Customer Reviews


124 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Over the moon", captivated by the life story of Britain's most endearing Eastender
Once again the unique talent and persona of one of Britain's greatest stars makes for a cracking good read. The amazing Mr Essex gives us another well written and honest insight into his life and passions as he looks back over his long and varied career.

I defy anyone to name a more versatile or successful performer of our times. He writes it as he lives it...
Published on 1 Mar. 2012 by Sally Lowe

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OVER THE MOON.
An easy read (what I believe is an updated version of his first autobiography) Over the Moon begins with the stars formative years in the east end of London before quickly, very quickly, moving onto his rise to fame as a musician and star of the stage and screen.

What seems like a very honest autobiography, certainly this is a very down-to-earth, dignified and...
Published on 2 May 2013 by Tracy Terry


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

62 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Over the moon", captivated by the life story of Britain's most endearing Eastender, 1 Mar. 2012
By 
Sally Lowe (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Over the Moon (Hardcover)
Once again the unique talent and persona of one of Britain's greatest stars makes for a cracking good read. The amazing Mr Essex gives us another well written and honest insight into his life and passions as he looks back over his long and varied career.

I defy anyone to name a more versatile or successful performer of our times. He writes it as he lives it with integrity and honesty.

It is a refreshing story which avoids the inevitable entourages that are favoured by so many of today's so called celebrities. David Essex has always maintained his dignity and professionalism never taking for granted the success that he has worked so hard to achieve. As a man who usually prefers to keep his private life private David recounts candidly but kindly tales of his many liaisons within the sometimes less than kind entertainment world which has been his stage for over 50 years and in doing so gives warm and genuine credit to those who have worked alongside him.

His natural charisma and humour cannot fail to captivate the reader who will quickly discover his work ethic and absolute professionalism in all genres which endears him to all those he meets at whatever level. As Eddie Moon he has developed the character in his own inimitable style to create a whole new generation of fans.

Those who only know the Eddie Moon Mr Essex will find this book a revealing and interesting journey from his own East end roots of relative poverty through the dizzy heights of fame and success achieved in the 1970's to the more thoughtful and reflective person who by his own admission has "never properly appreciated his success" Prepare to be astounded and amazed by one of Britain's most talented and unique performers, as an actor, singer, writer, producer, and devoted Father he provides his own intimate account of the highs and lows he has encountered along the way.

As the first amazon reviewer of his earlier book "A Charmed Life" I am compelled to say that much of this book was familiar but even so I like many others cannot fail to enjoy David's honest and endearing insight into both his personal and professional characters.

This book brings us right up to date and a whole new generation of fans can experience David Essex as the absolute star he is. I suspect that fans both new and old will indeed be "over the moon" at this updated autobiography of Britain's most endearing Eastender and like me can look forward to the chapters yet to be written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mr Essex meets Mr Moon, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Moon (Kindle Edition)
An excellent autobiography from Mr Essex a true and frank story of his personal , popstar and acting career. A very good book with plenty of unknown facts could not put this book down
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars All I hoped it was, 21 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Moon (Hardcover)
Really enjoyed reading this book , David Essex seems unpretentious and his talent is obvious . I remember the Godspell era when my sons were teenagers and was charmed then by his appealing good looks and natural charm , When he turned up in Eastenders he proved that he still had 'it' - glad I bought it. As mentioned before he is a true gentleman who has many facets -long may he continue to entertain us.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Autobiography:David Essex, 27 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Moon (Hardcover)
Always been a fan since the 'Godspell' days so what's not to like.My poor husband took me and two of my daughters and one of their friends to a concert of David's and we were seated next to some huge speakers and he said we all screamed, don't remember that,LOL,but I think that is what you would call above and beyond the call of duty. David Essex is still going strong after all these years and it's nice to hear about his life and family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read By A Great Artist., 18 Mar. 2012
By 
This review is from: Over the Moon (Hardcover)
Its good to read the David Essex life story as it is actually written by him rather than ghosted as many many autobiographies are these days.
We read of his humble beginnings in the East-end that inform his character today. For instance he has always been the sort of artist who is accessible to fans, signing autographs after concerts and staying for a few words afterwards. But essentially a private person blessed with a great talent.
He started off in the China Plates pop group as a drummer. Then he moved on to become a solo singer in the 1960s discovered by his mentor at the time Derek Bowman who was great influence on David in his formative show business days.
The book tells of his big break playing Jesus Christ in "God spell". Before that break he was about to turn his back on show business.
Then came two hit movies "That Will Be The Day" and "Stardust" both of which showed what a strong actor he was and is.
Then of course the hit singles "Rock On" and "Lamplight". Then more hits in the British charts "Gonna Make You A Star" and Hold Me Close". All this success established him as a great British star allowing David to move between different mediums including television, theater, plus a great deal of writing including new album material and scores for shows.
He had a massive theater success in 1978 with "Evita" playing Che to great critical acclaim. All this he took in his stride being true to himself and gaining the respect and affection of the British public.
From then on he toured extensively across Britain and abroad on a yearly basis,often the shows sold out as he often states live concerts are his favorite way to express his song writing and communicate with his legions of fans.
He has recorded many albums with his music moving with the times but still essentially David Essex.
He writes of the hit musical "All the Fun Of The Fair" which has proved another success for him and a great use of his early catalog of hits.
His time on Eastenders is interesting to read about, which his presence increased the viewing figures for the show.
Amongst this he has always been a person whose family and background are very important to him. A West Ham fan and a lover of sport.
In many respects an ordinary man but an extraordinary man to last this long in show business with a phenomenal work rate. I believe its called star quality, which he has in bucket loads together with real lasting talent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars David Essex - Over the Moon - Unputdownable, 13 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Moon (Hardcover)
Fabulous read, but very disappointed that in the kindel edition there were no pictures(photographs). David has truly led a charmed life. well worth the money!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over the Moon, 31 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Moon (Hardcover)
Very good read. A must for David's fans. A look into how David became a star. Cannot put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OVER THE MOON., 2 May 2013
An easy read (what I believe is an updated version of his first autobiography) Over the Moon begins with the stars formative years in the east end of London before quickly, very quickly, moving onto his rise to fame as a musician and star of the stage and screen.

What seems like a very honest autobiography, certainly this is a very down-to-earth, dignified and refreshing read in that there are no so-called 'kiss and tell' stories which feature in the biographies of so many 'celebs'.

Though I suspect this is a must have read for all of David's legion of fans (both old and new) it may well be of greater interest to his new fans, to those who know him primarily through his role as Eddie Moon in tv show EastEnders, as whilst there are one or two little documented facts much of the story is well known ..... even to someone who isn't a particularly big fan.

Copyright: Petty Witter @ Pen and Paper.

Over the Moon: My Autobiography
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over The moon, 25 Mar. 2012
This review is from: Over the Moon (Hardcover)
This has to have been the best book I've read in a long time(well since 'A Charmed Life' anyway)a great re-read and continuing story written with lots of humour and genuine feelings,held me from start to finish, and I agree with other comments that like wine Mr Essex just gets better and better and long may he continue to do so,
Lee
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Over The Moon, 12 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Over the Moon (Kindle Edition)
I just loved this book, I could not put it down, I have followed David through much of his career, and he has never failed to entertain me. His book shows he is a true gentleman, down to earth with no frills. Thank you David xx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Over the Moon
Over the Moon by Various
£3.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews