Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shallow graves but deep emotions!
Whilst the accounts of the horrors of the gulags are now well documented this book brings a real sense of emotion to the facts. Just when the reader is convinced of the absolute brutality of the Russian people the description of the peasant couple, who selflessly endanger their freedom to help Krupa gain his, makes you think again! It really is a book to be read in one...
Published on 9 July 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Read one, read them all
If you haven't read similar books you may enjoy this one. I found it boring as it is no different to lots of others of a similar elk, apart from the fact that I found I simply did not believe some of the things which (so say) happened.
Published on 1 May 2012 by Avid reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shallow graves but deep emotions!, 9 July 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whilst the accounts of the horrors of the gulags are now well documented this book brings a real sense of emotion to the facts. Just when the reader is convinced of the absolute brutality of the Russian people the description of the peasant couple, who selflessly endanger their freedom to help Krupa gain his, makes you think again! It really is a book to be read in one sitting but beware, on completion you will feel exhausted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WORTH READING!, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a story! Life writes the scenarios that we do not even dream of. Mr. Michał was not the only one who survived the tragedy of war, but he was one of the "few" who wanted to talk about it. Sometimes these experiences was easier to hold in themselves, because they were so terrible and returning to them so painful that man prefers to hide them as deeply in themself as possible. About the book, you may think that this is pure fiction, but I know that it is true that Mr. Michał is a survivor. How I know this, because I saw the trace of a bullet in his neck … I had the incredible pleasure of meeting Mr. Michał three years ago and sit on a chair in his living room and listen with bated breath to his story ... A tear in the eye turns as you hear these stories and you can only come to the conclusion how lucky we are to be alive here and now. You have to appreciate and ask that such stories will NEVER happen again.

Michael Krupa died on 6th October 2013 aged 98

R.I.P.
Niech spoczywa w spokoju.

Polakowi Polka
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, just hope it's true :), 3 Sept. 2012
//This true story details the journey of Michael Krupa. Captured by the Soviets and accused of being a German spy he is tortured and sentenced to a term in the notorious Russian Gulags. Whilst there he acquires a prestigious and trusted job as a Telephone repair man, a job that allows him weeks of travel unescorted, he soon begins to think of escape.

We follow his trek fromSiberia to safety in Afghanistan.

In the novel there are some graphic details of torture (including a woman interogator who removes tesicles with a poker), and many touching moments (such as the help given by strangers, in particular a couple who's son has also gone missing into the Gulags).

I really enjoyed this book, the only reason I gave it 4 stars was that a number of reviews have questioned the integrity of the authors story. I don't know if it is all true, but I would certainly like to think so.

22/9/13 - I have received a comment on here from the Authors daughter, and this made me want to reread the book again. Having done so, I have now altered the rating to 5 stars. And would urge everyone to try the book and be amazed at the adventures. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and moving, 16 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A gripping tale, made all the more poignant and shocking since it is all true. Similar to tales of the holocaust, Michael Krupa's book should be read by anyone wanting an insight into the realities of dispair and the dehumanisation techniques of a regime (here the Soviet Stalinist one) that cares only for its own order, power and prowess. This is how low some humans can stoop to given the right combination of tools and appointed dictators bent solely on absolute power at all costs. Shallow Graves is also a very uplifting book showing how the human spirit can survive the hardest of situations and conditions and the lengths one will go to obtain freedom. Krupa does an excellent job of keeping us hooked to the very last page. The prose are uncluttered, clear and 'to the point' which makes the account of his escape to freedom all the more powerful and moving. Indeed the last half of the book reads like a virtual thriller. I found this book a superb read, and an important and moving account that I didn't want to end, and one that will stay with me for the rest of me life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very moving/touching/emotional read., 15 Jan. 2011
By 
An excellent book, well written, which I found difficult to put down. The author's descriptions of his horrendous experiences are very moving. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most amazing true story I've ever read..., 12 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
This is the most amazing story of one man's escape across Russia, giving him a unique view of the Soviet regime in action, which no-one has been able to tell before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Story, 12 Sept. 2006
By 
H. Sokolowski (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What Michael Krupa lived through is incredible. In telling this story, Krupa did not need to embellish or exaggerate. No fiction writer could not have come up with this kind of horror. Once I began to read the book, I could not put it down and finished it in one sitting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible true story, 20 Dec. 2006
By 
Griffstar (CZECH REPUBLIC) - See all my reviews
Michael Krupa is an absorbing writer and I read this book very quickly. The story of his life, tragically caught up in the Communist Gulag, is the most fascinating true story I have read. I recommend this book for people who are interested in finding out more about the Gulag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 25 Jan. 2012
This text was brilliant and moving and probably the best in the 'escape from Gulag/Russia' genre. Really helps one gain perspective to try and appreciate what is meant by the word 'freedom' - really humbled by this tale. A brilliant man, who at times had a really fortunate roll of the dice to get out of this one way ticket to a rapid demise. I know this will be read by me more than once..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book you must read!!!, 29 Mar. 2009
This is truly a great book, one which pulls you in, consumes your life until you get to the last few lines... freedom wonderful freedom! A gripping story of contrast from the idyllic peasant life in Poland's Tatra Mountains to the ultimate despair of torture and incarceration in Lubianca Prison and the resultant sentence to a Siberian Concentration Camp; every step of the way you follow Krupa to the brink of his endurance, following every step of his amazing escape through the heart of communist Russia. This book is a unique insight into WWII Russia under Stalin's rule and a great story. I recommend this book to anyone who has read 'The Long Walk', 'The Forgotten Soldier', or anyone interested in WWII. Also I would recommend to anyone who likes war stories in General like Sharpe, Hornblower etc. Just remember that this story has all the action and adventure of those series but happens to be 100% true.
I had the lucky opportunity to speak to Michael Krupa (now aged almost 94) and would have loved to have read the sequel to this book which was to cover his life after Siberia, as part of the AK (Polish Secret Service)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shallow Graves in Siberia
Shallow Graves in Siberia by Michael Krupa
£4.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews