Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the right person to ask
How can there not already be a review of this fine book? I read it a few years ago but I feel I must try to make amends. As I recall, it was a surprisingly candid account. Published when Beatlemania still had the world in its thrall you would hardly expect Brian to give such forthright opinions of the fab four, but he does. Drawing human portraits of the Beatles,...
Published on 21 Oct 2007 by J. I. De Beresford

versus
0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Really Disappointed
. I've read quite few beatles books and this has to be the worst., did'nt bother finishing it, waste of money
Published 11 months ago by dicky darts


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the right person to ask, 21 Oct 2007
By 
J. I. De Beresford "safemouse" (Farnham) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
How can there not already be a review of this fine book? I read it a few years ago but I feel I must try to make amends. As I recall, it was a surprisingly candid account. Published when Beatlemania still had the world in its thrall you would hardly expect Brian to give such forthright opinions of the fab four, but he does. Drawing human portraits of the Beatles, warts and all. What is more, this was apparently cobbled together from a tape Brian dictated over the course of a weekend yet reads as elegant, engaging prose. Many mediocre biographies of the Beatles drew heavily on this valuable first hand account. This book certainly has more merit than something which the odd quote can be extracted from. It is a first class pot boiler, you might say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The real 'real' story, 30 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Noise (Kindle Edition)
This was actually quite entertaining to read - as a unique document of its time. We've read so many accounts of the troubled life of Brian Epstein - the insecure, unhappy, fifth-wheel who screwed up almost every contract he made for the Beatles. The accounts that analyse him and go under his skin. This book, mostly ghost written of course, for the first time presents Brian Epstein 'with his skin', i.e. the way he portrayed himself in the early sixties - how the world must have seen him, how probably the Beatles saw him, and how he wanted to see himself. It's a very revealing read - showing him with a charming mixture of pompous self-aggrandizement and humorous self-deprecation. In doing so, it is still surprisingly honest - about his failures as a child and teenager, his relation to the Beatles (very revealing anecdotes about all four of them!), his give-and take with the press, and his (totally wrong) views on the music business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This very sad but well written book, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Noise (Kindle Edition)
Took me back to my teen years and made the events of the time make more sense. It demonstrated innocence lost and how naive we all were. The story made me feel so lingeringly sad for Brian: if he had lived in this era he probably wouldn't have felt the need to take his life. That was a huge recent shock to me, as , I imagine, it was to the fans back then. Brilliant book for its genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brian Epstein Autobiography, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Noise (Kindle Edition)
I found it very enjoyable and interesting as well as an easy read. Could well have been ghost-written but never mind! If it was I assume Brian Epstein was happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ...by Derek Taylor, 30 Aug 2013
This review is from: A Cellarful of Noise (Kindle Edition)
Reading Beatles books is a lifelong hobby of mine. I read this one many years ago, and sure enough it's an interesting and worthwhile read for fans of the band, which opens a window onto events as they were unfolding. Decades later, now we're all living in the multi-layered Beatles myth, it's refreshing and instructive to revisit a contemporary account such as this.

A Cellarful Of Noise is candid, within the limits of what was then permissible or politic to print, and in that it is essentially an extended piece of publicity. An important thing to know about it is that, while benefiting from Epstein's (taped) input to an unspecified degree, it was ghostwritten by Beatles press agent Derek Taylor. Nonetheless, Epstein's voice can be heard, and the book gets four stars for its uniqueness in that respect.

If you want to read an unequivocally good account of the Beatles' early years, get Love Me Do: The Beatles Progress by Michael Braun, which was the first serious book to be published about the band and remains one of the best. Braun went on the road with the Fabs just as Beatlemania was starting to gather steam, and he delivered a proper piece of objective, intelligent, well-written journalism that understood its subjects and their milieu, and still stands up today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Noise (Kindle Edition)
Loved this book lived through this era so it was extremely interesting for me to see the inside of what went on
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From the horses mouth as it were!, 25 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Noise (Kindle Edition)
A great behind the scenes look at the real Beatles story , well worth a look for any Beatles fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Cellarful of Noise, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Noise (Kindle Edition)
An interesting book giving an insight into the thoughts of Brian Epstein at the height of The Beatle's fame. Of its own time, but worth reading for a fan of The Beatles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Cellarful of Noise (Kindle Edition)
I have read the Brian Epstein story and I bought this on Kindle and loved it. I enjoyed reading Brian's own words and his thoughts and feelings on events spent with the Beatles and others. It's a very good read and I highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Beatles book by the man responsible for their success, 11 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A cellarful of noise (Hardcover)
This is probably the most important book on The Beatles by the man responsible for their success. Had it not been for Brian Epstein The Beatles may never have been heard of outside of Liverpool. Having realized their potential Brian Epstein could be said to have changed the course of popular music. By the time the Americans had got themselves reorganized it was too late. British groups had taken over. Brian Epstein's mistake seems to ha e been his weakness for sharing his group's partiality for drugs and it is may be that his overdose was an accident resulting from something he could not cope with. His death ironically probably led to the death of The Beatles as a group and may explain the Sergeant Pepper LP cover.
This book is essential reading for anyone interested in the group which changed the face of pop music and should be reprinted along with the original photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Cellarful of Noise
A Cellarful of Noise by Brian Epstein
2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews