Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars paranoid technocrats apply here
I whacked this onto my kindle after being alerted by a friend `in the business' that the author had worked for many years in the high end of the defence industry, and that some of the technology obliquely referred to is very much on-going and highly classified.
It didn't disappoint as a fast, techno rich, paranoid thriller only requiring the suspension of dis-belief...
Published on 8 Feb. 2012 by in-two

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - gave up!
I love military/political thrillers but just couldn't get into this one. To be honest the characters in the first few chapters are totally unrealistic and the dialogue is just pathetic. I'm happy to suspend disbelief to enjoy a book - but there are limits. Three officer types (with limited arms) surviving a helicopter crash then fighting for their lives against dozens...
Published 17 months ago by John Murray


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars paranoid technocrats apply here, 8 Feb. 2012
This review is from: Triple Ignition (The Western Awakening Trilogy, Book 1) (The Western Awakening Trilogy Series) (Kindle Edition)
I whacked this onto my kindle after being alerted by a friend `in the business' that the author had worked for many years in the high end of the defence industry, and that some of the technology obliquely referred to is very much on-going and highly classified.
It didn't disappoint as a fast, techno rich, paranoid thriller only requiring the suspension of dis-belief by casting the EU (yes European union) as capable of achieving anything, let alone co-ordinated malevolent intent. In the same way the somewhat heroic stance of the State of Israel might well grate with many, but this only demonstrates that the book draws you in and makes you start thinking. The laws of physics are also meddled with but in a way that makes you wonder, rather than laugh, because you would really need to know your stuff to start challenging some of the assumptions. All in all the political strategy and the techno /military tactical side of the plot were well thought through and engaging, I inhaled it in a couple of sessions.
The human side of the story is a bit less successful in that the heroes are all too heroic and could do with a bit more human frailty, but it doesn't spoil the read and is possibly an over-reaction to the current obsession with damaged and frail individuals as heroes.
That the author has `walked the walk" in the techno field comes through often, much like the best of Andy McNab in his field, so I'm waiting for the next one of what is flagged as a trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you liked Atlas Shrugged you will love this book (and if you didn't, you will hate it), 5 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ayn Rand's 1957 book argues that human advancement is driven by `rationally self-interested' individuals - she has industrialists, scientists, and artists battling government repression.
Triple Ignition takes a similar tack, telling the story of a private company that harnesses thermonuclear fusion. Whereas Rand's technologies are metallurgy, aircraft, and rail networks, this book's are quantum physics, nanotechnology, and collaborative networking. Nevertheless, its scientists, engineers, and businessmen are all Rand-style objectivist heroes.
The story line will be familiar to startup veterans. First, the founding team comes together by chance. Events then trigger them to walk away from safe salaried jobs and commit to realizing their dreams. Then comes the long slog of building a team of the brightest and best, structuring it to use every talent to the max, and battling through scientific and technological roadblocks. Along the way our heroes learn, Rand-style, a lot about how to better organize a modern society. Finally, as they take their fusion products to market, governments pounce.
Atlas Shrugged is (in)famous for the thirty page speech in which its hero, John Galt, sets out his values and goals. Readers of this book face three such speeches, but they're very much shorter.
So a great book for libertarians but not for liberals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I liked it!, 1 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple Ignition (The Western Awakening Trilogy, Book 1) (The Western Awakening Trilogy Series) (Kindle Edition)
Great read; techno stuff seems well researched (and presumably understood by the author). Sometimes the behaviour and dialogue of the characters stretched my credulity a bit, but what the heck. Need more! Got to download the next part ASAP! Thank you Thomas Gibbon. I enjoyed your work and will look for more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Eerily Topical.., 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple Ignition (The Western Awakening Trilogy, Book 1) (The Western Awakening Trilogy Series) (Kindle Edition)
As a trilogy this is a well researched and written tale. However overall I can not give it 5 stars as it has been trapped into a trilogy in which more skillful editing would have produced a better literary narrative with less padding of the various plot-lines. The various plots are topical. I am not technically knowledgeable to comment on the defence aspects but the UK political situation is so real it could make some readers very nervous. For example dissatisfaction with the present government system, the control from Brussels the EU legislature, the secrecy of family courts and lack of faith in the UK police.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun, 15 Feb. 2014
By 
J Stringer (Steyning, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple Ignition (The Western Awakening Trilogy, Book 1) (The Western Awakening Trilogy Series) (Kindle Edition)
Excellent read. Interesting characters and all round good fun. Being a euro-sceptic myself, it is nice to read something that it is a bit anti, but also pro a proper democracy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sorry - gave up!, 1 Nov. 2013
By 
John Murray "John M" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple Ignition (The Western Awakening Trilogy, Book 1) (The Western Awakening Trilogy Series) (Kindle Edition)
I love military/political thrillers but just couldn't get into this one. To be honest the characters in the first few chapters are totally unrealistic and the dialogue is just pathetic. I'm happy to suspend disbelief to enjoy a book - but there are limits. Three officer types (with limited arms) surviving a helicopter crash then fighting for their lives against dozens of Syrians with heavy armour and finding time to have gentlemanly conversations as if they were enjoying a pint in the pub. And of course winning. Finding, quite by chance that the very female scientist they were originally intended to rescue is dumped on them (totally unharmed and joining in the pub talk) by the very bad Syrians who the bold three are killing in their dozens.
Get the idea? Best avoided if you enjoy realistic stories, characters and dialogue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enthralling, 24 Feb. 2012
This is not my usual sort of book, but I was assured it `isn't a formula thriller, and you'll like it' so I gave it a try. And was enthralled. There are lots of interesting and believable characters, sharply distinctive, behaving realistically. And unlike most books of this type the women are also real. A previous reviewer says they are all portrayed as geniuses, but they are just scientists - above average intelligence obviously, but hardly geniuses - especially emotionally.
I found the technical side of the book plausible, though I don't know enough about the science and the weaponry to know if it is possible. The political plotline is horribly plausible - I find myself viewing the headlines in the newspapers with new eyes. It's especially worrying when you find yourself rethinking all the actions successive governments have taken in previous years which you thought were just incompetence but now you wonder...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars More damp spark plugs than triple ignition., 13 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple Ignition (The Western Awakening Trilogy, Book 1) (The Western Awakening Trilogy Series) (Kindle Edition)
A bizarre book.
As always, I start with an open mind, and merely ask the author to entertain me, but I have to admit that I considered dumping this item about fifty times before I actually did.
This is written by an author whose sympathies lie somewhere to the far right in US politics, where goddam Democrats are pinkos and bleeding hearts, where the Brits are idiots, and Europeans are shifty foreigners who really need nuked to teach them a lesson, and the only people capable of saving the world in his ludicrous scenario are a tiny number of nice geniuses with millions of dollars to play around with, all looking back with misty eyes at the Reagan years whilst making epoch changing technological breakthroughs on a daily basis.
I was bored and offended in equal measure by the sheer idiocy, and I'd had enough halfway through and removed it from my Kindle, whilst trying to resist sterilising it with alcohol afterwards.
If you enjoy offensive thoughtless nonsense, you'll lap this one right up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like this book but the writing is stilted, 27 Oct. 2014
By 
Simon Prior (Plainfield, IL United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple Ignition (The Western Awakening Trilogy, Book 1) (The Western Awakening Trilogy Series) (Kindle Edition)
I really wanted to like this book but the writing is stilted, the characters cardboard. Suddenly the EU is anti-Semitic and sending suicide bombers into Israel - there's no real explanation why, just a vague reference to supporting a Palestinian state. All the goodies are philanthropic genii, all the badies dull-witted and brutal. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Holiday Read, 30 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Triple Ignition (The Western Awakening Trilogy, Book 1) (The Western Awakening Trilogy Series) (Kindle Edition)
A Good book to pass the time on holiday. Not too demanding to read. Some obscure concepts and a nice twist on reality. I look forward to reading the next instalments.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews