Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compelling
James has written an intelligent and fascinating guide to starting your own business based on his experience and knowledge. He asks questions which may put some people off e.g. is your idea a business or a hobby ? But that's the whole point, he clearly wants the reader to avoid wasting loads of money attempting to start a business that won't work. One of his key points is...
Published 23 months ago by kirshaw

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just a Self Promotion Book
Why so many 5 stars?

A very poor book that is a personal advertisement for James Caan - whoever he is. I do not live in the UK but after reading this book I think this guy must walk on water. The guy has obviously been successful with his business ventures and he really wants you to know this throughout this book.

This book is far too simplistic...
Published 9 months ago by A. Searle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Simple, clear and concise book to help get you started., 5 Jun 2013
By 
R. Guerrero (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start Your Business in 7 Days: Turn Your Idea Into a Life-Changing Success (Kindle Edition)
A good read with lots of common sense to help steer your thoughts and build a plan. It doesn't take long to read the book cover to cover and there is definitely something new to learn and apply.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant piece of advice, 26 May 2013
This book is invaluable. James Caan touches each and every issue that assist me to cross-check my business plan. I was quite nervous; because I already developed my business plan and then start reading this. But I passed each and every stage and now I am confident enough to raise money.
One of the best book; I have ever come across.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth about entrepreneurship assess your business, 27 April 2012
I was very impressed by this book which takes a realistic view of entrepreneurship. Unlike many other books which tell you you need to spend this and that on your idea before you see whether or not they will succeed This book should really be titled "Get Real". His ideas are pure genius he tells you how to see if your ideas are viable and whether there is a market for them in first place without spending a lot of money since all the resources are out there and all you need to do is find and apply them . He gives brilliant examples of how to do this and also illustrates the folly of spending thousands of pounds and years developing an idea/product that when it comes to the market place may be economically viable. No consumer = no business. He tell you to get customers first and illustrates how to do this. I have read many books which tell you to plough on despite all obstacles reguardless of spending time and money on something that will make you bankrupt. James Caan gives brilliant analysis of how to evaulate your business ideas.I think if business people adopt his ideas there would be considerably less businesses going bankrupt and all the financial consequence and heartach and misery that brings to both them and their families. If you are seriously considering setting up a business please read this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all in the brand, 23 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a clearly written, helpful guide to let you decide whether you are cut out for business.

It does read a bit like a self-help guide in some parts, and I noticed that there were a number of proof reading errors which made it feel a bit rushed out (spot the duplicated pages)- but you can clearly hear James Caan's voice in the prose. In this way, it is also a big advert for James Caan, but that aside and if you can forgive him using the book to advertise himself and his wares... it is easy to read within a day. Not sure if you could really get a business up and running in 7 days though, although you will have been able to make up your mind about that within a week.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for any new business start-ups, 7 Jun 2012
By 
J. Shah - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No nonsense, good solid advise. recommended

It makes you think about all aspects of starting a business, a very well written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 21 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start Your Business in 7 Days: Turn Your Idea Into a Life-Changing Success (Kindle Edition)
very disappointed with this book.

I enjoy reading business books, but I found this hard work and have only managed to read the first 30 pages or so. Unfortunately James Caan spends too much time telling the reader how great he is in this book for my liking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No Page 57, 30 Mar 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hi I was reading the new James Cann book and it has two page 56's and no page 57. It goes straight from page 56 to 58.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is OK., 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It is OK not too bad.
It is story about writer with some business information.
Overall it is not so bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspired, 20 April 2013
By 
To the point, Cahn tells it like it is. Helped to get thinking process into a reality. A must buy for people thinking about starting your business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing Page, 26 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read by a nice hard working guy.
Pity a page was missing 56 or 57 I think!
Cheep enough not to worry about value
Could use some of James' ideas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa7a98fd8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews