Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated but it's comedy gold
This may look like Friends, or your typical sitcom involving a group of people, but it's just not. It's much more than that. The humour is wittiest, fast-paced but more than not always on par. Yes, it's about a group of friends, but the similarities pretty much ends there. I'm not going to spoil it for you, but if you love shows like Community, Parks and Recreation, The...
Published on 29 Mar. 2012 by D. Diep

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The answer is in the title
With the success of 'Friends' we have yet another ensemble sitcom. In fact if you check the first episodes of both of theses you can see where the plot came from. 'Terms of endearment' must be coming close to the end of it's run and 'New Girl' is showing that it maybe the natural successer of 'How I met your Mother' . Held up against these 'Happy Endings' is a bit like...
Published 6 months ago by FredricBrown


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated but it's comedy gold, 29 Mar. 2012
By 
D. Diep - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This may look like Friends, or your typical sitcom involving a group of people, but it's just not. It's much more than that. The humour is wittiest, fast-paced but more than not always on par. Yes, it's about a group of friends, but the similarities pretty much ends there. I'm not going to spoil it for you, but if you love shows like Community, Parks and Recreation, The Office, Modern Family, Arrested Development etc., then this show will be perfect for you. Trust me.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST new comedy from the US, 12 Jun. 2012
By 
BeBe "BeBe" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I just happened to catch an episode of 'Happy Endings' on TV and was immediately hooked. I then rented the whole series on DVD and then just HAD to buy it. If you enjoy the humour, quick wit and sharp cultural references of 'Scrubs' and 'Community', you'll love this. (I actually thought this was another Bill Lawrence creation - it's THAT good.) The cast is outstanding with well drawn characters; each with their own loveable idiosyncrasies. The script is razor sharp, fast paced and, most importantly, hilarious. This show could be the new 'Friends'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great start!, 7 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A very good first season. Refreshing to get to know people who aren't perfect and don't live perfect lives and who don't fit into the usual stereotypes. Lots of feelgod and laughs. I would rate "Happy Endings" as second to "The big bang theory" when you look at the best comedy shows still inproduction at the moment, just narrowly beating "Modern Family".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 Stars, 4 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The only sitcom comedy that is even in touching distance of the comedy imagined by Friends. The whole cast of querky characters are very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very silly but very funny, 4 Feb. 2013
By 
Dimitri Nicomanis "Dimnico" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
From the opening episode right through to the end of the series Happy Endings is very funny. Very silly characters who get into some ridiculous situations but all the while very sharp writing and great performances keep it all extremely watchable.

For fans of Friends I would highly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So Happy, 31 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Love Happy Endings, watched it all in one go, BUT the episodes arent in order can be quite confusing. still hilarious love it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not your typical sitcom, 15 Feb. 2012
By 
This review is from: Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I was tempted to put "Better than Friends" as the title for this review but didn't want people to write the review off as hyperbolic, but in my opinion this show is definitely better than `Friends' and really doesn't get as many viewers at it deserves.

`Friends' is an inevitable comparison as Happy Endings is about a group of friends, 3 guys and 3 girls, two of whom are married, two of whom were together but have broken up, living in a major American city. However Happy Endings is far from a stereotypical sitcom and one of my favourite elements of it is the way in which it takes typical sitcom plots and clichés and defies them or finds new approaches.

Happy Endings is a very particular type of comedy - while it is definitely zany it focuses mainly on rapid-fire, verbal, 20 jokes a minute humour. The plots of the episodes are never massively complex, they tend to serve more to give a loose framework in which the actors can deliver as many jokes as possible. Verbal comedy is definitely my favourite type of comedy, which is why I am such a fan of the show. This also makes Happy Endings a perfect show to buy on DVD as you will definitely pick up on jokes you missed on your second, third or fourth watch.

I didn't have high hopes for the show from its first episode - it starts with main characters Alex and Dave about to get married, when she leaves him at the altar when a guy (on rollerblades) stops the ceremony. So far, so rom-com. However the show manages to build well on this ridiculous opening (and quickly salvages Alex's character) and over the course of the first series establishes a set of nuanced characters with strong friendships and a lot of warmth between them.

The cast is uniformly excellent and the geeky, almost over-the-top delivery is one of the show's strongest points. Damon Waynans Jr. and Eliza Coupe are particularly strong (and hilarious) as a lovey-dovey professional married couple and Adam Pally and Casey Wilson have an amazing repartee as co-dependent best friends. During the first season Elisha Cuthbert and Zackary Knighton flounder a bit as they are cast as the more sensible duo around whom the funnier, zanier characters orbit but the show really finds its feet towards the end of the first season when the show abandons this approach and develops their characters more fully.

Fans of sitcoms, particularly ones like The I.T. Crowd, should definitely check this series out, you will soon grow to love 'hanging out' with these characters on a regular basis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The answer is in the title, 25 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
With the success of 'Friends' we have yet another ensemble sitcom. In fact if you check the first episodes of both of theses you can see where the plot came from. 'Terms of endearment' must be coming close to the end of it's run and 'New Girl' is showing that it maybe the natural successer of 'How I met your Mother' . Held up against these 'Happy Endings' is a bit like 'okay' rather than 'Great'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best new comedies of last year!, 15 Jan. 2012
By 
F. Henderson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Happy Endings is fast becoming one of my favourite shows. It revolves around a group of six friends (Max, Dave, Alex, Penny, Jane and Brad) and the first episode opens with Alex ditching Dave at the altar and then follows the consequences of that within the friend group. Admittedly once the focus is moved off the Dave/Alex relationship and more onto the escapades of the group it works better as every character gets a chance to shine.

The episodes on the dvd are in the original order. I know ABC(and subsequently E4) aired them out of order to try and get viewers attached to the show.

Happy Endings is smart, quick-witted and is one of the only shows the makes me laugh out loud! The cast have amazing chemistry and you can't help but look forward to seeing their next adventure! The episode where Jane and Penny get involved in Jazz-Kwondo is a highlight :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing show!!!, 8 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I absolutely love this show. If you like things like New Girl, The Mindy Project, then you will love this. The more the series goes on the more you love each and every character.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Happy Endings - Season 1  [DVD]
Happy Endings - Season 1 [DVD] by Elisha Cuthbert (DVD - 2012)
Used & New from: £6.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews