Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars103
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2006
The latest addition to the CHERUB series is the finest book so far, as well as being the most gripping tale it's also unquestionably Robert Muchamore's most motivating book so far in the already superb series. Three fully trained teenage spies, James, Lauren and Kyle have are sent on a mission to gather intelligence on members of an anti-animal testing extremist group.

The reason: Adults don't expect children to be spying on them.

The book contains all the action, excitement and tense situations of the CHERUB series so far, as well as tit bits of information on vegetarianism and animal cruelty. In addition to the thrill that any teenager loves to read Man Vs Beast will truly make you think about your views of animal testing and cruelty.

With many twists and turns, thrills and nerves Man Vs beast will have you up all night biting your nails between turning the pages.
0Comment|24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2013
Young adult books sure have changed since I was a young adult, but I must say so has the world and the access to all kinds of information kids have these days (internet, TV etc), so I must say I think these books are great. every book is a current affair topic realistic to the world today. And though grimm at times in the middle there is still a happy ending, which is important for a younger audience - good to know the reality of the world, no need to give them a "no hope at all left" message either :)

Some people commented about the use of strong language ... frankfully I dont like swearing either or calling names for that fact, but let's face it , we all did as teenagers, teenagers today are no difference.

There seems to be a tendency today from people to raise their kids in little pink bubbles away from the reality of the world today. I am glad there are writers out there that still encourage kids / teenagers to start thinking about the world they live in.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2014
Young secret agents James and Lauren Adams are thrust once again into an undercover mission, this time to infiltrate animal rights protesters in order to be close to a terrorist group.

With such a controversial subject forming part of the plot, I was really surprised by how well Muchamore balances each side of the arguments and provided a range of characters with differing viewpoints to make a book that won't offend any reader.

Like in previous books in the series, this one doesn't shy away from presenting a realistic view of teenage life in the twenty-first century, and while I appreciate this honesty in a book aimed at younger readers, some parents might consider its portrayals as too frank for their children.

I have no complaints - the Cherub series is a great modern take on the child spy thriller and should lead the genre for a couple of decades.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2014
Can't rate these Cherub books high enough. Have kept my kids totally captivated throughout the series so far...and me. Touches on varied storylines that parents may be wary about talking to their children about, eg alcohol, drugs.
Quick delivery too.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
Three agents James, Lauren and Kyle and a mission controller Zara go undercover as animal rights protesters in order to bust a series of terrorist groups: the AFA (Animal Freedom Army) and the AFM (Animal Freedom Militia) because many businesses have been sabotaged and were declared bankrupt because they supplied Malarek a company which does animal testing. Over the years animal liberationists have became a second page story so the AFA decide to kidnap a famous cook, Nick Cobb because he tested worktop cleaners on rabbits. Things go a little bit too far so James and Kyle decides to put a stop to it.
A very thrilling book really got my heart thumping. I did not expect any of this. A big surprise but overall a very gripping book as all the others in the series!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
I have a confession to make. I personally, yet, have not read any of the authors books purchased. I bought them for my grandson as a part of his birthday present, having discovered that he had already read the two earlier books in the Cherub series. I am aware that the author has produced a prolific number of titles in this series, and no doubt I am going to have to select more in time for Christmas, such are the appeal of this genre to intelligent young men who enjoy literature, and drama. Full marks for captivating the reader and giving enjoyment to someone who also is definitely not a couch potato, and also enjoys his sporting activities.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2006
Robert Muchamore has made the cherub series a really special one. Every book is written with the same excitment and high tempo which makes you never want to put the book down. Also the way that he manages to put in modern day teenage romance is breathtaking! Knowing the way he writes, this next James Adams adventure should be the best one yet.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2012
This is the sixth book in the amazing cherub series.James,Lauren and Kyle are sent to go undercover in the AFA (Animal Freedom Army) and uncover members of the AFM ( Animal Freedom Militia)- an animal extremist group that kills people in order to save animals from experiments.This book does have more bad language than the others but no strong swear words(f word).Compared to the other 5 I have read this probably isn't one of the best,but the topic on the different views of animal crulaty is probably the most interesting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2015
I enjoyed reading this series. Each book was very well written. A really interesting concept. Lots of action in each book and we also get to know all of the main characters really well.. .

If you haven't read the Henderson's Boys books - which tells us how CHERUB came into being - then I suggest you really do. Again an excellent series of books, as long as you can forgive some basic mistakes which with proper research would have made a good series into a great series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2015
James Adams once again takes another terrific journey under cover to shut down the AFM: Animal Freedom Militia. A terrorist organization that uses a physical way to prevent animals from being sent to Research Laboratories to be experimented on.

I like this book because it is an intense gripping story.

5 stars :D
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.