Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


143 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sony Camcorder
Purchased this HD camcorder as I was not happy with the blurry image from my old jvc mini dv cam.
I looked at loads of reviews and this came up as a decent HD camera for the price, it turned out an
excellent choice, stunning picture when connected to my 37" HD tv, IM using the FX setting, which
is the best quality AVCHD recording mode, this gives about 90...
Published on 1 April 2012 by David Williams

versus
95 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony HDR CX190
I am a wildlife guide & photographer & have used many DSLR's in the last 10 years, but I was new to the world of camcorders. I just wanted something easy to point & shoot, to grab interesting/rare moments/species when out guiding others as I rarely have time to capture these moments properly with an SLR.

Positives

1) Easy to use & understand, fairly...
Published on 15 Aug 2012 by Chris Mills


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

143 of 145 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Sony Camcorder, 1 April 2012
By 
David Williams (cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sony Handycam CX190 Full HD Camcorder - Black (5.3MP, 25x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Purchased this HD camcorder as I was not happy with the blurry image from my old jvc mini dv cam.
I looked at loads of reviews and this came up as a decent HD camera for the price, it turned out an
excellent choice, stunning picture when connected to my 37" HD tv, IM using the FX setting, which
is the best quality AVCHD recording mode, this gives about 90 mins of recording time on a 16gb sd card.
I downloaded the Play Memories software to get the files on computer through the built in usb hub, and
successfully copied AVCHD files to a standard DVD disc. You can do minor editing on the camera or on play
memories but Im going to purchase serif software for serious editing, its on offer at the moment for 20.
Note! The recorded AVCHD disc will not play on a normal DVD player, you have to have a blu ray player
or playstation 3, I played my recording on my blu ray player with excellent results, even night shots
with very little light were very good.
I highly recommend his camcorder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


317 of 324 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant camera but it's not full HD, 14 Jun 2012
This review is from: Sony Handycam CX190 Full HD Camcorder - Black (5.3MP, 25x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I've had this camera for a month now and i'm very pleased with it. The build quality is excellent as you'd expect from Sony and the camera itself is very small, about the same size as a modern computer mouse. Everything is in exactly the right place and it sits very nicely in your grip when in use, the zoom lever is perfectly placed and there's an extra groove to fit a finger into.
It couldn't be simpler to record with, just one push of the REC button to start and another to stop. Using the video afterwards is not quite so simple but i'll come onto that later. It has a photo mode so with one push of the MODE button it turns into a digital camera. The photos taken with this are average at best so i wouldn't want to use it as my only holiday camera but the quality of the photos are just the same as a low-end 2 megapixel phone. It's a nice feature to have if you only want to carry one camera for everything and aren't too bothered about having amazing quality. I found a much better way to get photos is simply to record some HD video for 1 second then grab an image of that when you play it back on a PC. There's no flash though so it'd be no good as a still camera in the dark.

The video quality is of a very high standard, far above what you find on other cheaper brands that have impressive specs but fall short when you compare them to a qaulity camcorder such as this. It looks as good as any TV broadcast i've seen with super sharp colours. The Exmor R sensor means it records brilliantly even in low light conditions such as when shooting indoors. It really does make a difference and that's just one thing you pay extra for over the cheap cameras that look bad indoors.

The main point to make with the video is that it is not full HD, no matter what it says on any adverts or even on the box. If you don't know or care about technical stuff then it won't matter but there are two kinds of "full" HD. One is 1080i and means the camera records line 1,3,5 etc. And then goes back and records lines 2,4,6 etc. So it only records half the image at any time. 1080P means it records everyline, all the time, giving a slightly better picture (but you'd be hard pushed to tell the difference between i and p even with 2 TV's next to each other).
Before 2011 any camera saying "Full HD" was 1080p but this one is only 1080i. I did a lot of research into this before buying and even people who owned the camera and had posted videos on Youtube seem confused as to whether it's 1080p or 1080i. Look on the official Sony site and it'll tell you in the specs it's 1080i. If you open the camera up and put it on full quality it'll say i and not p on the screen. "Full HD" only means it records 1080 lines of video and not that it's progressive.

There are some great features on this camera. I noticed before i bought it that it had a built in USB cable which slots into the strap when not in use. I wondered what the point of this was but it really does come in handy because not only can you transfer files through it but it can be used to charge the camera meaning you can avoid having to carry around yet another AC adaptor with you. Taking out the memory card and plugging it into a PC to transfer the files is not recommended as i'll come to in a moment.
Another great feature is the zoom mic. This amplifies the microphone when you zoom in so you effectively zoom in on conversations happening some distance away! It can be great when you're in a crowd and want to record what the guide at the front it saying or when you want to zoom in on some wildlife and hear as well as see them.

Speaking of the zoom, it goes up to 30x which is more than enough. It works up to 25x with the optical image stabaliser on and i'd recommend leaving that on. Even when i was on the back of a boat bobbing around in a rough sea it kept the image stable and avoided any annoying blurring. Again, that's why this camera costs more than some of the very cheap models you may have seen. I've zoomed in from the bottom the cliff right up into the window of a castle above and even at full zoom the picture is as good as if you're filming something right next to you.
The camera records at 24Mbps at full quality, taking up around 10GB per hour of HD video shot at 1080i. This is one of the downsides of this, and any HD, camcorder. The sheer amount of time and effort it takes to use whatever you film may put some off. It's easy to just plug the camera in to a TV, or take out the memory card and plug that into an SD slot on a TV, but if you want to edit the footage you're going to need some technical knowhow. Just plugging the SD card into a PC will result in you only getting video with no sound. You have to run it through a program such as Windows Movie Maker or Sony Vegas and convert the video to make it watchable on a PC. I have a very powperful PC with a 6 core processor, 8GB of RAM, Windows 7 64-bit and even with all that it takes around 5 times longer to record a film than the length of the film. For example, a 1 hour film that you shot will take 5 hours for a very fast PC to record. If you have an average PC it'll take about 8 hours per 1 hour of video. You can always shoot in SD but then what's the point in buying an HD camcorder? 720P works best and is much quicker taking only twice the amount of time to record as the length of the video you shot.

There are some great accessories for this camera such as batteries that last for 3, 6 or even 12 hours! The 12 hour one works great but it's the size of a brick and really weights the camera down. The standard battery that comes with the camera last for around 100 minutes.

Overall it's a great camera with superb video quality and i'm very pleased i bought it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


92 of 95 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic value for money, 17 May 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Handycam CX190 Full HD Camcorder - Black (5.3MP, 25x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I previously owned an old Dv tape VCR & needed to upgrade.

I tested several HD camcorders & found this one to have a silky smooth focus, which did not hunt to focus on the subject at its full focal length, which was apparent with sevearl others in the same price range.
It is extremely lightweight & although not the robust around it should stand the test of time short of throwing it around.

The quality of the recording is awesome & looked amazing when viewed on a 50" TV. As an added bonus the 5.3 MP stills are suprisingly good.

I would heartily recommend this to anyone looking to upgrade to full HD as it is so small, lightweight & produces images of the highest quality
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars kjm11, 26 July 2012
This review is from: Sony Handycam CX190 Full HD Camcorder - Black (5.3MP, 25x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Could not believe size and light weight. Have memory of first one used - needed to be a weightlifter with strong shoulder! Quality of picture excellent and 'smile' stills taken automatically great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


95 of 102 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Sony HDR CX190, 15 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Handycam CX190 Full HD Camcorder - Black (5.3MP, 25x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I am a wildlife guide & photographer & have used many DSLR's in the last 10 years, but I was new to the world of camcorders. I just wanted something easy to point & shoot, to grab interesting/rare moments/species when out guiding others as I rarely have time to capture these moments properly with an SLR.

Positives

1) Easy to use & understand, fairly intuitive for anyone use to using handheld/camera devices.
2) Focusses down close, so I can film small insects, like butterflies & dragonflies.
3) Very lightweight & incredibly small easily fits in jacket pocket or clips to your belt.
4) Auto settings judge light conditions & does well with exposure most of the time, in everything but an extreme situation.

So why did I only score it 3/5? See a big negative below!

