Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will cook from this book time and time again
Valentine Warner is quite well known in food circles, he has made quite a few TV programmes, some scheduled on the satellite food channels as well as writing other books and he has a website (which has other recipes). He is an avid hunter/gatherer/forager type of cook...none of which apply to me I might add, but I could have easily made a lot of the recipes in this book...
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by Susan M McKenzie

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usual mix of posh and do-able
This is a lovely retro feel book with an old fashioned cover and a marker ribbon. So far I like.

There is an expansive vegetarian section which was, in my view, better than the meat section, despite my being a confirmed carnivore (or maybe an omnivore, more accurately).

The New Potatoes with Stinking Bishop Cheese, Dad's Prawn Curry and Caeser Salad...
Published on 29 Nov 2011 by sam155


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usual mix of posh and do-able, 29 Nov 2011
By 
sam155 (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a lovely retro feel book with an old fashioned cover and a marker ribbon. So far I like.

There is an expansive vegetarian section which was, in my view, better than the meat section, despite my being a confirmed carnivore (or maybe an omnivore, more accurately).

The New Potatoes with Stinking Bishop Cheese, Dad's Prawn Curry and Caeser Salad are top of my list and easy enough. I have already made the Mushrooms Baked with Hazelnuts and Pecorino (substituting Pecorino for a mixture of Stilton and Parmesan) and they were fabulous.

I loved the full colour photographs and easygoing writing style. I loved the dessert chapter and I loved the fish section.

However, one thing that puts me off cookbooks and makes them seem a little less accessible is the apparent need to list as many ingredients as possible in the title of the dish. It sounds so fussy and off putting. However, I cannot criticise Mr Warner for this as it goes on everywhere and has done for years.

So I will leave you to ponder the importance of Salt Pollock With Peppers, Oranges and Chickpeas, or the Sardines With Garlic, Coriander and Fennel Seeds AND Sherry Vinegar.

Or just turn to page 142 and make the Kedgeree.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cheese on toast with mayo - are you sure?, 28 Nov 2011
A stylish but slightly downbeat front cover hides a good-looking book. Earthily shot and beautifully written, it's a great read. Each recipe comes with a story - lively travel tales of where he came across the recipe, whether it's a Sri Lankan poacher, English trucker in Spain, or Mexican bank robbers (that last one's a joke, but you get the idea).
It's quite a macho recipe book with lots of tales of huntin' and shootin', fishin' for mackerel or campin' in -43 degrees. Despite that, many of the recipes feel do-able and don't rely on tricksy ingredients or having a spare week to prepare. However, it is a "foodie" book, and there are some recipes where the ingredients are hard to get hold of, or you may not have heard of them. But I don't mind that, I think it's a good way of educating us. If we didn't have chefs extolling the virtues of mackerel and pollock, we'd all still be eating ever-diminishing amounts of cod. He talks about herring milts (roes), which sound lovely ("The Russians may have caviar on blinis, we have milts on hot toast") which has inspired me,
It's quite a meaty book, but the veg recipes are surprisingly good too - endive in cream sauce with breadcrumbs sounds delicious, I'm more suspicious of the raw kale salad... I've already made one of his recipes, the easiest, of course. Cheese on toast. But this is cheese on toast with mustard, anchovy, worcester sauce and mayonnaise. (I know, mayonnaise. Crazy. But it worked).
I spent an hour lovingly going through the book on Friday, salivating. I then spent half an hour going through it thinking, "yes but what shall I cook for Sunday lunch with the kids?" and nothing jumped out. It was all a little bit too fiddly, or too challenging. So maybe not perfect for family food, but pretty good for everything else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I will cook from this book time and time again, 31 Oct 2011
Valentine Warner is quite well known in food circles, he has made quite a few TV programmes, some scheduled on the satellite food channels as well as writing other books and he has a website (which has other recipes). He is an avid hunter/gatherer/forager type of cook...none of which apply to me I might add, but I could have easily made a lot of the recipes in this book without a hunt around the local woods or needing a trip to the local fishing lake. The notion of this book is very simple in that, what you are served and what you share at Valentine's table is 'good food' and judging by the recipes the title is spot on.

This book has a lot to offer most cooks and lovers of good food, it packs some lovely recipes, most of the recipes are supported by a photograph and the photography in this book is of a really good standard. It is truly crisp and colourful and lends a pleasing detail to all the illustrated recipes. This book describes the kind of food you just want to sit down and enjoy with your family, or curl up on the sofa with (like the 'toast as a vehicle' chapter...which I really loved, being a toast addict myself I never thought a food writer would devote a whole chapter to toast, I love it!). Other chapters include, meat, birds, fish and shellfish, veg and foraged food, bread, cheese and eggs, puddings and drinks. I could easily make most recipes in this book and they would easily suit our tastes here.

Although I have made two recipes from the puddings chapter, the savoury recipes are looking really good too, I have particularly earmarked the 'carne con chile', 'chicken stiffed with pearl barley, livers and walnuts', and 'mushrooms baked with hazelnuts and percorino' for future autumnal suppers.

This is a book I will readily use time and time again, particularly when cooking for others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Yet Another Cookery Book - But a Good, Practical One, 20 Sep 2011
By 
G. J. Oxley "Gaz" (Tyne & Wear, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
Valentine Warner has produced another marvellous book of culinary pornography.

I collect books like this just to salivate over the beautiful photographs that accompany the tasty recipes. No kidding; I own over 50 cookery books yet any lady (un)lucky enough to come to my flat for a meal will be aware that cordon bleu cooking will not be on offer. I am hopeless at conjuring up anything in the kitchen and I will, as a matter of course, either under or overcook everything I produce.

Yet still I go on buying and poring over recipe books like this in the hope that I'll become a good cook by osmosis. Doesn't work, unfortunately.

This particular volume comes with a superb solid binding which will withstand years of abuse in the kitchen. It also contains recipes for a variety of courses using the full spectrum of ingredients - including venison and rabbit - two meats I have never, ever even considered eating.

Funnily enough, Valentine's version of toad in the hole (a bit Delia Smith this recipe) doesn't look a patch on what my old mother used to make. But then she had been a navy cook in her younger days.

This is one big, lovely book of mouth-watering dishes that will keep you busy in the kitchen for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Good Table, 27 Oct 2011
I adored Valentine Warner's What to Eat now series, so I was excited about trying this new book.

The first thing I notice was that I found the book quite 'fish' heavy, which is unfortunate as I'm not a huge fish or seafood fan.

The photography and feel of the book is beautiful and a couple of the recipes caught my eye immediately - beetroot ravioli and apricot custard tart for example. There's a good mix of simple quick suppers and more elaborate dinners.

However, I have to say, as a family with a young child I found a lot of the recipes too challenging or unusual and struggled to find something we'd all eat. Maybe that says more about us than the book. I don't know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Traditional Look and Feel, 25 Sep 2011
By 
Alison "runninggirlcycling" (Derbyshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
The Good Table is a very traditional looking cook book with a classic collection of recipes. I actually checked the date of publication because the style of photography looked like it was older than 2011! The book will appeal to classic food lovers and it includes a very wide variety of recipes from the traditional steak and ale pie to the more unusual foods from around the world. Not every recipe includes a photograph but the majority do. The variety of ingredients is impressive and each section includes a good selection of foods often with a twist on the usual recipe.

I have a lot of cookery books and I love reading those that tell a story and inspire with the words as well as the photography. I think this collection is a little too traditional for my tastes and I think the practical nature of the book means that it's not a particularly inspirational collection for me. If you are relatively new to cooking and want a solid collection of recipes then I would recommend this book. I would also recommend it to cooks who want a traditional collection with some twists.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Valentine keeps a good table......., 19 Sep 2011
By 
Pompom (Devon) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a beautifully presented book in which Valentine Warner gives us a range of recipes from homely to foreign. The recipes are simply divided into the following chapters: Meat, Birds, Fish & Shellfish, Veg & Foraged foods, Bread/eggs & Cheese, Toast as as a vehicle, Puddings, Drinks. Valentine puts real love into the food he produces and cares, a lot, about how it is sourced.

Recipes include: Harira (a moroccan lamb, chicpea and tomato soup), Wild boar with juniper, Pork neck with clams & jerusalem artichokes, Chorizo in cider (very simple, I tried this and it is delicious!), Rabbit in mustard sauce, Mallard and cabbage, Pickled herrings, Warm smoked mackerel with celeriac remoulade, Tuna tartare, Cod with mussels and celery, Taramasalata, Paella, Watercress & gruyere souffle, Carrot & orange salad, Courgette soup with chard bruschetta, Beetroot ravioli, Gourd with cheese (a small squash with a goats cheese baked inside it - I will be trying this for lunch at work), Baked potatoes with garlic and cream (on this earth to know each other according to Valentine!), Swede apple and plum pickle, Pigeon with blackcurrants & bacon on toast, Mussels on toast, Tomatoes with Dijon mustard & cream on toast, Rhubarb & stem ginger fool, Mint granita, Apricot custard tart, Fresh blackberry & lemon sponge, Autmun trifle (pear, chocolate and red wine), prune and brandy creme brulee, Clementine cooler, Port cup, The best hot chocolate ever.

Valentine's cooking isn't fussy and fiddly. This is good food for eating with family and friends. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anne in france, 8 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Loved it!As all recipes written in black &white much easier to read.Recipes as usual show V.W's enthusiasm for cooking &consuming!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Proper food, 21 Jan 2012
By 
avl06 (The Village) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Customer review from the Amazon Vine Programme (What's this?)
This is a nice object, with cloth covers and a ribbon to mark your place. Includes a range of traditional recipes which are all about "proper" food and not fussy eating. Hearty British mixed with classic dishes from further afield; Tandoori partridge meats toad in the hole. Experimental weekend cooks who like spending time in the kitchen should check this one out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Poetical and addictive, 17 Nov 2011
The introduction of this book is incredibly poetical. Valentine sets out to explain how The Good Table is his 'heart on a plate'. How gorgeous is that?

He explains how the table is the one piece of furniture that represents the home but also one that doesn't have to be in your own kitchen. A 'Good Table' could be 'any surface where food is eaten or prepared such as a sea wall, a large river stone or a picnic cloth'. He describes a plate of food as 'a plate seasoned with mood, stories, memories, lives, geography and natural history'. (I told you it was poetic).

It's clear that he's passionate about the produce and culinary traditions in the UK and that in order for them to 'remain an inheritance' he encourages us all to cook and indeed buy ingredients we don't know how to cook. 'Failure contributes to success' in his view and I'd have to say I agree. He also encouarges us to taste. To see how food changes on it's way to the table from the kitchen.

The book is beautifully photographed and divided into chapters entitled meat; fish and shellfish; veg and forgaged foods; toast; bread, eggs and cheese; puddings and drinks.

My favourite chapter was toast as a vehicle. I could have something on a different toasted bread for supper every night. In fact I do most nights and it's these meals that are sometimes the best I make - so this chapter just reinforces that good ingredients make a plate of food anywhere.

I also love the mix of recipes in this book. Some are incredibly simple and super quick like the Lemon Posset, Kale Salad, Raw Brussel Sprouts with Ricotta and Fried Ceps with Chives. Others are more complex but mostly because of the time needed and not the method. He includes many recipes from different countries but even these have a Britishness about them - Tandoori Partridge for example.

All the way through this book there are simple but wise words of encouragement which make this book #unputdownable. Truly - you could make something from here everyday. (But not the eggs in aspic. I'm really not sure why he threw that one in there).

Recipes I tried from this book can be found here: [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Good Table
The Good Table by Valentine Warner
4.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews