Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Blu Ray Double Pack
The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray][Region Free]
Please ignore the 2 star review of this product written on 28th march 2012.
Its factually incorrect.
This product contains both John Carpenters The Thing and the 2011 prequel simply titled The Thing.
JC The Thing is a five star horror classic, still disturbing and tense to this day and...
Published on 29 Mar 2012 by D. Mccaffrey

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good
Yeah good.
Published 3 months ago by Christopher Hopkins


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Value Blu Ray Double Pack, 29 Mar 2012
By 
This review is from: The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray][Region Free]
Please ignore the 2 star review of this product written on 28th march 2012.
Its factually incorrect.
This product contains both John Carpenters The Thing and the 2011 prequel simply titled The Thing.
JC The Thing is a five star horror classic, still disturbing and tense to this day and looks fantastic on Blu Ray, the transfer is excellent. The special effects still hold up to this day and the disc comes with all features from its previous seperate Blu Ray release.
2011 The Thing is a decent, worthy prequel but it relies too heavily on CGI. 3 stars for this film. Its forgettable and a tame horror experience compared to Carpenters film. The disc contains deleted scenes, a 15 minute 'making of' a commentary and a 4 minute documentary on dealing with fire stunts. Anybody who has this on BR or DVD, please watch the deleted scene 'Colin' and let me know why the heck was that deleted?!
The end of the film ties up PERFECTLY with the beginning of Carpenters version, and it makes a perfect double bill, especially on Blu Ray as Carpenters version now looks nearly as good as the prequel due to the great transfer.

This is a great double pack, and great value. I would recommend it to anyone looking to buy 2011 The Thing and doesnt already have Carpenters version on BR as this is a chance to get it for £3!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The warmest place to hide is man!, 25 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
What a tag line! I watch the first thing back in the early 90s one Saturday night when I came back from the pub, being merry and watching a horror about shape changing life forms from another world don't mix, put it this way the dog was put in the kitchen that night!
Anyway the movie has been remaster for blu ray and a Newly made prequel added to the mix, this makes a fantastic 4 hours of horror but there are some draw backs, as already mentioned in previous reviews the new prequel relies to much upon its effects and less on characters so when the inevitable blood bath begins you don't have the same interest in the outcome. The original 82 film is by far one of the finest horror movies of all time and one I can sit and watch over and over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Thing - Blue-Ray, 9 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Both Blue-ray movies are exellent in both picture and sound and are well worth buying..Its a pity their in seperate boxes and make the double pack bulky and not one slim box..But still worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pardon the pun, but good Things come in 2's., 29 Jun 2012
By 
S. J. M (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Ok, from the beginning. I am a massive fan of the John Carpenter '82 Original "The Thing", I own it on DVD and now I have it, and its 2011 prequel on Bluray. And in this pack I got one hellova deal.

Starting with the original, I won't dig into the story for fear of giving things away, but its a classic film and arguably JC's best. The only negative thing I can think of, is it's a tad dated in some respects but it still stands strong today in its effects (no CGI here!) and the cast are all on top form with their portrayal of their characters stuck in this awful predicament. Where the film is at its best, is in the horror and to my mind there is few films since that can match it for suspense. And the best thing of this disk, is that it all comes to life in glorious Hi-Def and its never looked this good. You also get all the bonus features (and the excellent "The Terror takes shape" feature) included, so its a win/win situation.

In short, its a classic film that's received a very good transfer to bluray and has all the special features included. If you own the DVD, I can assure you its well worth replacing it. And if you don't own the DVD, here is the box to go for.

***** (5 star)

And to the 2nd film which is the prequel to Carpenters film. Annoyingly it too is titled "The Thing". I'm not sure why the production team named it so, I always thought the title "Who goes there?" (of John W. Campbell, Jr's short novella the films are based on) would have been better. I started this film with a heavy amount of trepidation, being a massive fan of the original I've always been curious how things happened prior to the original film and so wanted this film to work. And for the best part, it exceeded my expectations. Luckily, its really not that bad a film. Sure, it borrows heavily from the original, and the CGI isn't the best I've seen (and not a patch on the puppetry of the original) but it works for the most part and luckily is mainly seen in the darkness, hiding it to some extent. Sadly, there is also a few film clichés here too, a strong female lead in a predominant male cast (ala Aliens) and the mandatory scientist who wants to keep being a scientist ("For science!") when things are failing around them. But for the bad/annoying bits in the film, there's some good scenes here and some good scares too. If you don't allow the film to be taken too seriously, its quite enjoyable.

The Thing ('11) isn't as good as the '82 film. But it has its moments and fans of the original will enjoy some good touches in there. The film still looks excellent in hi-def, although its the 1st time I'd seen it on any format so I have nothing to compare to. There isn't much in the way of special features aside from outtakes & 2 short making-of bits.

***1/2 (3.5 stars)

So on the box, at its current listing of £12 (June 2012) its a steal. For that you are getting 1 amazing film and 1 'ok' film together in 1 box. I really want to give this product 5*, if only because I love the original so much (and it is really good) but the prequel drags it down a little, but give it a chance, you might end up liking both films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Double Bill, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Just did my review of the DVD of the newer film so won't repeat what i said there - it is a good film. Not up to the JC version but well worth a watch or six (yeah I have watched it six times which is about a tenth of what I have watched the JC version!!) Blu ray transfer to me is great on both films and when you think about the age of the JC version that is quite something. However, the JC transfer is just so detailed that it can highlight the effects work a bit too much and I think in places it can make them stand out a bit as a SFX as opposed to just part of the film. At this money it is a steal. Get it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TOP FILMS !!, 20 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Best Duoligy of films ever .. Great !!! , can watch these
over and over and never get tired .. get these now 10/10 !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Thing box, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
Very nice,the old(1982) and the new(2011)movies together in one box on blu-ray.
An good price and nice box an must for a thing lover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Both films very good quality, 2 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
I didn't expect to like the later film but was actually really good. The picture and sound quality on both blu rays was really good. A very worthwhile addition to the blu ray collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mum's Christmas!, 25 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
She will love it! You can buy the original film for £8 but this deal gets you the original and the newer version for £5!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Double the value!, 22 Oct 2013
By 
G. Hall "book firbeck" (doncaster UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] (Blu-ray)
This double pack is exceptional value for money. The original one by John Carter is still a classic and the remake was also edge of the seat stuff. For those who love a good horror movie this double pack is certainly for you. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
The Thing (Double Pack Including Original) [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Matthijs van Heijningen Jr (Blu-ray - 2012)
£9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews