Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ella Fitzgerald Sings Cole Porter
Few words needed - simply sublime! It is the definitive version of "Every Time We Say Goodbye".
Published on 9 July 2010 by Marion D

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed
To be honest I was a little disappointed
Published 23 days ago by Alixcompo


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ella Fitzgerald Sings Cole Porter, 9 July 2010
Few words needed - simply sublime! It is the definitive version of "Every Time We Say Goodbye".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best of the best., 2 Jun 2012
By 
Mr. D. Bain "Dave Bain" (Nottingham England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For me this set of songs is one of the pinnacles of human artistic achievement. I would honestly rate this collection alongside Beethoven's Symphonies. Cole Porter's ability to marry an exquisite melody to a set of intelligent and often witty set of lyrics has rarely been equalled by any other songwriter or songwriting partnership. Add to this the unparalleled vocal abilities of Ella Fitzgerald at the peak of her powers and we have something very special. Ella enjoyed a very long and successful recording career, Ellington quite rightly regarded her to be in 'a class of her own'. She recorded dozens of great albums many of which were 'Grammy award winners'. However in my opinion this collection offers the best of the best of her recorded output.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ella sings Cole Porter is fabulous, 9 Oct 2011
By 
Am Galvin - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A fabulous collection of some of the best renditions of these songs. Very nice recordings too.
I have no objections to the remastering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... give the recording 5 stars because Ella is the best singing some of the best, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sings the Cole Porter Songbook (Classics Original Albums - Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
I give the recording 5 stars because Ella is the best singing some of the best. What more needs to be said?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Disapointed, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sings the Cole Porter Songbook (Classics Original Albums - Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
To be honest I was a little disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars mp3, 9 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sings the Cole Porter Songbook (Classics Original Albums - Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
This is one of the best albums to buy, easy to listen to, each word understandable and excellent backing sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sings the Cole Porter Songbook (Classics Original Albums - Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
Totally in love with Cole Porter and Ella sings him so perfectly. Halcyon days are here again, hip hip hoorah! :-))
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heavenly voice, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For as long as I remember I have had her singing in my head. It's a good transfer to CD, and I like the collection. And now I get the words right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great classic, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sings the Cole Porter Songbook (Classics Original Albums - Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
I cannot not want to have it it s a must to have in your cd library thank you so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The one and only, 18 Dec 2013
By 
K. Russell "Happy Customer" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sings the Cole Porter Songbook (Classics Original Albums - Digitally Remastered) (MP3 Download)
Quite simply 'the top'. Such elegance and beauty. Her voice is hauntingly good. I don't know why im bothering to review because duly everyone already knows how superb she is. Great collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews