Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative.
I was very pleased with this book despite reading other reviews before buying it. Yes it's full of typos but you can make out what the word should be as you read the book so only a minor proofreading error. I was very glad to read information about the characters and lives of all 6 children, not just the Duke of Windsor and King George VI. You also get an insight into...
Published on 8 Sept. 2012 by Ms. H. M. Smith

versus
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting but limited account
On the whole I enjoyed reading this book. The author was sucessful in maintaining my interest throughout and by and large the text was readable.
However I agree with fellow reviewers that the focus of the book is primarily directed at Edward VIII and George VI, particularly in the later chapters. I read the book, as I was interested mainly in exploring the lives and...
Published on 26 May 2008 by Andrew D. Scobie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An interesting but limited account, 26 May 2008
By 
Andrew D. Scobie "ascomrie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George V's Children (Paperback)
On the whole I enjoyed reading this book. The author was sucessful in maintaining my interest throughout and by and large the text was readable.
However I agree with fellow reviewers that the focus of the book is primarily directed at Edward VIII and George VI, particularly in the later chapters. I read the book, as I was interested mainly in exploring the lives and characters of the younger children, sadly they are often treated as an afterthought and not afforded the attention they deserve in a text concerning the lives of all George Vs children which was disappointing.
The ending of the book is very abrupt and the author fails to provide a summary of the issues discussed. Although such a thing may be deemed unnecessary in a book that sets out to tell the story of the lives of George Vs children, it would aid the reader in linking together the knowledge they have acquired from reading the book.
In common with fellow reviewers the slapdash proof reading caught my eye too. As well as spelling errors, incorrect names and dates are present in the text. Any future editions should be thoroughly proof read.
Overall an interesting but limited account of the lives of George Vs children.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Informative., 8 Sept. 2012
By 
Ms. H. M. Smith (kingston, surrey uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George V's Children (Paperback)
I was very pleased with this book despite reading other reviews before buying it. Yes it's full of typos but you can make out what the word should be as you read the book so only a minor proofreading error. I was very glad to read information about the characters and lives of all 6 children, not just the Duke of Windsor and King George VI. You also get an insight into George V and Queen Marys' background especially with the influence of Queen Victoria when she was still alive.

I would highly recommend this book especially as there aren't many books written about the royal family between Queens Victoria and Elizabeth II.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poorly written and poorly edited, 6 Dec. 2006
By 
Hisame (The town with no name) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George V's Children (Paperback)
Not only is this book somewhat rushed and you are given the feeling almost as if the author ran out of enthusiam but it seems that whoever he got to proof read it also ran out of enthusiam - what could have been a very interesting book is turned into a GCSE History paper full of spelling mistakes and grammatical errors. I am disapointed with Van Der Kist as I expect more from his work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars typically more about the two elder brothers, 28 July 2011
By 
Elaine Hughes (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George V's Children (Paperback)
I have read books from this author before and each i do i vow not to buy any more but i always do as he writes about subjcts i am interested in.
I have two main gripes about this book.
Firstly the author is always very biased towards the royal family and in my opinion writes everything through rose coloured glasses.
They cannot do any wrong in his eyes. He writes how Queen Mary is often accused of neglecting and hiding away their son John who was epileptic, he goes on to say how this is not true as she did visit him from time to time when their duties allowed.
If this is not negecting a young child i don't know what is. Call a spade a spade.
Secondly the book mainly focuses on the two elder brothers, the abdication and the life of Edward with Wallis Simpson whilst just giving lip service to the other siblings.
I think the book would have ben more accurate if it had been titled The life of Edward and Wallis Simpson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Easy reading but with lots of mistakes, 21 Feb. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (Houghton le Spring) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George V's Children (Kindle Edition)
I enjoyed reading this book because it was very informative and entertaining. I would recommend it to all who want to know more about the British monarchy. However, there are many glaring spelling mistakes in this Kindle edition and I call upon the author to revise this book to correct these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars A very biased view., 10 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George V's Children (Paperback)
I feel the book was written in the way the Royal Family wished. Do we all think that Edward VIII was determined to abdicate? Perhaps the Duchess of York had already decided that if she couldn't marry the Prince of Wales, the Duke of York should strangely become king. The weird circumstances surrounding the death of Prince George, Duke of Kent is not examined although it remains one of the most suspicious removals of yet another troubled son of George V and Queen Mary. The Duke of Gloucester is almost written out as is Princess Mary and the tragedy of Prince John hardly explained.

The author cannot say a good word about Wallis Simpson even as Duchess of Windsor, no woman can be as black as Van der Kiste paints her,some comments are surely from his own imagination.

A very skewed version of all members of the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spell check!, 31 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: George V's Children (Paperback)
A fascinating read, although it focuses unsurprisingly on Edward VIII and George VI. I thought there'd be more equal sections on each of the children - John barely gets a page.

And whoever did the spell checking needs a slap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting material, confusing grammar, 26 Jun. 2015
This review is from: George V's Children (Paperback)
It is the original hardback edition which I have, and it is not beset by typos as reported in later editions. I have just enjoyed re-reading it, but have to say the grammar is often confusing - an editing issue, as reported by other reviewers. Far too much use is made of pronouns and titles, so it is often unclear exactly which person is being referred to. Were I not already pretty familiar with much of the material contained in the book, I would probably have misunderstood several key aspects of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars thin & sketchy, 12 Aug. 2005
By 
This review is from: George V's Children (Paperback)
This is a rather thin multi-biography which reads as if it has been put together from newspaper cuttings and tells us very little that is new. It could have been so much more interesting: the 4 sons & one daughter of George V who lived to adulthood were very different characters. However, the author concentrates on the central protagonists in the abdication & its aftermath and says very little about the adult personalities of the younger brothers or their sister. There are also lots of misprints. An opportunity wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars george v's children, 15 July 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (Nottingham, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: George V's Children (Kindle Edition)
I think the number of typos seriously interferes with this book. How can an author be taken seriously if this is the standard? A few might be forgiven but I stopped counting. Then there's the grammar. Really poor editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

George V's Children
George V's Children by John Van der Kiste
£5.39
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews