- something horrendous always happens to them. So guess what happens to the gang in "Kiss of Death," the eighth volume of Rachel Caine's Morganville Vampires series -- it's a bit of a bummer to be miles from the usual vampire/human cast in Morganville, but Caine does an excellent mix of humor and horror.

Michael has received an offer to do a demo for a record company, which requires a trip to Dallas -- and Eve, Shane, Claire and Oliver are all coming along for the ride. Unfortunately, their road trip is soon ruined when they stop for the night in a small town: a gang of hostile rednecks start a fight and torch Eve's car, and the next day our heroes are suspected of murdering the gang.

Then things go from bad to worse when a very familiar vampire foe arrives on the scene and kidnaps Claire and Eve, intending to use them as portable lunches. But as the gang is dragged into the backwoods of rural Texas, they accidentally run afoul of an entire town that's been turned into a horrific den of bloodsuckers. Seriously, take the train next time.

"Kiss of Death" is a little disappointing, since most of it takes place OUTSIDE Morganville and most of the supporting cast is absent (I need my Myrnin fix!). Fortunately Rachel Caine seems to be revving up her series for another Big Bad Confrontation back in the vampire/human college town, and "Kiss of Death" seems to be the springboard for the next round of books.

As for this book, it's a pretty solid mixture of humor and horror, occasionally mashed together in the same scene ("I am not getting you a brain, because I am not that kind of lab assistant"). Caine especially has fun with horror movies about run-down backwater motels ("People get eaten in places like this!")... but halfway through the book, everything gets dark'n'creepy. Think a grisly vision of a town overrun with feral monsters.

And the colorful cast makes you feel like you're hanging out on a road trip with some old buddies, especially since Claire is such a likable Everygirl -- she has to deal with bullies, homework, music wars, parents and occasionally stuffed peppers. And Caine adds some extra dimensions to the dour Oliver and the supremely creepy Morley on her way... although the Michael/Eve drama still confuses me. Why was that in there again, since it just sort of puttered out?

The latest Morganville book doesn't spend much time in Morganville, but Rachel Caine still whips up a satisfyingly funny, creepy little urban fantasy. And I get the feeling that big stuff is about to happen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2012
Kiss of death is the 8th installment in the Morganville Vampires series and I've got to say, it has to be one of my favourites. It's main focus is Michael and his recording Demo. The studio is based outside Of Morganville so him and the rest of the gang jump at the chance to get out for a few days although Oliver is an escort. Even outside of the remote town, trouble follows them. Morley has made it out of town and has hastily got the group into a mess including some other night crawlers.

Its completely refreshing to get a change of scenery and be out of Morganville awhile and it change the perspection of the town. Once looked at as a cage, being trapped. Now as a place of safety with familiar surroundings and minimized protection. The progression in Claire is vast aswell. She was once a girl who couldn't stand up for herself, now she is brave and can talk up to vampires, not to mention stake them with pencils...

The relationship with Eve&Michael went through a rough patch and will never be perfect but I like them too together. Also Shane&Claire are much more stronger; its more serious. There a match made in heaven. Oliver quite parculiar. He is full of mistery. We see more warmth coming from him towards the end of the book. Morley starts to be a character we rely on and hope for the best with too. Even Jason starts showing glimmers of hope.

Overall, its a great book that cannot be put down. Its fiesty, fierce and fresh!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse