Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 16 March 2014
I read this as it was something different to my normal reading material.
A fantastic account of one man's POW experience, and what he and a large number of other went through just for doing their duty for their country and their families future.
I feel privileged to have spent time reading Dons story..thank you.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2014
This book takes you through the journey and experience of one American soldiers experience of being a POW. His letters are insightful with his optimism to his family and how he survived. Like many people in the present day I take for granted the ease and all the little things in life we have. This book helps remind you that it has been worse. An excellent read for any WWII historian or hobbyist.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2014
An account of life in German POW camps as outlined in Don's letters home. Don's main problem was boredom. Although he was good with words Don found it difficult to say anything interesting - in fact just passing time was a key skill. As Don explained, ironing a shirt (irons were made from old tins) could, with diligence, be made to last a whole morning!

The apparently adequate prison food was supplemented by relatively regular Red Cross parcels which also contained other goodies such as cigarettes (which also had currency value). The camp had a theatre, educational talks were given, Don learnt to play the trumpet, and so on. No doubt escaping, where it took place, was driven as much by finding something worthwhile to do as actually escaping.

Given the pressure the Germans forces were under particularly from 1944 on, I was surprised that prison routines were apparently largely maintained, even moving camps as Allied forces closed in.

This is a good free short read.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2014
I am a book person, the feel and the way you know where you were when you 1st read the book. I finally got round to seeing what all the kindle thing was about and, I picked this as my 1st kindle book as it was a free book, a subject i like and it wasn't too long page wise. After reading it, i felt as if i knew Don, both through his war life and in the autumn of his years as he re-lived his tales to family members , who thankfully have written down his memories for all to relive. It was a very easy read, and well written, both in the 1st person and 3rd person. and written with a true fondness for this man. For my 1st kindle experience i feel it will be an easy book to remember it as my 1st kindle book, in the introduction there are others listed, so I will look out for these.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 June 2014
Lovely tale well written about the life of a pow would love to read more about his life on his return to the us
22 comments|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2014
It is amazing what people endured to make the world a better place. Thank you for sharing these letters, what Don went through i hope no one today experiences. It is amazing how the supply networks continued to get information and food to and from POW's even in the heart of war. A really good read.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 November 2014
This book from the start give you the feeling that it covers the life of a reluctant hero and wonderful human being, one whom every one would want to be their uncle.

Great job to bring so much out from such limited beginnings..... Enjoyed it immensely.
,
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
This is an amazing account of war and survival. I would give this to schools the length and breadth of the UK to understand why , where, respect, humility and to show that ordinary people do extraordinary things
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2014
A touching tale, thru letters home, of one man's war being incarcerated in a prisoner of war camp. His day to day struggle for survival and his concern for his family back home in the USA.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
A story of life in a prisoner of war camp, his thoughts and experiences, and eventual escape. He tells the story of many men who have been in similar circumstances everywhere. A good read.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)