Negative

1) I run a Mac & the inbuilt software does not work with a Mac. The videos you have captured can be viewed & ran on a mac, but the here's the real downside, the files (which are MTS format) need converting before you can edit them. This means for uploading to the web you have to spend lots of time messing around converting files before you can chop them down & upload them. It's hard to believe that the product is sold without compatible Mac software for editing.

2) The quality is fine for me, but is not that much better than an i-phone, but it does have the benefit of the big zoom & so it is way easier to get footage of wildlife.

if you do buy this camcorder & you want software to convert files, I find this site which offers software at around 25.00 it works very well. [...]

I have attached a video of a butterfly, that had been converted & edited for you to view. I can see that I will probably be trying a monopod in conjunction with the cam in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great camera it's a must have, 17 July 2012
This review is from: Sony Handycam CX190 Full HD Camcorder - Black (5.3MP, 25x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
Great camera it arrived quicker than exspected.
Great zoom and great 1080p full HD
I get 1hour and 40 mins battery life
Everything perfect great camera reccomend it to anyone who wants a good camera
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


55 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best camera for the money, 22 May 2012
By 
J. Marshall "Tib" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Handycam CX190 Full HD Camcorder - Black (5.3MP, 25x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I have had this camera for a couple of weeks now. It gives excellent detail and quality in both indoor and outdoor, as well as natural and low light. In low light, as long as you have it set properly, the quality is still very good with very little artefacts or noise, even in almost completely dark conditions.

The camera also takes photos, which are of good enough quality. The photos in daylight are fine, but I have found that in unnatural light they are pretty poor quality with loads of digital artefacts.

If you are recording in a quiet environment, the microphone on the camera is so sensitive that it will pick up the noise of the camera zooming, focusing etc. In this case, to avoid the constant noise of the autofocus etc. I recommend turning off 'face chaser', 'image stabilizer', and perhaps even switching to manual focus if you notice that it is still noisy.

Overall I love the camera. I was able to pick up a Komputerbay 32GB SDHC card on Amazon for a very reasonable price, as well as a high capacity NP-FV100 battery from mobilizers Amazon store. Both are well worth checking out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Little Wonder, 4 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Handycam CX190 Full HD Camcorder - Black (5.3MP, 25x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
I lent this to someone filming a concert. In a small auditorium of around 200 this machine delivered results which were simply stunning from the back of the theatre. It clearly has terrific low-light capability. The machine was simply left on auto and the quality was a world away from my old Video8 machine. The gig was filmed in SD ONLY. The bundled software also made light of any transfer to PC.
The downside to this machine and many modern bits of technology is that the build quality is a little disappointing. The navigation button on the LCD viewer felt as if it would be more at home on a children's toy. Personally, I'd prefer to pay extra for a more robust piece of equipment. However, at this price point, this is a wonderful piece of kit and would seem to be idiot-proof. I bought entirely on the strong reviews here on Amazon; they're not wrong. A great buy!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony Handycam CX190 Full had Camcorder, 31 May 2012
By 
K. Edmunds "ked 212000" (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Handycam CX190 Full HD Camcorder - Black (5.3MP, 25x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
The entry level of this new model of HD Handycams from Sony so the screen is not a touch screen like the others, this does not bother me at all as the touch screen models are much more expensive. It does everything it claims to do and is probably the current highest level of technology achieved in the Handycam market to date. I especially like the Auto feature and it is fine in low light which most Handycams are not. Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sony HDR-cx190, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sony Handycam CX190 Full HD Camcorder - Black (5.3MP, 25x Optical Zoom) 2.7 inch LCD (discontinued by manufacturer) (Electronics)
This was an addition to my collection of Handycams. All of my Sony cameras are used and not just sitting on a shelf in a show cabinet. The 190 is a lightweight High Definition camera with a zoom of 30x. Compared to some of the other Handycams it is relatively tiny but that does not detract from the excellent video that it takes. The lens has an average wide angle and you may need a slightly bigger front room if you want to get all the family in shot at the same time. There is no provision for adding a wide angle supplementary lens as there is no filter thread for that purpose. There is also no provision for adding any of the Sony accessories such as powered lights or an external microphone. Having said that though this 190 is really for the opportunist videosnapper and will give excellent coverage for the one handed, whip it out and wave it videographer. If it is used on a tripod then the video is excellent for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews