Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful
This is an absolute gem of a series that seemed to just be forgotten in the UK. It just makes you smile - alot. The casting is top rate and the antics of Hugh Lauries sons cause a great deal of wicked enjoyment. Edwyn, in particular, played by Joe Van Moyland, is a star turn. The always wonderful Peter Capaldi plays a totally mad character which has to be seen to be...
Published on 24 May 2010 by Strauss

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay
This set of sitcom programs was interesting to watch but not very memorable. Worth a look if you like Hugh Laurie or a young Benedict Cumberbatch.
Published on 3 Jan. 2013 by froofroo


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 24 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an absolute gem of a series that seemed to just be forgotten in the UK. It just makes you smile - alot. The casting is top rate and the antics of Hugh Lauries sons cause a great deal of wicked enjoyment. Edwyn, in particular, played by Joe Van Moyland, is a star turn. The always wonderful Peter Capaldi plays a totally mad character which has to be seen to be believed. Quite why this dvd isnt available in the UK I dont know, but its about time it was! Highly recommend watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love Joe Van Moyland, 5 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortysomething [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD after watching Joe Van Moyland in The Tudors. He is absolutely fantastic as Edwin. He is my favourite character. The scenes with him and Hugh Laurie as his father are great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!!, 22 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortysomething [DVD] (DVD)
Its just so funny. The acting is brilliant, the plot is good and there are just little things that make it great. I'm also rather a fan of Jeeves and Wooster as Steven Fry does makes appearance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay, 3 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortysomething [DVD] (DVD)
This set of sitcom programs was interesting to watch but not very memorable. Worth a look if you like Hugh Laurie or a young Benedict Cumberbatch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Missingsomething ****SPOILERS****, 17 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Fortysomething [DVD] (DVD)
Unbearable domestic schmaltz disguised as otherworldly farce. Each episode begins with the 40+-year-old Paul Slippery waking up in bed with a voice-over saying that Paul is desperate for sex. So right away you know what the series is aiming for. In the meantime Paul leers at his two sons' girlfriends (who happen to be sisters, and who have sex with each of the sons early on, and who give the impression that they'd be keen to sleep with the dad), his medical colleague Surinder (Paul is a doctor) who often leers back, and the girlfriend of an old friend who dies while making love to her, who also leers back (but in an absent-minded way). Paul leers plenty at his wife Estelle, but she's never interested, preferring to focus on her new job with a high-powered lesbian, which Paul makes much of. Meanwhile Paul's and Estelle's third son, who is a teenager, is always home from school (which Paul and Estelle only occasionally comment on) ordering fridges, sex toys, and aphrodisiacs. Everyone's in a mid-life or identity crisis of some sort (except for perhaps the lesbian) and it's all rather boring, in spite of the creators' best efforts to make this mundane drama (which feels very much of its time, which was 2003) like Alice in Wonderland. It was missing something or I was missing something. Either way it was only six episodes. At least now it's over. And I can go back to re-watching A Bit of Fry and Laurie, Blackadder, and Jeeves and Wooster: you know, the ones with staying power.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars are for Benedict Cumberbatch., 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortysomething [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this DVD for one reason and that was because Benedict Cumberbatch was cast as one of the sons (the eldest of 3) and I thoroughly enjoyed the scenes he did with great acting. Sadly he was hardly in it as the other 2 sons to me seemed to of been given bigger roles in the show. Of course the show is mainly based on the Father not remembering when he and his wife last had sex and her being all coy about it. If Benedict hadn't of been in this show then I would've only given it maybe 3 stars as I found it quite boring and at times very unbelievable. If your a big fan of Hugh though then you will love it as he is after all the main character and a great actor and the chicken scenes are for me the best of the lot. This was the only time I had a good giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting TV drama, 28 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortysomething [DVD] (DVD)
I bought it as I 'd love to watch every performances of Benedict. However, it's unexpectedly funny , which makes me laugh out loud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Slightly offbeat. Very funny, 28 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortysomething [DVD] (DVD)
I'm a big Hugh Laurie fan and this didn't disappoint. The scene in the fishmongers with Stephen Fry in the second episode is absolutely hysterical. Shame there was never a second series...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent., 14 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortysomething [DVD] (DVD)
I love love love this series - hugh laurie is at his british best, funny, charming and naked at one point too! Great cast, great story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing and tedious, 19 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fortysomething [DVD] (DVD)
Hard to believe that the very talented Hugh Laurie had anything to do with this trite domestic sitcom in which the younger members of the family hop in and out of bed swapping partners, and Hugh, in the rôle of Paul the doctor, is constantly trying to re-establish his sex life with his wife. It all seems very dated now, and in 'square screen' format of course. Anna Chancellor as the wife is the only saving grace, along with the fact that there is no background audience laughter. I snorted a couple of times, but found myself fast-forwarding predictable scenes. In fact the individual episodes seem to go on too long, at perhaps an hour each. Another one for the charity sack, I'm afraid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fortysomething [DVD]
Fortysomething [DVD] by Hugh Laurie (DVD - 2012)
£5.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews