Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars33
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 February 2010
Having been a bit of a nut for Greek mythology for well over ten years this book seemed like the perfect way to spend the last of those Amazon vouchers. For the price I got it for, it was a bargain and I was not disappointed. Having read the book, I am convinced it is one of the best buys I've gotten in a long while. It is detailed, easy to understand and has the distinct advantage of being an actual translation of the old myths rather than an interpretation. It also has the advantage of having a few extremely helpful maps, genealogy tables as well as an index of names at the back for quick searching.

The only problem is, there is a lot of text to get through, with a lot of it being lists of names of who was born of who and who killed who. A few illustrations wouldn't go amiss. But other than that I am extremely glad with this purchase and would recommend it to anyone looking to learn on Greek Mythology, be they beginner or seasoned veteran.
0Comment|69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
This in parts can be very heavy going, luckily the introduction fills in a lot. Heavy on the detail, this is certainly not the action packed tales of Greek mythology we're spoon fed as kids, but, it's worth ploughing through it.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 June 2013
I bought this book in order to gain a better understanding of greek mythology in my English Literature course and so far it has been really helpful
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 May 2010
The book contains excellent material on mythology. The only downside I found was the infinte amount of names included. Of course they are necessary but will confuse you right away when you try to remember which one of the 50 sons one of the characters is.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
Where it all came from - between this and Metamorphoses you can find just about anything related to Greek Myth and history
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2011
The main literary source for students of Greek mythology is the so-called 'Apollodori Bibliotheca' (Library of Apollodorus).
It was compiled in the first century AD and was the first attempt to unify Greek mythology. It's the only work of his kind to survive from classical Antiquity. The Library of Apollodorus is a unique guide to Greek mythology, from the origin of the Universe to the Trojan war.

It's a pity though that a lot of the myths in this work are a summary of the original story. Nonetheless it's the most important source of Greek mythology and the main source of "The Greek Myths" by Robert Graves.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2009
A very complicated book not easy to discover the facts about any particular person, more a reference work for a well read student of mythology.
0Comment|28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2012
This book is a little like the bible at the beginning - gives you names of who was born to whome, which is a little boring and drags.
I got this for Kindle for my mobile and it's brilliant once you get past the beginning which I guess you could skip - it gives you a ton of information and a load of stories.
The text is a little high end - so if you're not a very good reader like myself some of it will be a little difficult to understand, but the stories in the book its self make sense.
Amazing book for anyone that doesn't know anything about greek mythology
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2014
I bought for my 11 year old daughter , it is very imformative and it is very interesting in her opinion.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2012
I should have read the description more before I bought this one. I thought the myths would have been written in a much more gripping way. or me the text is rather dull.
However if someone is studying this and/or wants to find out the key facts this is the perfect book. If you used this book a studying resource you will find it very reader friendly as all the key facts are included and the layout is rather good. Can't go wrong learning your mythology from this book.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse