Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb cats and recording. All up to expectations
I chose it because it was strongly recommended by a friend. We had both seen the recent Glyndbourne production and I wanted a
good recording. Lorraine Hunt was one of the attractions. It will hardly be off my player!
Published 19 months ago by Roger Knight

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous recording, but NO libretto!!
This is a re-release of a truly outstanding recording from 1997, in which Lorraine Hunt as Phedre and Mark Padmore as Hippolyte particularly shine. (They may well have constituted a "dream team" for Christie: they also appeared in his 1994 production of Charpentier's Medee, also released on CD, in 1995.) I certainly prefer this version to Minkowski's, in particular...
Published 19 months ago by SA


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous recording, but NO libretto!!, 26 Sept. 2013
By 
SA (Oxford, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie (Audio CD)
This is a re-release of a truly outstanding recording from 1997, in which Lorraine Hunt as Phedre and Mark Padmore as Hippolyte particularly shine. (They may well have constituted a "dream team" for Christie: they also appeared in his 1994 production of Charpentier's Medee, also released on CD, in 1995.) I certainly prefer this version to Minkowski's, in particular because of these two artists. The recording itself merits 5 stars.

But - and it is a big 'but' - this re-release, which looks identical to the original, is cheap because it is missing the libretto! The original is also available, I believe, with the ASIN: B000005E4S. It's more expensive, but so useful to have the libretto -- not least to follow the subtleties of this performance -- that there's really no choice. I should also say that Rameau made so many changes to this opera in its different stagings (as he did with all his operas), that it's important to have the libretto to know which version you're following (though I don't think this performance follows any of Rameau's precisely).

Shame on Amazon, and on Erato, for not making this important difference clear. For this, the recording gets only 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb cats and recording. All up to expectations, 12 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie (Audio CD)
I chose it because it was strongly recommended by a friend. We had both seen the recent Glyndbourne production and I wanted a
good recording. Lorraine Hunt was one of the attractions. It will hardly be off my player!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good buy, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie (Audio CD)
This opera by Rameau is typical of French Baroque music. William Christie offers excellent conducting and Lorraine Hunt delivers an extremely good performance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Early opera not often performed, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie (Audio CD)
The music of this opera is beautiful and unexpectedly accessible. We bought the CD as a prelude to going to Glyndebourne to see it and were surprised and delighted with both. I would heartily recommend this for anyone interested in opera. We shall listen to it frequently I am sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hippolyte et Aricie, 26 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie (Audio CD)
I was lucky enough to see this on a wonderful summer day at Glyndebourne last year (a warm summer evening was a rarity last year), and this splendid recording brought it all back. Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect playing, 6 Aug. 2013
By 
London (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie (Audio CD)
great cd, with a superb cast and well conducted - a gem of a work - good cd with good booklet
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful piece of work, 18 Dec. 2012
By 
B. Charlton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie (Audio CD)
I remember this work about 15 years ago and even buying this one recently reminds me of it. The story and the music by Rameau is extremely good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gem, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie (Audio CD)
Simply wonderful music and exceptional singing. Christie brings real insight born of his long experience and Lorraine hunt is one of the all time great singers is superb with the other soloists not far behind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie
Rameau: Hippolyte et Aricie by Jean-Philippe Rameau (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews