Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this - it's brilliant.
FALL FROM GRACE is totally compelling. If you've read SHADOW OF THE SERPENT you'll know that Ashton creates a world you inhabit with his characters; if it wasn't impossible you'd swear that the author lived in 19th century Edinburgh.

But this is no historical study - it's a tingling, scary, thrilling tale which thrusts you from low-life to grandee, from the...
Published on 19 July 2007 by Martyn

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great reviews, not such a great book I am afraid.
I bought this and was shocked at the lack of grammar and punctuation, the use of narrative voice that pops from head to head, and the opaque descriptions. The characters accents are not even all that constant. Very disappointing read so far.
Published 15 months ago by Allardyce


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Read this - it's brilliant., 19 July 2007
FALL FROM GRACE is totally compelling. If you've read SHADOW OF THE SERPENT you'll know that Ashton creates a world you inhabit with his characters; if it wasn't impossible you'd swear that the author lived in 19th century Edinburgh.

But this is no historical study - it's a tingling, scary, thrilling tale which thrusts you from low-life to grandee, from the bordello to the great house with a deftness of touch and an unflinching ironic gaze.The story is literally breath-taking and the people in it are people you want to spend time with and who you miss when the story's done.

McLevy is becoming one of the icons of detective fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An original voice, 26 July 2007
By 
Michael Cameron (Cardiff. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A quite original voice in the world of detective fiction, Mr Ashtons' writing delivers a palpable sense of place and time where his finely drawn characters work through narrative strands that are never gratuitous padding,but resolve to a very satisfactory whole.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lively writing in this atmospheric novel, 5 Feb. 2009
By 
Bluebell (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There have been a number of enjoyable short plays on BBC Radio 4 written by David Ashton featuring the idiosyncratic detective McLevy, constable Mulholland and the bawdy-house madam, Jean Brash. All three feature in this detective novel along with a number of other memorable characters. It takes a little time to get into this particular story, but once it's going it keeps you gripped, not least, by the lively and very humorous writing counter-balanced by the atmospheric descriptions of the darker side of Edinburgh in the Victorian era. The story intertwines with the real-life events surrounding the building and ultimate fate of the first railway bridge over the river Tay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another superb McLevy Mystery!, 28 Mar. 2010
By 
David Ashton has produced another gripping tale,this time involving Mclevy with an investigation into the Tay Bridge disaster.There is a sub-plot concerning Jean Brash and a couple of confidence tricksters, and the good inspector is in danger of falling in love.This is another quality offering from this author,who can produce an extremely well written mystery in half the number of pages used by some crime writers.There is no padding out the story in the McLevy books.In addition to the 'page-turning' pace of the writing, there are moments of humour.from subtle to belly laughs,and the supporting characters are as well portrayed as the protagonists.Highly recommended.

If you have not yet encountered McLevy, BBC Radio 7 features his adventures quite regularly,starring Brian Cox as Inspector James McLevy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bridge too far, 21 Aug. 2011
By 
Noel (Belfast, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is 2nd in the McLevy series of books and the first I have read. Unusually this is a book and a series of books based on the Radio Series, rather than the other way around. I have listened to some of the radio programmes on Radio 4 and was not captivated by them. It was by accident therefore that I bought this book and what a delight it was to read. I must have missed something on the radio, this is a very entertaining read. The tale of death and murder on an expanding scale, from the back street brothels of Edinburgh to Tay Bridge disaster. A cast of memorable characters where real events and people intermingle with the fictional.(including that pre-eminent Scots bard McGonagle.) A great story but best of all written with wit and humour. Must relisten to some of those radio programmes when they come around again on Radio 4Extra.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another gripping read, 5 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this ebook after reading Shadow of the Serpent and was not disappointed. A really gripping read, intelligently written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great detective story, 30 Aug. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A really engaging crime story written by David Ashton who is apparently a very popular writer in other European countries but hardly known in UK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent read from a homegrown author!, 12 Aug. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thank god for Kindle, I've only discovered Insp McLevy and have quickly became a huge fan, excellent reading and plenty of humour.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Reading, 29 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I loved this book, it is an excellent read. The writing reminds me of Kate Atkinson, one of my favourite authors. I have downloaded the second book and am already enjoying it. I would definitely recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 11 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed this - the writing is good and the historical background very interesting. I found the characters to be well drawn and the plot was pretty good too - in fact all the ingredients for a very good period thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews