Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
35
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£11.24+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2012
I just happened to catch an episode of 'Happy Endings' on TV and was immediately hooked. I then rented the whole series on DVD and then just HAD to buy it. If you enjoy the humour, quick wit and sharp cultural references of 'Scrubs' and 'Community', you'll love this. (I actually thought this was another Bill Lawrence creation - it's THAT good.) The cast is outstanding with well drawn characters; each with their own loveable idiosyncrasies. The script is razor sharp, fast paced and, most importantly, hilarious. This show could be the new 'Friends'.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 June 2013
Happy Endings starts with the exact opposite of that...a failed wedding. This then lays the groundwork for the rest of the series where the group of six friends (including those two) deal with the break up, relationships and life in general. The humour here is very quick witted - more like Scrubs than Friends or How I Met Your Mother which is the closest comparison to this series. It doesn't have long set-ups like How I Met Your Mother does, but its characters are likable, if a little predictable at times. However, the storylines are good. The confusing thing is that it feels like the series steps back in time about four episodes from the end which seems odd.

Happy Endings is a very funny series which has laugh out loud moments as well as it fair share of heart warming ones. For lovers of Scrubs and How I Met Your Mother this is recommended.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2012
This may look like Friends, or your typical sitcom involving a group of people, but it's just not. It's much more than that. The humour is wittiest, fast-paced but more than not always on par. Yes, it's about a group of friends, but the similarities pretty much ends there. I'm not going to spoil it for you, but if you love shows like Community, Parks and Recreation, The Office, Modern Family, Arrested Development etc., then this show will be perfect for you. Trust me.

Highly recommended!
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2013
A very good first season. Refreshing to get to know people who aren't perfect and don't live perfect lives and who don't fit into the usual stereotypes. Lots of feelgod and laughs. I would rate "Happy Endings" as second to "The big bang theory" when you look at the best comedy shows still inproduction at the moment, just narrowly beating "Modern Family".
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2012
Happy Endings is fast becoming one of my favourite shows. It revolves around a group of six friends (Max, Dave, Alex, Penny, Jane and Brad) and the first episode opens with Alex ditching Dave at the altar and then follows the consequences of that within the friend group. Admittedly once the focus is moved off the Dave/Alex relationship and more onto the escapades of the group it works better as every character gets a chance to shine.

The episodes on the dvd are in the original order. I know ABC(and subsequently E4) aired them out of order to try and get viewers attached to the show.

Happy Endings is smart, quick-witted and is one of the only shows the makes me laugh out loud! The cast have amazing chemistry and you can't help but look forward to seeing their next adventure! The episode where Jane and Penny get involved in Jazz-Kwondo is a highlight :D
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2012
I was tempted to put "Better than Friends" as the title for this review but didn't want people to write the review off as hyperbolic, but in my opinion this show is definitely better than `Friends' and really doesn't get as many viewers at it deserves.

`Friends' is an inevitable comparison as Happy Endings is about a group of friends, 3 guys and 3 girls, two of whom are married, two of whom were together but have broken up, living in a major American city. However Happy Endings is far from a stereotypical sitcom and one of my favourite elements of it is the way in which it takes typical sitcom plots and clichés and defies them or finds new approaches.

Happy Endings is a very particular type of comedy - while it is definitely zany it focuses mainly on rapid-fire, verbal, 20 jokes a minute humour. The plots of the episodes are never massively complex, they tend to serve more to give a loose framework in which the actors can deliver as many jokes as possible. Verbal comedy is definitely my favourite type of comedy, which is why I am such a fan of the show. This also makes Happy Endings a perfect show to buy on DVD as you will definitely pick up on jokes you missed on your second, third or fourth watch.

I didn't have high hopes for the show from its first episode - it starts with main characters Alex and Dave about to get married, when she leaves him at the altar when a guy (on rollerblades) stops the ceremony. So far, so rom-com. However the show manages to build well on this ridiculous opening (and quickly salvages Alex's character) and over the course of the first series establishes a set of nuanced characters with strong friendships and a lot of warmth between them.

The cast is uniformly excellent and the geeky, almost over-the-top delivery is one of the show's strongest points. Damon Waynans Jr. and Eliza Coupe are particularly strong (and hilarious) as a lovey-dovey professional married couple and Adam Pally and Casey Wilson have an amazing repartee as co-dependent best friends. During the first season Elisha Cuthbert and Zackary Knighton flounder a bit as they are cast as the more sensible duo around whom the funnier, zanier characters orbit but the show really finds its feet towards the end of the first season when the show abandons this approach and develops their characters more fully.

Fans of sitcoms, particularly ones like The I.T. Crowd, should definitely check this series out, you will soon grow to love 'hanging out' with these characters on a regular basis.
22 comments| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 September 2012
I read the reviews for this dvd and thought that it was worth purchasing. I have to say that I was not disappointed and I will be purchasing the next season as well. I was hooked from the very first episode and can't wait to find out what happens in the next season. I would also recommend this dvd.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2014
With the success of 'Friends' we have yet another ensemble sitcom. In fact if you check the first episodes of both of theses you can see where the plot came from. 'Terms of endearment' must be coming close to the end of it's run and 'New Girl' is showing that it maybe the natural successer of 'How I met your Mother' . Held up against these 'Happy Endings' is a bit like 'okay' rather than 'Great'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2012
Love Happy Endings, watched it all in one go, BUT the episodes arent in order can be quite confusing. still hilarious love it
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2012
This show is honestly one of the funniest I have seen in ages, most definetly up there with HIMYM, The Big Bang Theory and New Girl. Each and every character has a charming and endearing quality, whether it be Brad and Jane with with their comically over-the-top PDA(ing)or Max, my favourite character personally, who just seems to have all the best one-liners. All in all, this show is great and there isn't one episode where I'm not laughing till my stomach hurts - a preety good quality to have for a comedy (you'd think).
To summarise, yes - I would recommend this show. So long as you don't mind looking like a laughing goon whilst watching it(which I do most of the time).
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)